We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place to sleep. Don't expect more.”
Review of Days Inn Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maidstone
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple place to sleep. Don't expect more.”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Simple rooms, that aren't too clean. Beds are too soft for my back.
It's a handy place for your channel crossing, but nothing more.
Breakfast is not included and served in the roadside reastaurant.
It is cheap though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    41
    14
    13
See reviews for
42
43
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is just a place to sleep on the way to or from the ferries or the Channel Tunnel. We were on the way back and decided that carrying on our homeward bound journey of another 4 to 6 hours driving at 2am was just idiotic, so we hunted a bed for the night.

You get what you pay for, we got a family room, which was a large double/king size bed with an arched alcove area offset from the room with two single beds in it, giving some privacy for the adults. Good enough for a nights rest and no damage to the car the next morning, which we were worried about.

What really tickled us pink (and made us angry) was the ludicrous amount of Health and Safety warnings throughout the rooms. Silly things like not being able to open the windows more than 3 inches because of safety chains (when I think of my childhood, by todays standards I took my life into my own hands every single day and most days more than once, does anyone remember climbing tree's? You don't see kids doing it very often anymore). Being unable to have the door of the bathroom open because the steam would set off the smoke alarm (I thought smoke alarms detected smoke not water?) but no extractor to get rid of the steam and the piece de resistance, was the warning sticker over the towel rail, "Warning towel rail will become hot".
I find all these warnings to be very insulting and wish that businesses would assume that I had more intelligence than a slime mold. You don't get this level of warnings and safety abroad yet they don't have higher accident levels, so why do British businesses have to do it.
If you want a cheap place to stay for a wedding etc and like a decent breakfast in resonable peace and quiet (hangover possibilities), I suggest finding somewhere a bit dearer, closer to the venue, as the noisey bustling atmosphere of the service area is not conducive to peace and quiet. But if you just need a bed before continuing a journey to or from the Channel ports, go for it, the beds are good enough for that and the rooms are a decent size.

Room Tip: Book in plenty of time, if you want a decent breakfast though, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scattycatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Booked on-line - easy transaction. Great price £60.00 room only. This is on the motorway service area - be sure to let the motel know your car is in the car park and they take your vehicle registration. If you don't you may get clamped/fined for not paying for the parking!

Rooms are OK - free Wifi again (but the registration process is a bit lengthy).

Food etc provided next door in the services; breakfast, don't buy the tokens - we bought a cooked breakfast for 2 for £11.00 in the cafeteria (no hot drink - use the kettle in the room before you go for breakfast).. The motel offer a £10 voucher for £7.50 per person - you get more food (1 piece of toast is £1).
Staff are very friendly and efficient - we left stuff in the room and were able to collect it on the way back - really helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConvertedPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was the 2nd time I had stayed and on both occasions I was impressed. Whilst the Inn was strictly utilitarian, that was what a traveler wants. There was ready access to food but no alcoholic drinks were available at either the hotel or nearby dining facilities. Mini bars in each room could fix that.
I shall stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonialCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable night with us here at Premier Inn. We endeavour to provide all our guests with a good value quality stay. Thank you for you comments regarding the mini bar, we are a service area location and because of this alcohol is not available, however your feedback has been noted with our team at head office. Once again thank you for you review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Having been turned away from Hull by P&O ferries, we had to drive to dover that evening, so decided to stop overnight and catch a ferry from Dover early next day.

We phoned the reservation line on the way from Hull, got a room and arrived about 11pm.

The room was a family room, was clean and warm - the bathroom clean and mould free and the bed was comfortable. The room was large enough for 4 people.

The carpark was a bit noisy, but it is a 24 hour service station, so i guess this was expected.



We left at 5am next day, so couldnt comment further, but for us, yes, we would use it again as a stopover if needed.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davesmithsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

I stayed here in July, and although the room wasn't particularly clean, and it was a noisy service station (with lorries trundling by all hours of the night) it was better than crashing my car through tiredness. My problem is that it is almost always fully booked - it takes the prime position on a motorway service station, and in my view it has a responsibilty to tired drivers - a number of rooms should be reserved for motorists. That is THE POINT of service stations. I journey up and down the UK regularly on the M20, and of all the times I've felt drowsy at the wheel and tried to get a room here, I've only been lucky ONCE, and I got the last room available this July evening too. There was a queue of tired motorists behind me, and they were advised hotels back in dover as the nearest possible stopover. If this hotel wants to attract tourists or business travellers, it should not be placed here - they should leave the plot open to a hotel for motorists. Instead of which, this place is packed with people staying in Maidstone for a few days. PLEASE PLEASE don't stay here, unless it's to cut your journey up on your way to somewhere. When I asked the lady at the reception why it was always full, she explained that they often hold business seminars there, after which people stay the night, and the rest of the customers are booked in for a few days at a time whilst visiting maidstone. It's not a great hotel anyway. Are hotels that bad in Maidstone that people have to stay in a noisy, crowded travel lodge on the motorway?!! I have had a few scary nights driving because the nearest hotel is at least 30 minutes drive away (and as for breakdowns, you really would be in the crap!). Please take pity on us motorists and restore this hotel to its original function - making the country's roads a safer place.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

stayed overnight in july 2007.
The room was very large, clean and had all the usual amenities.
Staff were very helpful, even although she had about 5 customers waiting for various reasons about 1030pm.
The duvets are massive, probably a bit too big for a summer night but when i asked for sheets instead, no problem.
excellent overnight stop. keep up the high standard.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
3.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,525 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
348 reviews
5.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
0.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maidstone

Property: Days Inn Maidstone
Address: Svc Area Junction 8 M20 Motorway | M20 Junction 8, Maidstone ME17 1SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Days Inn Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing