We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and special place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 27 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

extraordinary to stay at a Tudor place. Great location, clean room and once the crowd leaves, you got the complete castle grounds to your own. What an experience. Service very kind. Room was realtively small, but all you need and the bathroom large. You stay at a historic place, this is the most important thing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uli_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 343 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

This b and b comes with free entry to the castle. The room was spacious very clean and comfortable. The castle closes at about 5, and for the rest of the night you have free roam of the grounds.

When we were there we only had 1 other couple staying so we did not see anyone all night.

There was no restaurant open at night so we had option of going off site but as the weather was nice we got a sandwich and sat in the gardens with the peacocks having a picnic. So romantic and quiet. Could not recommended this more.

Also breakfast was included which was so look nice.

I loved it so much that I booked before we left for my mum and dad to visit.

Room Tip: Get a picnic to have on the lawn after the castle closes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kievro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We came here to spend a couple of days for our first anniversary as my wife loves castles etc and what an experience, we arrived at the reception and one of the security staff escorted us to our accom Courtyard 14 and explained in detail to us where envy thing was.
We then went for a walk in what seemed to be our very own estate although others were staying we never really saw anyone at this point.
We decided to get a meal at the Park Gate Inn BIG MISTAKE as everything seemed to be sold out and service was very slow.
Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and as much as you wanted.
Then it was to the castle itself we went, to my wife's enjoyment and she loved it ( ok so did I ), when we arrived back at our room the flowers that I organised had arrived so I got yet another big smile, tonight we are going to the Windmill for a meal so will review on that later.
Only draw back is that they allow kids to roam around the estate so the tranquil moments get shattered lol
This place gets 100 out of 100 from us and we will be back

Room Tip: Any room as they all seem to have great views, we were in courtyard 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camper1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not exactly cheap but soo much worth it! During your stay you have access to the castle grounds. Ideal with children. You can access the maze before the masses of tourists arrive. Breakfast (English) in a magnificent hall with view on the castle. We stayed 2 nights / family of 5. Children (14-13-10) had one room and we had the other room in that building. Couldn't be better! It's true we did hear the flushing of the toilet and the running water from the room adjacent to ours (different entrance though) but fortunately our neigbours didn't get up too early ;-). Kids were delighted with the peacocks, ducks, geese, swans and chicks. And the playground stayed open after the castle had closed as well. Only disadvantage could be that you have to go out for dinner, but with the Ringlestone Inn not too far away we were happy to do so! Very friendly staff, especially the security staff deserves to be mentioned!
If they would now add Nutella next to the jams and honey at breakfast this place would be perfect ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskiaDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We only spent one night here but would have liked to have stayed longer if we could. The rooms are lovely and big, comfortable with a bath as well as separate shower in the bathroom. The radiators really belt out heat so we had them turned really low. And of course the surrounding grounds are wonderful. It was so good to open the curtains in the morning to a view of the grounds.

The breakfast was nice. The only negative was that it was a bit cold in the The Fairfax and so the coffee went cold quickly. I would advise asking them to heat the milk.

The only real drawback is that there is no restaurant in the evening. They do supply a list of eating places near by but it's not quite so convenient if you don't have a car, like us. Staff kindly looked after our luggage on the day we checked out so we could enjoy the estate unencumbered.

Checking out time is 10am, which we think is a bit early especially as the castle didn't open until 10.30. This was fine when we were there because it happened to be one of the warmest days we've had so far this year. If it had been raining it could have been a bit miserable.

We would definitely stay here again. It's a great B&B in a beautiful and tranquil place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SetaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Would definitely recommend this accommodation. It is a bit pricey but includes the visit to the lovely castle and grounds. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and the breakfast in the Fairfax Restaurant included everything you could want, well cooked English breakfast, pastries, fruit etc. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The views from our room and restaurant were spectacular. One of the nicest places we have stayed and worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had room No 10 which had two windows with lovely views. The Culpepper garden was right outside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a stunning place to stay. You can visit the castle's grounds upon you stay and take some lovely photographs. We had a relaxing time here even in the Winter seasons. I love the English Heritage sites and the history that goes with these sites.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronG826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
979 reviews
19.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
4.5 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast

Address: Leeds Castle | Broomfield Road, Maidstone, England (Formerly Leeds Castle Kent Courtyard Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range: $131 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the grounds of the spectacular Leeds Castle in Kent, Guests receive a free entry to the Castle and Grounds as part of their stay, and have access around the estate in the evening. Guests at the Stable Courtyard have 900 years of history and 500 acres of beautiful parkland on their doorstep. Bright, traditional bedrooms each have Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, and a full private bathroom.Tea making facilites are also offered . All rooms have views of either the lake, the gardens or parkland estate.Some rooms overlook the Stable Courtyard area. Guests can enjoy a full English breakfast in the oak-beamed 17th Century Fairfax Hall Restaurant, which serves a menu using fresh local produce. Picturesque gardens with peacocks wandering through the grounds, rare bird displays and relaxing country walks are all available to Stable Courtyard’s guests. The M20 motorway is just a 5-minute drive away, while central London can be reached after a further hour by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Castle Stable Courtyard Bed & Breakfast Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing