We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great.”
Review of The Three Trees

The Three Trees
Ranked #34 of 540 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Decided to go to the three trees last night, as me and my partner fancied going out and we saw on Facebook that it was pie night there. We have eaten in many places before, and my partner enjoys a variety of different pies, so we thought we would give it a go. As we both walked in the restaurant we was welcomed with a good few smiley faces and was seated straight away. We also asked to be seated by a radiator because of the draft outside, nothing was to much trouble for our waitress. We both had a pie of the large variety of food to choose from, with a choice of different potato to come with it. After our delicious pies we had some friendly banter with our waitress, she was very bubbly and had nothing but nice things to say about the restaurant. Overall the food was very filling and very tasty, the service was very quick, and friendly. We had a lovely meal and will be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charleyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    113
    53
    37
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned value for money”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch - £8.95 each. Total bill was Just shy of £70 - 3 starters, 5 Carverys, 4 pints, 1 Appletizer, 4 cokes. Value for money of the highest order.
Prawn Cocktail is huge and very tasy, Garlic mushrroms are standard deep fried crumbed mushrooms with a garlic dip.
Carvery - choice of standard - Gammon, Turkey or Beef - the Beef is cooked medium so still pink but some people wont like that although the staff reports that 90% of people prefer it like that.
Special meet was pork belly stuffed with Apple - reports of that was 'very tasy'
Yorkshires are made in batch's and people are invited up in groups to avoid it being too busy.
Typical with all carverys the veg to sit for a long time but on this occasion were still crunchy.

Not sure on the gravy though, there was 2 pots and wasnt sure what each of them were - would have been nice to have a note on them.
Good selection of condiments and sauces too.

Been there twice now and both times have been pleasantly surprised - Good old fasioned Value for Money!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Level Contributor
291 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Another great meal ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a birthday lunch food was great service even better this is a true hidden gem quality of food is really good carvery was excellent all food freshly cooked you should give it a try we did and this is now our 5th visit

Helpful?
1 Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not up to usual standard.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Called in with my wife and had the carvery.
I did find it frustrating that the roast beef on the carvery was cooked, what appeared to be, 'rare' and 'bloody' The Chef, a very nice guy, said that is how customers like it. Sorry, not all of them! I have had the carvery 3 times before and have never seen the beef cooked this rare.Most people I know who like beef like it medium to well done with no blood. The joint was quite large. Why can't you halve the size and have two joints available? One, bloody, and one medium to well done with no blood. My wife likes it well done, no blood so the Chef cut 2 slices and put them under the grill in the kitchen to cook them further. Thank you for that, it was better but not the same as a well done joint and my wife would not do that again.
The roast potatoes on the carvery were under cooked and hard. That is unusual and I told Management who tasted them and apologised. We do find the roast potatoes to be very dry. Yes, I know you can add gravy, but at 61 years of age and having eaten roast potatoes in many places I have never seen them presented quite like this. Nothing like you would make at home.
In contrast, must say we do particularly like the bubble and squeak, the carrots and the cabbage.

We will continue to use the Three Trees and hope you take notice of my comments to improve the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jontytiger2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Visited on the 1st Feb for Birthday meal, disappointing service. There seemed to a big shortage of staff and running around looking stressed, even behind the bar seemed in chaos and took us 15 minutes to get served. Sat down at 8pm order taken at 8.15pm we ordered starters, one cold one arrived after 15 minutes then the other two arrived ten minutes later after chasing.
Main meal then took till 9.30pm to arrive with no apology or explanation. Poor service which is a surprise as been here on a Saturday before and it's been ok. Also on one main meal, ordered the chicken and pasta and was not as described on menu, it was served with spaghetti!! And no chicken breast. With no explanation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazzad200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Trees also viewed

Newton Longville, Aylesbury Vale
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Bletchley, Milton Keynes
Bletchley, Milton Keynes
 
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Three Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing