We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out”
Review of Leeds Castle

Leeds Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.66*
and up
Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided...
More Info
$120.28*
and up
Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Greenwich with Thames River...
More Info
$181.73*
and up
Canterbury, Leeds Castle and White Cliffs of Dover Small-Group Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Considered one of the most romantic castles in England, this historic site was originally the stately home of the Saxon royal family during the reign of Ethelbert IV in 856-860.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are "Key Holders" so visit regularly. The gardens are beautiful at any time of the year and this is always a great place to take visitors to Kent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 30Annemarie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,134
    992
    236
    90
    114
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Year's Day OUt”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a lovely trip to Leeds Castle with our 7 year old. We decided to go into the Castle itself for the first time as we advertised as decorated for Christmas, and it was lovely. Made our way to the Kings Realm play area where we spent over an hour watching our little one playing. It was very cold standing around but there is a Costa Coffee place very close by thank goodness. All in all a good trip, but the queues for drinks, coffee and to pay to enter were very long - maybe a few more staff next year?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol And Marti... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Past - Leeds Castle - Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We attended the Christmas Past fair 16 December, along with some friends and i must advise how disappointed we were in terms of the lack of craft stalls, entertainment and atmosphere.

The advertisement for the evening stated:

“Prepare to be amazed

Fabulous gifts, shops and stalls, Glorious food.”

I can honestly say we experienced none of the above. We were very excited when we arrived and walked through the pathways, which were very pretty. But this only made us think something really amazing was at the other end! There were 2-3 Stalls and the standard gift shops. The food, again was standard canteen like and a Nero coffee shop! Hardly Victorian past!

We imagined lots of lovely craft stalls and perhaps a hog roast and traditional chestnuts, hot cider and perhaps a non alcoholic version (Chestnuts cooked over the gas and on a Paella dish were not available when we arrived).

The only thing we managed to find was the mulled wine (which i am sorry to say was also disappointing).

We were allowed in the castle (which i can only assume was a last minute attempt to salvage a bad situation), however seeing as we have already seen Leeds castle, this did not justify our £20 spent per ticket.

I am not sure if Leeds castle will bother to arrange this event next year, however, if they do I strongly suggest they give people a lot more for their money!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having passed Leeds Castle on numerous occasions while working, I thought it would be good to actually visit. While my wife loves historic places and art work, it is not my favourite hobby but I was blown away by Leeds Castle. Besides the various events and attractions within the location, the castle itself was wonderfully looked after and full of interest. The staff were brilliant and answered a number of questions I had. The tickets are bit expensive if you are visiting from a distance, but they are for a whole year. Well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GymmanMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good day out”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

the tickets you by last for a year so thats great value for money,pleanty of staff around to help and advise,although a long walk through the beautifull grounds there is a safri bus stoping of at different points.the castle is very big full of lots to see and do.pleanty of places to it or eat not to bag on the pockets.toilets dotted around the place,the maze,museum and vinyards worth a vistit.Always different attraction going on,outstanding venue to get married.
Wear flat shoes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Forth-Broadstai... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds Castle also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Leeds Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing