We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Friendly Pub”
Review of The Old George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old George Inn
Ranked #23 of 35 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Friendly, welcoming and good value. Good selection of beer/lager and spirits/ wine are also good value. Sunday lunches also very good. Very possibly the best pub in Stony Stratford. Heard many a good band/singer here as we'll and there's often music on a weekend evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve_Andrea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This venue was the location for the last night of our 50 mile charity walk from Watford to Cosgrove on the Grand Union Canal. The accommodation is basic but clean and the staff were very pleasant. It also gives good value for money despite the comments of others.The bar is warm and friendly and the menu though basic is adequate and food nicely presented. All in all good value but don't expect five star comfort and be prepared for some quaint features remembering the age and history of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in this 'historic' pub/hotel. The room was tatty and in need of money being spent on upgrading. Noisy above bar, and with rowdy passers by heard through delapidated windows. The bar itself was something else. The charmless female barmaid, who was old enough in years to surely understand what good service should mean? She decided of her own accord to shut the bar at 9.20pm on a sunday evening, and was surprised when we had the cheek to ask for another drink at this time. "I am closing now because i have had enough today" was her explanation. Atmosphere was poor in this smallish bar area, and again in need of at least some minor alterations. Save yer money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was more of a motel than a hotel. We paid an extortionate £72 for a double room for the night which is very expensive for what it was worth. The room was situated above the noisy bar and the windows were poorly double glazed so we could hear the traffic in the early morning. The beds were tiny and the decoration was very shabby and dated. Light in the bathroom didn't work, constantly flickered. The breakfast was disgusting (also had ran out of sausages). When we left we were not acknowledged by the staff and struggled opening the door (it was locked from the previous night) and had no help whatsoever. Shame our stay was so traumatic as we always like to come here for drinks in the evening.

Room Tip: If you want a pleasant stay in a hotel then I recommend you do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaAndPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Things got off to a bad start when we were shown our room. We had booked a double (clearly stated on the confirmation we had with us) but we were given a twin. We complained and after some head scratching we were given the double that was allocated to a couple who were turning up later. Hope they were not too disappointed. The room we ended up with was very nice. It was quite spacious, clean and had a well equipped bathroom with nice fresh towels. Tea and coffee making kit was welcome. The bar was welcoming, the beer was nice and the food was fine for a pub. The biggest let down was the breakfast. When at home we are a cereal and toast sort of couple so we really look forward to the naughty delights of a full English breakfast when we are away. We were told that due to some sort of oversight, there were no sausages. I don't really like bacon so I ended up with in effect a vegetarian full English breakfast. My wife did have the bacon but only the one rasher. They didn't think to double up on the bacon to compensate for the missing sausage. Really poor form. I've rated this a two but probably should have been a 2.5 Would have been a 4 if it wasn't for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vendee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ashamedly, it took us six months to properly investigate the wonderful village that is Stony Stratford - even though we are based just down the road at Wolverton! And what a great place we have been missing!!!
A number of fabulous pubs, bars and restaurants along one long high street, but our favourite turned out to be The Old George...
We had visited Stony on the Saturday afternoon to look for an old fashioned deli, and fell in love with the place immediately. Christmas lights brightened up the street and shops, and the people seemed far happier than the locals we had experienced anywhere around grey MK!!
On returning to the car, we chanced upon the Old George and could not resist calling in for a quick tipple. This wonderful old pub had an immediate welcoming feeling, from the greeting by the bar staff and locals, to its charming ambiance.
Now, I have been a (heathen) lager drinker since turning my back on bitter at 18 - 25 years ago. My partner constantly reminds me that I am a Tadcaster bred Yorkshireman and from a town that spawns three breweries, it is travesty that I continue to throw chemical froth down my neck. So, faced with different choice of ales, she insisted I try a Hobgoblin. I loved it.
In fact, we left that Saturday evening but returned to Stony for Sunday lunch. The third stop on our boozy afternoon was the Old George. Still welcoming, and this time I tried a Gobble (please don't!). Given this was my fourth 'proper' beer of the day, it was safe to say the worm had turned. In fact, we visited another couple of pubs after that but returned to the Old George for the rest of Sunday and I sampled others to make seventh, eighth.... a changed man!!!
Our return to the Old George on this Sunday evening coincided with an acoustic night, with a number of singers/guitarists/ & a violinist, taking turns to entertain the locals and us outsiders (who quickly felt at home). Brilliant. Thoroughly enjoyed our night and we will be back for sure.
I cannot finish without mentioning the old decor of the pub, the low ceilings and furniture. Such character. And we are assured that the George does a great meal so next time we'll be dining also. I would have been interested to see the guest rooms upstairs, and perhaps get talking to a few old boys in there and see if there are any ghost stories. It just has to, hasn't it?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozzertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good comfortable rooms with all usual facilities.
Nice breakfast well cooked with good ingredients.
Good selection of beers in the public bar
Right in the heart of town.
Only Negetive is lack of parking spaces
One way system means you now have to enter from the old stratford end of Stony.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
5.5 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
335 reviews
5.8 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cock Hotel
The Cock Hotel
#24 of 35 in Milton Keynes
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#12 of 35 in Milton Keynes
149 reviews
6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old George Inn

Address: 41 High Street | Stoney Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $69 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Old George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old George Inn Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing