We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papas Barn

Papas Barn
Ranked #10 of 307 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fish & Chip Takeaway & Restaurant.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice fish and chips, although pricey. Prices don't match with Website prices either. Shame about the rude takeaway staff. Too many orders taken at once in an attempt to be efficient, but really doesn't work. Leaves lots of people waiting for a long time for their order. Disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    136
    66
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Malling
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Fish and Chip Restaurant/ Chip shop in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have been to Papa's Barn on many occasions. The menu is wide, not just fish and chips, lots of fish to choice from. The meals are always hot, delicious and plentiful. The staff always welcoming and helpful. I have never found a fault. Not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All ok really, great fish, not so great chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Papas barn for a family lunch, 2 adults, 2 children this weekend.

The venue itself is clean, modern, impeccably clean and the staff were efficient and polite. The toilet areas were also very clean.

The fish itself was absolutely delicious, very moist and firm, clearly high quality cod cooked by someone who knows what they are doing. The chips however were pretty ropey at best as they were very dry, very hard and just not really up to scratch.

The portions were very small when you consider the price also, my plate of cod and chips (£13 as I recall) had a piece of cod and an amount of chips that my local chippy does for £3.00 on their "OAP Special", it really was a small plate for the money.

Value for money here is terrible, for the 4 of us, 2 adult meals (cod & chips, farmhouse grill) and 2 kids meals plus 4 lemonades the bill was £40 or so which for a lunch in a chippy is very steep indeed when you consider you can go to frankie & bennys or nandos, eat more and pay less.

I think the chips were probably a one-off as this place is long established and has a good reputation, as I say the only thing really that would keep me away is the pricing, I can afford it, but it doesnt mean I want to pay it for what is fish and chips on a plate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Best service food and fish restaurant in Kent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food, fresh fish from the market everyday, great service and great prices for the standard received. X

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajfoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on a whim and had a lovely meal. Service and food couldn't be faulted. Staff really interested in how we enjoyed our dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFSamuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas Barn also viewed

 

Been to Papas Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing