We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant lovely staff lovely food”

Harvester - The Fountain
Ranked #183 of 536 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At The Fountain Harvester in Milton Keynes food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant lovely staff lovely food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family of four and baby of 7 months came here yesterday(sun) and had a half hour wait but it was busy, our turn came and we were put in a lovely accessible part of the restaurant, we were served promptly and food was excellent as we had full three course I have been here on a number of occasions as I love the old building being thatched roofing and it has history, in my seven years of living in Milton Keynes I've been here umpteen times and have never had a problem my family sometimes consist of more ie 8 people and they always accommodate and welcome us, staff are very good at this harvester which sadly can't be said at others in mk this is clearly our favourite! Well done!!! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazzie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - The Fountain, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy your visits to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    90
    88
    75
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gone down hill. Shame cos Harvesters is normally always a winner!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to dine at this harvester regularly however after staff change about the time / just before of the new harvester opening this resturant is now very poor. I have had a few bad dining exp here before giving up! - Steak inedible. Chicken pink. Luke warm food and 10chips served. Poor salad selection. The last time we visited recently we wasnt able to book table of 15 so we waited over 2 hours in the bar. Finally served the waiter brought All of our orders out wrong! Drinks machine not working. Again 3of us had to complian/send back poorly cooked food. My chicken again wasnt cooked. Shame as its a nice location and place. Service needs to be improved. Now if we go to harvester we go to the new one in the xscape for now....lets hope they improve soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - The Fountain, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit, and if you would care to contact us directly by email at harvester.reviews@gmail.com we will be happy to reply more fully.
Thank you
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday late lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having spent most of Easter Monday morning shopping in Milton Keynes, we felt (six adults and two children)chosing to eat out of the centre may be a welcome refuge, we were seated immediately after a struggle entering the restaurant (some very very rude mature South Africans made us wait outside whilst they blocked the entrance making decisions whether to leave then stood in our path whilst the door closed!!) That said the service was prompt, the hot food was edible, the salad bar was generally unkempt but afterall it was a Bank Holiday, maybe an additional member of staff would have made all the difference even clearing and tidying.

The ladies toilets were left in a very sorry state by what I can only describe as a very undignified female.

Overall they staff were certainly working hard, and the total cost was very good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - The Fountain, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Harvester. May we ask if you would like to email us at harvester.reviews@gmail.com so that our Guest Services Department can reply to you directly?
Thank you
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very bad start”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we arrived at the harvester around 8 pm we stood at the host station and waited to be seated. There was three members of staff stood not far from us, not one of them acknowledged our presence they where conversing amongst each other. As we stood there we heard one of the waiting staff slandering another customer saying 'if they don't f* like the service don't f* eat here', as you can imagine being a customer ourselves we thought it was disgraceful that anyone would use such foal language against another customer, especially as they did not seem like they was at all bothered who was listening. After they had finished there conversation they all dispersed trying overly hard not to make eye contact with us. After standing there for a further good few minutes a member of staff came back down and said to us 'the host will be with you in a minute i don't no where she's seating people. Eventually when the host came to greet us going above and beyond to acquire out seating needs, we explained to her what had just happened she was shocked but very sympathetic and continued to apologise. as we was settling the waitress named April that was swearing and slandering the other customer came over to us very unprofessionally and said 'sorry if I upset you but the customers I was ranting about just made another waitress cry so I was just ranting' and apologised, even though the apology was received it was not in any way accepted. There is no excuse and no reason for such unprofessional foul behaviour on the restaurant floor it was absolutely shocking. We then was greeted by our waitress she was lovely helpful and catered for our every need nothing was an issue for her, she even took my friends baby for a walk when he was crying, very good at her job could possibly train some other members of staff? if it wasn't for this lady's excellent service we would not have left as happy as we did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“would not return”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

food was very poor at this restaurant, it was luke warm, the tables hadnt been cleaned properly were all sticky was not a nice experience, would not use this restaurant again, also very pushy to get you out, the floors could do with sweeping up there was everbody elses dinner on the floor, felt the hygiene could do with looking into.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twofatladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester - The Fountain also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Harvester - The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing