We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #68 of 536 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This Little Gem is a beautiful 13th century thatched country pub & restaurant, which has undoubtedly changed over the years, yet retains a wealth of original features & oozes a rustic, rural charm. (Just remember to duck when entering!) Our orchard beer garden is ready for summer & is the jewel in our crown. Have a nose around and you'll find all sorts of wonderful herbs and fruit, all of which are used in our kitchen... You'll find us in the heart of the original Milton Keynes Village, the perfect backdrop to savour our delicious menu. Everything is freshly made in our open kitchen and changes in line with the seasons, using the best local produce we can get our hands on, served in the comforting surroundings of our restaurant. Something to note... If you think your veggies are top of the crops then bring them along...we accept them as currency! Accompany your better half, family or whole party ...we cater for all, providing half portion sizes for children's meals, customized set menus for your party & un-intrusive service for those special nights out for two. Planning a shindig? Just let us know & we'll take all the hard work off your hands...(It helps that we love a party!) We can't fail to mention that we're a proper pub ...Boasting top credentials from Cask Marque, you'll find a nurtured selection of real ales in our bar (2 of which change weekly) along with some great lagers, premium spirits and a wine list as long as your arm! We're located just a stone's throw away from the centre of Milton Keynes, so whether you've had a day at the office, been cheering on your team at Stadium:mk or had a hard days shopping at thecentre:mk, we're the perfect spot to stop & recharge those batteries! We look forward to welcoming you soon! Wanida (General Manager)
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went on a works leaving lunch.....given the outside looks like a building site after a fire last year...inside is fabulous.....the service was spot on and the food delicious.....the most disappointing thing was they had scallops on specials (my favourite) and I had pre ordered...shucks...will make a return visit with my family...and love the scheme where you can pay by cash, credit card or home grown veg..(honestly)...as allotment owners that's appealing to us.... :-)

1 Thank The-Whatleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food & lovely staff... Make sure you book!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked a table for 6 last night and we were glad we booked as there was not a single free table. The food was absolutely beautiful. The staff were all very pleasant. We cancelled our desserts as coffees all arrived and the desserts hadn't arrived some 20 minutes later but to be honest they were busy and they were very nice about it and apologetic. It would not put me off of a return trip there. The food was soooooooo nice!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MileeScalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was a sunny day, so we got to sit outside and enjoy a lovely dinner in their very nice patio area.

Visited July 2012
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

we went here for my birthday! we ordered steak from the specials menu! the steak was minute steak and tasted boiled! absolutely awful! ruined a great birthday! i do appreciate this was a year ago! but the fact i ended up with no birthday meal left me rather annoyed! i have only just discovered trip advisor hence the late feedback

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4 Thank Tuesday M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
So you visited one year ago, allegedly had a poor experience, chose to do nothing about it at the time, and now feel compelled to post a reply because you have 'only just discovered trip advisor'....whilst we take all customer comments seriously, on this occasion I'll make an exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Many happy returns”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Returned for the first time in many months and were absolutely delighted with the whole experience. We went for Sunday lunch but decided not to go down the traditional route. Starters of sauteed chicken livers and black sausage salad with caramelised figs and salmon and coriander fish cakes were followed by pan fried sea bass with seafood risotto and roast chicken breast with chorizo mash. All dishes were perfectly cooked. Each dish had it's own surprise twist, like the lemon foam served with the risotto. We even made room for desert! Iced mango parfait, warm peach compote & pineapple crisps and Chocolate brownie with orange sorbet. The pineapple crisp was amazing - I even asked how it was made but the waitress was unsure and I forgot to ask again. I must find out next time we go. Altogether a really excellent lunch. Sorry for going on about the food! The staff were very good too - attentive but not overbearing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Larkins_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Great Horwood, Aylesbury Vale

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing