We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an experience of true customer service and a great meal too !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #137 of 528 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Wheatsheaf is a country restaurant serving quality home cooked food using the freshest ingredients. The Recently re-furbished dining room is comfortable and welcoming. The Menu changes approximately every six weeks and includes fresh fish and shellfish and often features daily specials.All desserts are homemade and fresh coffee is served from our bean to cup Milano machine. In addition to our standard wine list we have a "fine wine" selection for those special occasions.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“an experience of true customer service and a great meal too !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

As an ex restaurant owner, head chef and frequent restaurant visitor, I was recommended the Wheatsheaf by a work colleague. From the moment we walked in, the greeting and attention to our experience was warm, friendly and genuine.
The restaurant itself is small in seat numbers, quaint and basic, but you immediately sort of know that because the service wont therefore be a manic one for the staff and chef, we would be looked after and the food should come out quickly ... and so it proved.
The presentation of each course was nouveau, the plates were hot, the tastes were exquisite and the price was reasonable. My only comment of negativity was that my King Scallops were not seared enough and were a little too raw .... I gave that feedback to the owner, whom was gracious and apologetic
A really enjoyable evening and a place you could take someone to impress, on a special occasion or just to be guaranteed a lovely evening. I will be there again that's for sure ....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank w17yno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    33
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our large party of family and friends visited this restaurant for Sunday evening and we could not
have had a better experience anywhere. The food was of very high quality, presented well and
cooked superbly. The staff were courteous, pleasant and very helpful without being intrusive.
This was the third time we have been to the restaurant and we will certainly be going again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noble P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW. Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday here. The food is just fabulous. Locally sourced where possible and all home cooked. There's a good choice and the fresh veg is beautifully cooked. Even better the food arrived really hot. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful without being overwhelming. It's a bit more expensive than your average pub but worth every penny. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food! Lovely service ...and dogs welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a great little pub - it combines traditional pub atmosphere with excellent food and great service. Its isn't cheap but frankly it isn't standard pub fare and for the offering, its really great value. Good thoughtful wine list. Suggest you eat in the bar area - there is a nice modern restaurant area (which is very pleasant but a bit sterile frankly) - but for atmosphere you need to be in the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful balti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's supposed to be take-away but we usually eat in on Take-Away Tuesday because the company and the food is just great. Consistency of food quality, cheerful service, good prices means we keep going back, week after week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taurnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing