We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”
Review of Hilton Maidstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Maidstone
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dover, kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

All very good. Great staff, very friendly, efficient and smiley . Pool and sauna good. Rooms very clean although TV could have had a few more channels. Close to Maidstone centre. Taxi costs approx £8 one way. Afternoon tea was good. Free car parking. Nice modern bathroom. Breakfast was very good with a huge selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Steve,
Thank you for taking the time to praise the Hilton Maidstone, this is the experience we strive to provide to all of our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    543
    369
    158
    98
See reviews for
477
467
56
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our way up from Europe to Northern England, we stayed here one night. Wonderful welcome by the receptionist who showed a good sense of humour (can't remember the last time I had such a good hotel welcome) and checked us in efficiently. Rooms well appointed for the price other than there was - surprisingly - no hair-dryer; I can only hope this was an oversight.

Bar OK if not particularly welcoming - and conventional selection of industrial beers, rather than anything rather more local.

Breakfast choice very good - pity we were under a cool aircon unit, but that didn't spoil the food. The lady on the welcome desk there was equally charming - if they are indicative of the overall staff attitude, the hotel must be a pleasant place to work.

Good value for the money and much cheaper than the neighbouring Marriott although the beds don't match the famous Marriott standard.

Overall, we will be happy to return on future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your review and recommendation, I am glad to read you enjoy stay with us, I am sure the team will like your review too when I share it with them.
Please note that all of our rooms have hair driers in the bottom drawer of the vanity unit, I am sorry you did not find it.
Finally I am delighted you will be back, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Hilton Maidstone 3 times now and will be returning this Friday November 9th for a 4th time. I usually take advantage of the Hilton's January sale and book a couple of nights in the year. I stay with my Wife and now 6 month old daughter.
The staff are always helpful and friendly, the rooms and always nice, clean and spacious. The pool is a nice size and well kept. The buffet breakfast has always been excellent and good quality. The free car park is a bonus too. There is generally always a nice atmosphere in and around the lobby, bar and restaurant area. I find it's nicer at the weekends as there are other families around rather than the lone business people you usually see in the week. This will be my second stay with my baby daughter, I have requested a ground floor room as on my previous stay they put us on the first floor so it was very difficult carrying luggage, a buggy and a car seat up 2 flights of stairs (there are no lifts at all) .
My 2 negative points are, firstly the cost of the wifi is £15 a night, that's too expensive. However, I have just read the Manager Leonardo's comments in a previous review that wifi is free to Hilton Honours members which I wasn't aware of, so I will be putting this to the test when I stay on Friday.
My only other negative point is the bar prices. As a couple/family, we usually like to sit in the bar for an hour or so before we go out to dinner but at their current prices we just can't do this anymore. In my previous visits the Hilton have had promotions on certain drinks such as Guinness was £2 a pint on St Patrick's Day and Champagne has been £3 a glass too!. I would really encourage the Hilton to have these promotions more often as it will certainly bring more people to the bar, for longer. A promotion this Friday will be ideal timing!.
I hope this review helps, I will review my upcoming stay next week.

Room Tip: If you have small children, I would recommend requesting a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Kevin,
Thank you for taking the time to compliment and praise the Hilton Maidstone in this website. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and indeed that you will be back, I am sure the team will love to hear about that too.
Also thank you for reading my responses. Regarding free WiFi for Hilton Honours members TripAdvisor’s rules do not allow me to elaborate on that but please note that T&C apply.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for visiting family in Kent. Very convenient for Kent attractions but also travelling to london. Comfortable, large room, good breakfasts,nice swimming pool and gym. Plenty of free parking and despite proximity to M20 and A20 our room was quiet and we got 3 good nights sleep.

Room Tip: If a family choose deluxe double double to get large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedssally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Leedssally,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Hilton Maidstone, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Maidstone.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

3 nights here on business so the home comforts are really important. Room was spot on....spacious, plenty of lighting options, place to relax other than just the bed and a nice big bathroom. Cleaners do a great job and the staff overall are friendly and helpful. Massive free car park and the breakfast is plentiful.

Nearly top scores Hilton but you have lost that with the age old complaint of your pricing and a real let down with room service. Isn't it about time you offered wifi in the rooms for a more 21st century price? £15 per day....therefore £45 for my stay.......that's just laughable when your competitors are offering it free or for considerably less. I don't want to sit in the lounge all night working to get the free connection...I want to relax in my room. You also took over an hour to deliver a very small plate of cheese and biscuits ......£9 .....oh and of course £8.20 for a dry wine in the bar.

Would love to see Hilton starting to offer a few more options for us regular business users.....

Overall great hotel small changes would make it even better

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Nelskii,

Thank you for taking the time to praise our hotel and give your constructive feedback, I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Please note that Internet if free to Hilton Honours members, so if you are frequent traveller it might be an idea to check this option. Apologies for the delay with your room service order, all of your comments have been taken on board and discussed with our team.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Maidstone.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here on business for one night on my own and was made to feel very wlecome by staff at reception and breakfast. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. I didn't pay so can't really comment on value. Breakfast had a good range of food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear reviewer,

I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay at the Hilton Maidstone, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Maidstone this time last year enroute to France & were a little disappointed however they certainly redeemed themselves on our two visits to & from France this year. As Diamond Hilton members we were given our usual upgrade on both visits (this didn't happen last time!) the rooms were spacious & very clean. Service at reception was much better & certainly quicker. On our return trip last Saturday we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, we both had steak which was OK but was let down with freezer chips rather than a good big bowl of homemade ones! The young lady on front of house was extremely helpful & ceratinly deserves a mention, thank you. After a very comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed a very good breakfast & not the usual Hilton Buffet I usually moan about!! Everything was fresh, well presented & I really enjoyed it. Hilton Maidstone is ideally situated as a stop over before & after the Tunnel crossing to France & based on this much improved stay we'll ceratinly stop again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dov6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoGagliano, General Manager at Hilton Maidstone, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Dov,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback; it will be shared with the team. Also thank you for your repeated preference and indeed I am glad to read you found we continue to improve.
Best of all you plan to be back next year; we look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards,
Leonardo Gagliano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.2 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.6 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 15 in Maidstone
1,653 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
1.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Maidstone

Property: Hilton Maidstone
Address: Bearsted Road | Weavering, Maidstone ME14 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Maidstone 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Maidstone hotel is within easy reach of the town centre and the M20 motorway. The hotel has a health club with indoor pool, treatment room and a sauna. Enjoy Seasons Restaurant and The Court Bar, or do business in the 8 meeting rooms. Nearby Kent attractions include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Historic Rochester, Leeds Castle and Kent Life.We have also been awarded Silver for Green Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Maidstone Hotel Maidstone
Hilton International Maidstone
Maidstone Hilton International
Hilton Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing