We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Channel crossing stop-over”
Review of Days Inn Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Maidstone
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Booked on-line - easy transaction. Great price £60.00 room only. This is on the motorway service area - be sure to let the motel know your car is in the car park and they take your vehicle registration. If you don't you may get clamped/fined for not paying for the parking!

Rooms are OK - free Wifi again (but the registration process is a bit lengthy).

Food etc provided next door in the services; breakfast, don't buy the tokens - we bought a cooked breakfast for 2 for £11.00 in the cafeteria (no hot drink - use the kettle in the room before you go for breakfast).. The motel offer a £10 voucher for £7.50 per person - you get more food (1 piece of toast is £1).
Staff are very friendly and efficient - we left stuff in the room and were able to collect it on the way back - really helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConvertedPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 189 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was the 2nd time I had stayed and on both occasions I was impressed. Whilst the Inn was strictly utilitarian, that was what a traveler wants. There was ready access to food but no alcoholic drinks were available at either the hotel or nearby dining facilities. Mini bars in each room could fix that.
I shall stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColonialCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Days Inn Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable night with us here at Premier Inn. We endeavour to provide all our guests with a good value quality stay. Thank you for you comments regarding the mini bar, we are a service area location and because of this alcohol is not available, however your feedback has been noted with our team at head office. Once again thank you for you review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Having been turned away from Hull by P&O ferries, we had to drive to dover that evening, so decided to stop overnight and catch a ferry from Dover early next day.

We phoned the reservation line on the way from Hull, got a room and arrived about 11pm.

The room was a family room, was clean and warm - the bathroom clean and mould free and the bed was comfortable. The room was large enough for 4 people.

The carpark was a bit noisy, but it is a 24 hour service station, so i guess this was expected.



We left at 5am next day, so couldnt comment further, but for us, yes, we would use it again as a stopover if needed.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank davesmithsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

I stayed here in July, and although the room wasn't particularly clean, and it was a noisy service station (with lorries trundling by all hours of the night) it was better than crashing my car through tiredness. My problem is that it is almost always fully booked - it takes the prime position on a motorway service station, and in my view it has a responsibilty to tired drivers - a number of rooms should be reserved for motorists. That is THE POINT of service stations. I journey up and down the UK regularly on the M20, and of all the times I've felt drowsy at the wheel and tried to get a room here, I've only been lucky ONCE, and I got the last room available this July evening too. There was a queue of tired motorists behind me, and they were advised hotels back in dover as the nearest possible stopover. If this hotel wants to attract tourists or business travellers, it should not be placed here - they should leave the plot open to a hotel for motorists. Instead of which, this place is packed with people staying in Maidstone for a few days. PLEASE PLEASE don't stay here, unless it's to cut your journey up on your way to somewhere. When I asked the lady at the reception why it was always full, she explained that they often hold business seminars there, after which people stay the night, and the rest of the customers are booked in for a few days at a time whilst visiting maidstone. It's not a great hotel anyway. Are hotels that bad in Maidstone that people have to stay in a noisy, crowded travel lodge on the motorway?!! I have had a few scary nights driving because the nearest hotel is at least 30 minutes drive away (and as for breakdowns, you really would be in the crap!). Please take pity on us motorists and restore this hotel to its original function - making the country's roads a safer place.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank QueenRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

stayed overnight in july 2007.
The room was very large, clean and had all the usual amenities.
Staff were very helpful, even although she had about 5 customers waiting for various reasons about 1030pm.
The duvets are massive, probably a bit too big for a summer night but when i asked for sheets instead, no problem.
excellent overnight stop. keep up the high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We visited this hotel to stay over for two nights whilst attending a local wedding. I had lived locally so knew of its location (just beside junction eight of the M20 between the Kent coast and London, and the high-speed rail link). The car-park was busy but well kept (no burnt out cars). The hotel looks like any other Premier Inn, a two story squat brown-brick building nestled amongst shrubbery.

Reception were particularly friendly and we were given our key swiftly. However, the room we were allocated (27) had a strong smell of smoke despite being non-smoking. I requested that we were moved and we were, next door (29), which was free of smoke odours but not completely odour free.

This slight smell might have something to do with guests' reluctance to open the window (due to the proximity with the motorway) but during the day this is fine and just sounds like a dull hum. At night, closing the window blocks most noise from the surrounding service complex. The room itself was clean and quite spacious. The bed was large but the mattress had seen better days and was very soft - i even checked if it was a water-bed - it wasn't. The first night we were treated to the couple next door (in number 27) enjoying themselves and the thin walls meant we could hear plenty and our bed moved rhythmically. Not pleasant and indicative of the budget standards of the hotel's construction.

The bathroom was entirely functional and clean throughout. The only problems here were a lack of lock on the door and no extractor fan. Given that guests are requested to keep the door closed (to avoid steam setting off the fire alarm) this meant the mirror was unusable.

On the second night we arrived back after midnight and had to wait some time (five minutes) after repeateded presses on the night-bell for the arrival of the porter who finally gave us our key.

In the morning we bought our breakfast vouchers (£8 for full English, £6 for continental) which we reedeemed at the RoadChef adjacent to the hotel. The food quality and choice was appalling. The hotel need to ensure that guests get what they pay for. I would suggest guests here do not purchase the vouchers and seek breakfast elsewhere - get in your car and drive to Maidstone or up the road to the Ramada.

To be fair it cost fifty pounds per night so I wasn't expecting great things and, if all you're after is sleep, it is fine. Hopefully this review gives you some indication of what to expect for your money. In all honesty I would stay here again at this price.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

This Travel Inn is located at a motorway service area so virtually inaccessible unless you have your own vehicle or like expensive taxi journeys. It is also a ludicrous distance from the town centre.

On arriving here, I was greeted by the sight of several burnt-out cars in the car park (shared with the motorway services), and another one propped up on bricks with the wheels removed . Not a good first impression at all!

The building itself reminded me of my old secondary school (again , not a point in its favour!). The rooms were basic but clean, and surprisingly quiet considering the location .

Spent most of the night wondering whether my car was safe or if had been turned into a burnt shell, which spoilt the whole experience.

I'm sure there are better places to stay in the area than this.

  • Stayed: September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
505 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,677 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maidstone

Address: Svc Area Junction 8 M20 Motorway | M20 Junction 8, Maidstone ME17 1SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range: $67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing