We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnighter”
Review of Hilton Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Maidstone
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overnighter”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a Friday night whilst attending a "do" at Dettling show ground, the hotel is nice and clean, the receptionists were friendly and efficient, however we had asked for a twin room and were given a double. On requesting a twin room, we were told it would be another £16? I was sure the hotel was NOT full to capacity and they knew we wanted twin beds, I felt this was TOO much. A drink at the bar proved that expense was the reason the bar was almost empty on a Friday evening, two glasses of wine, £15.55???? Should have realised that the bottle of water that had been placed in the room was £3.75? How could we expect to the water to be complimentary? Will NOT be staying there again and shall inform all friends and colleagues that this is NOT the place to stay for an overnighter!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Julie,
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and found our team to be friendly. Regarding the room type allocation, this is always subjected to availability and stated on the booking confirmation. The reason for the extra charge was that the twin room available at the time was of a different category from the one you originally booked. Our bar charges are in keeping with our local market, nevertheless we always have great promotions going on as well. The bottle of water placed in our bedrooms, are clearly labelled with its price, I am sorry this has not been noticed.
I am sorry that you currently are not planning to return to our hotel, I do hope you change your mind and give us the pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    521
    362
    155
    95
See reviews for
453
445
55
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed here twice now (both times for work "smoozing") and I doubt I'd make the hat-trick!

Plus points - easy to find, free parking and the staff all seemed well presented and fairly helpful. Bar area seemed pleasant.

Not so good - had a room in the 200's twice now...not Hilton standard and dated decor. TV only gave static, clock radio was an hour out and no way of changing, with no clear reception. Bathroom had seen better days (loo flush that sounded like it was going to explode at any moment!). Bed was ok but, the odd number rooms face onto one of the main roads in/out of Maidstone, hence noise most the day and night. The table, desk, headboard etc were all a bit naff to be honest.

Breakfast: If you like super sweet orange juice, super salty, well done bacon and scramble egg just warm but, runny enough to soak into your toast, then you've come to the right place! Add the fact that I was seated right outside of a office with a very loud manager trying to sort an delivery order out....nice and professional!?! All the galley seats had their backs taken off so these areas couldn't be used. Seems strange to put these out of action BEFORE breakfast (and did nothing for the looks of the place either!).

All in all, if you really had to be in Maidstone and for business, than if you couldn't find anything then at least get a room out of the 200's!

Room Tip: Stay clear of the rooms within the 200s - esp. those odd numbered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MupperMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MupperMaster,

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback, I am disappointed to read that you came across issues during your stay. Your comments about TV and radio reception have been brought to the attention of the maintenance team and are now rectified.

I am sorry that our decoration did not meet your expectations, we are currently investing a further in front and back of house upgrades, as we have done already in the past 12 months, namely: installed new digital speaker phones, electronic safes and new shower rails and curtains in all of our bedrooms; we also doubled the bandwidth of our WiFi service, installed 90 new beds and mattresses; upgraded our 50 deluxe rooms with new ergonomic chairs, fitted new carpets in 40 rooms and replaced the sofas in another 20.

That goes without mentioning that, also in the past 12 months; we invested well in excess of £60K in kitchen and plant rooms’ equipment, which although out of view are essential to deliver good service to our customers.

The settees missing in the restaurant were part of this upgrade process as well, the work is now completed, and apologies that it looked unsightly. Nevertheless you comments have been heard; in future we will look into ways of minimising visual impact of such works.

Also apologies for your experience at breakfast, I have spoken to the manager about the loud business dealings over the phone as well as your feedback about the food temperature, I have asked the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Managers for measures to be put in place to prevent it from happening again.

I am glad for the “plus points” during your stay; I hope that will bring you back to the Hilton Maidstone next time you are in the area, I am confident from the majority of our guests’ feedback that we are be able to provide our guests with great hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Maidstone.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business, check in quick and friendly. Only free wifi in reception and bar area, £15 charge for 24 hours if you want to use in the room, what a rip off. Room functional and comfortable but ever so dated. Ongoing maintenance is clearly not a priority for the hotel group. 750ml bottle of water in the room is £3.95 no further comment needed! Breakfast the food is allowed to sit for too long and is only luke warm at best, breakfast staff not very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay fully. Free Internet is available to all only in the public areas but for Gold and Diamond Hilton Honours members is free everywhere. I am sorry that our decoration did not meet your expectations, we are currently investing a further £100K in front and back of house upgrades in the coming months. We have this year already replaced all chairs and settees in the restaurant, as well as 20 new sofas in bedrooms where they were tired; we also just replaced 12 armchairs and 3 sofas in the bar area.

Further to that we have in the past 12 months: installed new digital speaker phones, electronic safes and new shower rails and curtains in all of our bedrooms; we also doubled the bandwidth of our WiFi service, installed 90 new beds and mattresses; upgraded our 50 deluxe rooms with new ergonomic chairs and fitted new carpets in 40 rooms. Further to that we repainted all public areas; replaced the restaurant’s carpet, all tables and spent £6K in new serving equipment; we also built a gazebo in the courtyard; restored the pool area flooring as well as repaint the health club. That goes without mentioning that, also in the past 12 months; we invested well in excess of £60K in kitchen and plant rooms’ equipment, which although out of view are essential to deliver good service to our customers.

Also apologies for your experience at breakfast, your feedback has been brought to the attention of the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager for measures to be put in place to prevent it from happening again.

I am glad that you found our bedrooms comfortable; I hope that will bring you back to the Hilton Maidstone next time you are in the area, I am confident from the majority of our guests’ feedback that we are be able to provide our guests with great hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Maidstone.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and the toiletries supplied were good quality. Didn't get time to use the pool but I hear it was nice. The food on the breakfast buffet was very good but table clearing was very slow - probably not enough staff on duty for the number of guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Kathy,
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive feedback, please rest assured it has been discussed with the breakfast team responsible for organising the service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Returned to this hotel after writing a review a year ago to find little change. This hotel is clearly a prime location with high occupancy and is well managed. Staff were attentive and helpful and our visit was only spoilt by the behaviour of other guests in the room next to us who kept me awake until 2AM with loud senseless conversation.
However their behaviour was compounded by the poor standard of the build quality of this dated hotel that fails to meet Hilton standards. Wide open hallways with no partitioning allow noise to carry and old doors don't help. Walls are paper thin and our room had an adjoining door to the neighbouring room. The gap below the room door allows sound and light from the hallway to invade the room.
A poorly fitting bathroom tap and smoke blown into the bathroom by the ventilation system added to my disappointment.
Just to say that having a set of only 4 pictures and repeating them all over the hotel says 'cheap' not 'Hilton', specially when the same pictures appear next to each other!

Room Tip: Upstairs at rear would probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovalmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ovalmind,

Thank you for your review, return to our hotel and constructive feedback. I am glad that you found our team and service good but I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by other guests, as well as that you encountered shortfalls in maintenance and our facilities did not meet fully your expectations.

Our team deals with situations such as guests disturbing others as soon as this is noticed or brought to their attention, since you mention disturbance until 2am, I am assuming that you did not report it, I am sure the team would have been able to help. Regarding maintenance I can only apologise and assure you that your comments have been discussed with the maintenance team.

Since we are constantly investing and updating our decoration and facilities, I am also disappointed and sorry that some aspects of it did not meet your expectations, for that matter I am glad to infom that we are in the process of having more than £100K in front and back of house works done in the coming months. We have this year already replaced all chairs and settees in the restaurant, as well as 20 new sofas in bedrooms where they were tired; we also just replaced 12 armchairs and 3 sofas in the bar area.

Further to that we have in the past 12 months: installed new digital speaker phones, electronic safes and new shower rails and curtains in all of our bedrooms; we also doubled the bandwidth of our WiFi service, installed 90 new beds and mattresses; upgraded our 50 deluxe rooms with new ergonomic chairs and fitted new carpets in 40 rooms. Further to that we repainted all public areas; replaced the restaurant’s carpet, all tables and spent £6K in new serving equipment; we also built a gazebo in the courtyard; restored the pool area flooring as well as repaint the health club. That goes without mentioning that, also in the past 12 months; we invested well in excess of £60K in kitchen and plant rooms’ equipment, which although out of view are essential to deliver good service to our customers.

Once again thank for the praises to the team and management, I do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone and to hear your updated opinion about the Hilton Maidstone.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were traveling to France the next day. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with a sofa and table. However the bed was extremely hard and I did not sleep well at all. There were plug sockets by each bedside table which is always a plus in a hotel. The breakfast was very nice indeed, a good selection of hot and cold. The reception area is lovely, plush. The receptions staff were accommodating. We did however order a cot and this was not in the room. We did not complain as we bought our babies Moses basket anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Toni,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not like the firmness of the mattress of the room you stayed, this is the standard most Hiltons use and they are generally popular, just as a suggestion for future reference, perhaps move rooms could have sorted the issue. Please accept my apologies for the oversight on your request for a cot, please be assured that it has been brought up to the attention of the reception and housekeeping managers for action to be put in place to prevent it from happening in future.
Since it seems from your compliments to the team and most of the other aspect of your stay, we do hope that you will come back to the Hilton Maidstone next time you are in the area. We look forward to welcoming you and your family.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Friendly & helpful staff. Clean, comfortable, tidy rooms. Splendid way to relax, pool, spa, pool, bar, restaurant, bar & bed! No pressure to leave, able to depart at leisure. Ample to choose from the restaurant during dinner. Snacks at the bar are expensive , but more like a meal in itself. Do not snack just before going into dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Tim,
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
1.2 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Maidstone

Property: Hilton Maidstone
Address: Bearsted Road | Weavering, Maidstone ME14 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Maidstone 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Maidstone hotel is within easy reach of the town centre and the M20 motorway. The hotel has a health club with indoor pool, treatment room and a sauna. Enjoy Seasons Restaurant and The Court Bar, or do business in the 8 meeting rooms. Nearby Kent attractions include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Historic Rochester, Leeds Castle and Kent Life.We have also been awarded Silver for Green Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Hilton International Maidstone
Maidstone Hilton International
Hilton Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing