We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pub with good cheesy chips”
Review of The Cock Horse Inn

The Cock Horse Inn
Ranked #54 of 311 Restaurants in Maidstone
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dating back to the 14th century, The Cock Horse Inn in Detling is situated on the ancient Pilgrims' Way which follows the route of the devoted from Winchester to Canterbury.This historic pub and restaurant once stabled extra horses required to take heavy loads up the village's steep hill, and now provides an all-day menu of fortifying home-made food, with specials and three roasts on Sundays.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Decent pub with good cheesy chips”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pub carpet spoils an otherwise attractive 14th century pub with a beautiful (if noisy, due to proximity of the A249) beer garden. Food is inclined to be pricey, but the cheesy chips are excellent value for money - served with plenty of cheese. Beer on offer on our visit was Greene King and York Brewery. OK place - friendly, informal and welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunningSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    59
    30
    24
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice food in a traditional pub on the pilgrims way”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped off after visiting Leeds Castle. Had a bit of character to the place and a nice pub garden. I enjoyed a lovely sausage and mash meal and my g.f enjoyed her chicken and mushroom pie - which was generously filled. Tasty garlic bread too!

We ate early - so can't really comment too much on the service but it seemed friendly enough and was fairly swift.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed the whole experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I decided to bring my daughter here for a mum & daughter, girly meal. We were not disappointed, despite being 15 minutes early and having not booked. We were warmly welcomed & shown to a table in the restaurant. We loved the feel of the building it has plenty of character.
We ordered starters I had soup & my daughter had the duck, for mains I had pork & my daughter had fajitas. The food was delicious and faultless. Everything was served quickly & the staff checked on us regularly.
We had a great experience & would definitely go back. Thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel261070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were staying at a local b&b so walked here hoping to get a meal. When we arrived at 7pm the bar was reasonably busy but there was no one in the restuarant. We were told that it might be difficult as we hadn't booked and could only have a table if we ate straight away.
The young girl who served us was friendlier and quite helpful but the food was nothing fantastic, the menu reads like a fancy restuarant but the food is just average. I had plaice, beans and potatoe and it was very average with small portions. My husbands steak,chips, tomato and mushroom was alsonothing fantastic. Although the pepper sauce was good.
There was a reasonable range of wines but no real local beer was offered.
By the time we had finished the restuarant was getting busy so we left after deciding the dessert menu was not very tempting.
The cost at 38 pounds was reasonable but wouldnt want to pay anymore for average meal.
Quite nice surroundings, old building and plenty of beams exposed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“No bad vibes or food, infact very happy.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and i have dined a few times here and have never had a problem.
We went here with our Daughter on Friday and the restuarant was very busy which may have had someting to do with the garden show at the county showground, we did however book.
We arrived 15 mins earlier and it was not a problem to be seated.
The starters came up in good time and my daughter is now a convert of scallops dispite years of my trying to convert her.
All other starters were well presented and tasty.
I had the pork belly, my daughter had the steak and my wife had the cod ( not battered ) which she thoroughly enjoyed and commented on how ligh although filling the meal was.
a lovley pub with great food and friendly staff.
its good that the menu changes unlike the Kings arms in Boxley ( which we alo like but dont eat there as much now due to the smae menu and lack of veggie options)
Not to sure why other people have had bad experiences.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cock Horse Inn also viewed

 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
Hollingbourne, Kent
 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Cock Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing