We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown City

Crown City
Ranked #65 of 307 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

have been going to this restaurant for 20 years all through various owners never been disappointed always clean service is excellent and going next Saturday for my birthday definitely recommended
even tried a takeaway and just as good

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    13
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited last week and had food beautifully served. The variety was excellent although with so much to select from it was difficult to choose. The food was very tasty and hot. Well worth a visit and we will certainly use it again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had several take aways from here and they have always been top class.

We ate in on a Friday night. The place was busy and the food was good. Good atomosphere, Food as quick and to a very high standard.
Only dislike was the service charge added to the bill.
We feel if the service is good then you tip accordingly, not feel as though it is thrust upon you.

Still, Very good, will be returning and recommending.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ONE TO REMEMBER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and myself are not great lovers of Chinese food but this was a special treat for our Grandson's 18th Birthday and as pensioners in our 70's we had saved all our loose change over the year to take the family out for lunch. We booked the advertised Sunday Buffet at '' only £15.90 per person'' for 6 of us.
The restaurant was clean and tables were laid nicely with comfortable chairs - the young female waitress was pleasant and helpful in assisting our choice of food from a comprehensive list - but no plain noodles!!! The male staff were very surly and we did not get a please or thank you even when paying the bill!!! When presented with the bill we were surprised at the ''extras'' - another £38 - this was for 2 deserts, 3 orange juices and 3 cokes, one bottle beer and a coffee which taking the deserts at £4 each makes the drinks bill around £4 each - expensive!!!
Overall not impressed and at these prices unless we win the lottery we do not plan a return visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nobby69010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Returned to this restaurant after a long absence and were really pleasantly surprised.

We had an excellent set three course meal which was hot and very tasty. The restaurant was pleasantly busy for a Tuesday night and the staff were attentive and friendly.
To cap a lovely evening we got an early bird discount.
Look forward to returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown City also viewed

 
Maidstone, Kent
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Crown City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing