We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrat Indian Brasserie

Shamrat Indian Brasserie
Ranked #35 of 307 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited this Restaurant on Friday night. Not packed, but many people calling in for takeaways, The food was excellent, I had a brilliant meal and my friend had the best Chicken Tika Masala I have ever tasted.The staff and service were excellent. I can see why this has a tripadvisor recommendation. How this place is not number 1 in Maidstone I will never know. The best Indian meal I have had for many a year. Try it, make it must if you live in Maidstone, or are just passing through.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harlequinsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    46
    17
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Indian delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and service. Food very authentic, most enjoyable. This restaurant is a credit to Maidstone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“SUPERB !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Shamrat never fails to hit the spot, always good quality and excellent value just what you want after a long week
Always offered a drink whilst waiting, a great start to the weekend would recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently visited Shamrat with 3 friends. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. I am not the greatest fan of spicy Indian food, but I can say that this has to be one of the best that I have ever had. A friendly service and fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Your search stops here. Fact.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been eating curry from the Shamrat since about the age of 7. The family and I still regularly order from here, or pop down there in person for dinner. We are open minded and always try new indian restaurants when they open, but just haven't found one locally to rival the Shamrat.
The food is delicious, whatever you order, they will happily dial the spice up or down to suit your taste, the service is majoratively good. The only issue is sometimes the newer recruits are maybe a little...fresh off the boat...if you take my meaning, but never to the point where its a "real problem".
Put simply, if you're thinking of having a ruby in the Maidstone area, come here, or have them deliver. Good value, great grub. They rarely forget a face and once they know you you'll often pick up a free pint when you pick up a takeaway!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrat Indian Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Shamrat Indian Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing