We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maidstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Limes on the Green
Ranked #13 of 26 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at The Limes for 4 days while visiting Kent and didn't want to leave. We rarely return to the same B&B on return trips but we will stay at The Limes again and again. Sonia, the owner, is kind, knowledgeable and accommodating. She made reservations at the local pubs for us for dinner (all pubs are in walking distance and all served very good food), she had great tips for traveling in the area and things we should see that we hadn't thought of. She also has maps, brochures and information on local sites. The local train station (Bearsted) is an easy 5 minute walk down the hill to The Limes.

The house and gardens are beautiful. The house is over 600 years old and we loved the thought of sharing in such history. Our room overlooked the front of the house and the village green and everything was quite comfortable. The shower has a huge sunflower head -- it was like taking a shower in a waterfall; there is a dressing room with a good sized wardrobe, bookcase and tea/water area (Sonia provided fresh milk each day so we could have "proper" English tea).

Breakfast was delicious and fresh each morning. Forget trying to watch what you eat or diet when Sonia is cooking...thank goodness we took so many walks during our stay.

Absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImOV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Took a punt and overnighted at this BnB which was close to Leeds castle, our next sightseeing stop. What a find! The house is some 700 years old and has been immaculately kept. Sonia, the landlady was friendly, helpful, informative and dished up a fantastic breakfast - nothing was a bother. Even made an advance dinner booking for us at a local popular pub, so that we could get a table at the time we wanted. Parking was at the rear door. Checkout the veggie garden out back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Limes because we wanted to ride our tandem around the area and also travel into London easily to go to Regent's Park Open Air Theatre. The Limes is set on the village green with ideal eating places within very easy walking distance as was the rail station (5 minutes on foot).

Within minutes of setting out on our bicycle journey we were onto country lanes which we were able to follow around Lenham passing Oast houses and even venturing along the Pilgrims way which partially incorporates Cycle Route 17. Sonia was very helpful and readily stored our tandem in her garage. This B and B is great for cyclists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike646evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

wonderful guest house in the heart of the village, lovely landlady (Sonia) who is so helpful with her immense knowledge of the area ,nothing is to much trouble, highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a quality stay in the Maidstone area. Rooms are furnished to a high class standard and the breakfast is all locally sourced and cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjoNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sonia made us most welcome on a recent visit. We were visiting an open air concert at Leeds Castle to celebrate my birthday and Paul, my partner, booked us into The Limes for the night. The Limes are fabulous; wonderful room, beautiful linens and toiletries and a jug of fresh milk for our tea - what a wonderful selection of teas to choose from. Breakfast was amazing with a wonderful selection of fresh fruits and compotes plus a bautifully cooked full English all accompanied by plenty of tea, coffee and toast. Such a shame that we only stayed for the one night but we certainly intend returning at some future date so that we can enjoy more of Sonia's hospitality.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the house is gorgeous and has a lovely view across the Green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 days at The Limes and were made to feel most welcome.It is a great location with lovely views of the green, walking distance to country pubs and restaurants, full of character with beautiful décor, a mix of old and new. Exceptionally clean, Our room had super comfy beds and a nice little welcoming touch of freshly picked fruit and home baked biscuits were found upon returning from sightseeing. Very yummy breakfasts, everything freshly cooked. We will definitely stay again. Many thanks Sonia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very warm welcome from the Lady owner. Large room, rather small, but very clean bathroom. Breakfast was great, home made jam and marmelade, fresh fruit, full English. Safe off street parking at the back of the building. Location is excellent as well, within a radius of about 200 meters there are two good pubs who serve food and two restaurants. We did not visit the Restaurants, but they were highly recommended by people who live there. We stayed for three nights at the Limes and went to London on the train one day. Only five minutes on foot to the station, one hour from Bearstead into London-Victoria. The return ticket costs after 9.30 am only 20 Pounds.
From The Limes on the Green it is just 30 minutes by car to the Channel Tunnel or 40 Minutes to the Ferries at Dover.
We will come again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
0.6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.7 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,524 reviews
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes on the Green

Property: The Limes on the Green
Address: The Limes The Green, Maidstone ME14 4DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Limes On The Green Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing