We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the money, except when British GP is on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“OK for the money, except when British GP is on”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This is an OK hotel with friendly staff (many French) and reasonable facilities. Rooms are small and road facing ones a bit noisy. Bathrooms are OK.
Bar is comfortable, food was OK and breakfast a good spread (with nice coffee)
Location is a bit suspect with 2 gay bars in 50 meters of the hotel.
Basically at £50 a room they are good for short stays.
We stayed over the Silverstone weekend so prices were hiked to £120 a night making them very poor value. But everyone in 25 miles of the circuit does the same. Good point is they accept late cancellation. Book at Holiday Inn and they take your money when booking!

  • Liked — easy access and the staff
  • Disliked — excessive prices linked to major event
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve from Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    65
    94
    61
    94
See reviews for
35
88
29
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We booked this hotel as it was nearest one to the wedding reception we were going to. The room was on the second floor and no lifts which is not good if you have luggage or problems with climbing stairs. No help was offered from the staff to find the room or help with luggage. The room was the smallest one I have stayed in. The remote for the tv did not work and a lightbulb was broken. The walls of the room are very thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms and corridor. Soundproofing needs to be installed. The room overlooked the mainroad and directly opposite our room was a nightclub for gays, lesbians and transgenders. This club seemed to be really busy around 1am. As it was very warm in the room we had to leave the window open and the noise from the club was horrendous. Having eventually gotten to sleep inspite of the noise outside, we were woken up at about 4am by clubbers going home. We found the whole experience one not to be repeated. My husband went to reception to check out and told the hotel receptionist about the noise and he agreed it was very noisy as he had been there all night on the desk. We wont be going back there again any time soon. We have stayed there before but was in the back of the hotel which overlooks fields and although you get a little traffic noise its much better.

  • Liked — Convenience for the event we were going to
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgansEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milton Keynes hotels

South Coast, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

I was looking for a budget hotel was I wasn't going to arrive until 1am'ish and was looking to leave at 8am.

Arrived and reception was closed but eventually found a phone number. Room was ok other than it smelt of smoke. Bathroom was ok, nothing special.

Didn't have breakfast so can't comment.

Overall it was ok.

  • Liked — cheap, location
  • Disliked — smoke smell in room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RibTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I found the hotel easily as it is located on a main road opposite a bar that has rainbow coloured signs with gay,lesbian and transgender wrote across them. Plenty of parking. Check in was ok, have to go outside from reception through a card entry door to get to the room. No lift so if you have plenty of luggage like I did it is hard work.
Bed,bathroom and room was nice,clean not spacious but sufficient. Dinner menu seemed overpriced and dull so I opted to eat at a chinese retaurant 5mins walk from the hotel(left out of hotel and left at the mini roundabout).
The room walls were paper thin and I was kept awake with the noise of fellow guests, snoring, staggering drunk along the corridors and chatting loudly into the early hours. I didnt manage to fall asleep until 3am and was woken by guests leaving at 7am(just walking along the corridor sounded like a herd of elephants) and the sound of hoovers from the cleaners. I went for breakfast which was ok, nice choice for continental section but full english was a served basic portion you couldnt help yourself and it was the size of a kids meal. Went back to my room for a bath,the plug wouldnt stay put so the bath wouldnt fill up, had a shower with no constant water temp instead. Continued noise whilst I was getting ready for my day ahead and after a sleepless night I decided I couldnt stay another as planned and checked out a day early.

  • Liked — Location at a push!
  • Disliked — The noise as a result of paper thin walls
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheff
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Stayed at the Campanile hotel the night b4 a visit to the Xscape centre in M K Very handy location,about 10 minutes drive away from M K centre.
Hotel is set in a village on the outskirts of MK. We found it to be clean and well presented. It is fairly basic, but what do you want from a hotel? Give me clean any day. Only one prob. really- having just said it was clean- the quilt smelt not very fresh. Complained at the desk though and it was changed, no problem. Tea and coffee making fac. in the room was handy.
We had an evening meal and a breakfast . The ev. meal was reasonable, though I was given a dif. meal to what I ordered, but it was close enough for me not to realise until half way through! And it was nice enough for me not to mind. If you are going, bear in mind that there are a few eateries close by in the village, so there is an alternative to the hotel. The breakfast was good too, and prob. more essential than the ev. meal (no fast food eateries that would be open early in the morning close by).
The staff were friendly and helpful - contrary to another reviewer's comments- although I guess they have a high turnover in that industry.
Overall I would def. go there again, and would use that chain of hotels. Relatively cheap, clean, nice situation (like being in the countryside), free parking, can't ask for much more.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zicoSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Just like a travel inn but cheaper! Good location by canal, clean, comfy room, friendly staff. Would stay here again.
The only odd thing is the French restaurant which was reasonably priced but over staffed. If you want a pub style meal which is what you usually get with most budget hotels I recommend a short walk to one of the pubs down the road.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

i have worked away since sept 2002 and have tried all manner of hotels from bed and breakfasts to premier travel inns, travel lodges and holiday inns and i was very impressed by this budget chain which is new to me. one thing is the rooms are stylish! bedlinen is white, comfy king double bed, attractive beech open plan wardrobe and shelves, stylish desk. radiator which u control means room is instantly warm when u want. well lit...have stayed in other chains where their colours aare navy and purple and i cdnt see to read!! double glazed windows, blackout curtainsetc. a major plus is there is a phone in the room which is almost unheard of for the £55 price and means my husband can phone me direct and not waste money calling on my mobile!

  • Liked — stylish beech interior and white bed linen
  • Disliked — half size bath!
  • Tips/Secrets — reception will really try to ensue all yr needs are met
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltonKeynesContract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.3 mi away
Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre
Kents Hill Park Training and Con...
#23 of 34 in Milton Keynes
48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,276 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#3 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford

Property: Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford
Address: Off Watling 40 Penn Road | Stratford Bletchley, Milton Keynes MK2 2AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes is situated in an ideal location for business and leisure users, situated close to the town centre the Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes offers flexible and affordable rates. A picturesque location beside The Grand Union Canal, Conveniently situated within easy reach of the M1 and A5, only 5.5 miles away from Milton Keynes train station and shopping centre. Local attractions include the theatre District, Xscape, Bletchley Park and Woburn Golf course and Safari Park. With 80 stylish ensuite bedrooms and 3 modern purpose built meeting rooms. All public areas and bedrooms within the hotel provides paying WI-FI. The hotel is the perfect choice for leisure or business travellers offering a place to relax and unwind ready for the following day. There are 3 meeting rooms available. All meeting rooms are fully equipped with over head projectors, TV, video, stationary, flip chart. You can sample our contemporary cuisine at Campanile Restaurant, or the varied drinks menu at the Bar. At Campanile Milton Keynes, you're assured of a warm welcome and flawless service. You'll find areas for relaxing and places to work, along with numerous other first-rate amenities such as our free onsite parking and pet allowances. .Our hotel comprises of 80 bedrooms, these are split like so: - 4 Easy access rooms - 56 Double bedded rooms - 20 Twin bedded rooms To sleep, relax or even work, enjoy the peace and tranquillity of our bedrooms. At Campanile hotel Milton Keynes we can accommodate up to 2 adults and 1 child (under 12 years old) with a choice of a twin or a double room. Each of our presentable en-suite bedrooms offer: - Paying Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel - Comfortable bed for a great nights sleep - Bathroom with a bath, shower and hair dryer - Courtesy try with tea & coffee facilities - Flat screen, TV with free view channels - Ample work space .Breakfast From 6:30 am to 9:30 am (and from 7am to 11am on Saturdays-Sundays & Public holidays),top up on vitamins in the morning with our all-you-can-eat Continental buffet : fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, cheese, ham, fruit juices and a selection of teas and coffees; in addition to traditional cooked breakfast. Our Eatery Everyday choices… Fantastic Value! Our informal dining area has something for everyone. If you’re looking for somewhere to get good-value food, join us for one of our fantastic food offers. Fancy a bite? The Daily Menu offers you everyday choices for great value! Check out our daily menu for the offers available. If you’re looking for somewhere to chill out, after a hard day’s work, why not relax with a bottle of wine or a beer? If it’s sports you’re into, then, join us in selected destinations. By day, you can relax with a pint and enjoy the days sporting events; by night and come the weekend, you can feel the passion, with rugby and football fixtures. All our dishes are available from 12.00pm till 9.45pm unless otherwise stated. For your business trips or family holidays, your hotel in Milton Keynes offers you all the services to facilitate your stay: •Facilities for guests with reduced mobility •Paying WIFI in all rooms •Parking •Complimentary tray with kettle, tea, coffee •Hairdryer and iron available at the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing