We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very busy”
Review of The Swan Salford

The Swan Salford
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan Salford is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 536 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: .
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very very very busy”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food was nice but we were crammed on to a table that was too small, it was very hot in the restaurant and the general chaos and stress of the restaurant staff made you feel stressed and took away the enjoyment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MileeScalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    200
    101
    68
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Always a warm welcome and a great place to go with a partner or friends for a catch up over very nice food.
There is always a smile and the new decor really does give the place a fresh new feel .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quinny1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Food But ......”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I would not hesitate to recommend the Swan for its food and atmosphere. It's very popular and rightly so.
The downside - their Peroni lager is served in ordinary beer glasses and goes flat in minutes. They don't have an answer despite proper glasses obtainable from Peroni for free. What a pity !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A strange one”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have no been to the Swan for many years but looked forward to a return visit, it was steak night, but to be met with a large wooden platter of raw meat, uncovered by the door on a warm afternoon was quite off putting, there are obviously flies etc doing the rounds, and this meat of various steak cuts was on display uncovered during our entire visit.

The food itself was very well cooked ( we skipped the Steak! ) but I do find being asked a total of 6 times during one course "if everything is ok with the meal" was excessive and made mewonder if something is actually wrong, this was very intrusive, if theres anything wrong I am more than capable of letting them know!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No Swan more an ugly duckling!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Swan at Salford Milton Keynes - Leaving lunch with friends, although we had booked and pre ordered our food including 1 gluten free/dairy free meal when we arrived nobody knew about this.

Service was poor no apology - staff just stood around- food all meals very poor the gluten free meal was dried up chicken very tired potatoes could have been re heated from the night before and very soggy vegetables.

The pub has had new decor suggest all show with no substance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Salford also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Great Horwood, Aylesbury Vale
 
Chicheley, Newport Pagnell
North Crawley, Milton Keynes
 

Been to The Swan Salford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing