We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, poor room facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Milton Keynes
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great staff, poor room facilities”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Really friendly welcoming staff. However, the air conditioner didn't work, there was no hairdryer in the room and the bath which was supposed to convert to a shower went on strike and wouldn't work! Would not recommend a stay in this hotel .

Room Tip: Check the facilities first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at the Novotel Milton Keynes. I am delighted that you were happy our hotel staff and I have noted your comments about the air conditionning and the bathroom. I will follow it up with our Maintenance team. Regarding the hair dryer, did you check in the draw? This is the place we usually plug it in the room. Thanks again for choosing the Novotel. Kind regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    410
    215
    73
    64
See reviews for
380
280
63
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

On arrival I checked that my room was a quiet one. It seems as though I had forgotten to make this request, but I was immediately reallocated to a quiet room. As a vegetarain I found and have found previously that the menu is rather limited and I did wonder whether the eggs are free range. The food and service are, nevertheless, good. Overall, a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: It is worth asking for a quiet room if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Milton Keynes. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Also please do not hesitate to email us next time with any special food requirements and we will be very pleased to look after you. Kind regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was slightly worried about staying here. I stayed for two nights. Room was modern and very clean, bed was comfortable. Service was excellent. Had breakfast which was very good, I would not of paid full price but was offered it for nine pounds and it was definately worth it!!! You cant walk to center but taxi very cheap. Only drawback was sauna not working but other than that had an excellent stay with very friendly staff - thank you

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Milton Keynes. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to hear about the sauna. A re-set is sometimes required. Our front staff can resolve this straightaway. Please accept my apologies if you could not use this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future at the Novotel. Kind regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice & clean hotel- nice rooms, friendly staff!
on the down side, the TV in the room was not tuned in property; lack of freeview channels to say the least; even maintenance couldn't 're tune it; so had plenty of reading time!
The first evening in the dining area of the bar, once I'd been served with my main course I waited 45 minutes after I'd finished to have my desert order not to be taken, no one came so I left still hungry! As there was only One waitress who was rushed off her feet! Also the portion sizes of the food didn't hit the spot for the money it cost!
I would have to be hard pushed to be lodged here again due to menu prices and Poor TV reception .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comment. I am sad to read your negative feedback form your recent experience at the Novotel Milton Keynes. Our TV channels range usually cover in average 20 selections which are free view. I am sorry that your dinner experience was not up to standards, I will personally review our Operational procedures in this area to avoid any future disappointment. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to full enjoy your stay. Kind regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My room 111 was dirty and in poor condition. The carpet was extensively stained,there was a handprint on window and fittings around bed were bashed and broken. On top of that the TV did not work properly. I was offered another room which was superior but the drab interior(white paint washed walls) and hard bed lessened the experience. In fairness the hotel mgr contacted me to apologise but by that time I wanted to check out.

The hotel is isolated and unless you have a car (which I didn't) you might as well have been on the other side of the moon as there was no where to go and no way of walking there!.

In summary the two nights was not good which was topped off with expensive an uninspiring food in the restaurant washed down with an expensive beer.

Give the hotel a miss and check into the holiday in or ramada

Room Tip: Book into holiday inn, rooms are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Johnston's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Mr J., Thank you very much for posting your comment to share your experience at the Novotel Milton Keynes. I am very sorry to read all this negative feedback. After your checkin, the hotel staff went out their ways to please you and to make sure you would feel comfortable with us. I indeed personally contacted you to welcome you and to talk to you about the situation. I now realize that after all those efforts and solutions, we still failed to satisfy you. Please accept my apologies again for this incident. Regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Typical formulaic hotel but peaceful room, comfortable bed (we overslept- nothing to do with the party the night before!) Cannot argue with the price at under £60.00 including buffet english breakfast for two.

Room Tip: Away from the main road was good- not sure about the peace and quiet if facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WivenhoeUKWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest, I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed in a great location to have a peaceful and quiet night, just only few minutes from the city centre. Thank you for posting your comment and I hope to see you soon at the hotel! Kind regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Reception was very efficient.
Rooms were tired and bath was a flimsy plastic thing that I guess used to be white at one stage but was now yellow with age.
Heating wasn't great and despite leaving it on and turning up her thermostat, it was still cold.
Service in restaurant wasn't great. Slow and ended up walking to the bar to get drinks as no one seemed to be looking after me. Food was poor in both choice and quality.
Don't bother trying the local pub either (Suffolk Punch) friendly enough landlord and local drunks in there but a bit 'rough'.
Overall my stay was average. Personally I will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagier11, General Manager at Novotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment. I am very sad to read that your dinner experience was not great. If you could give me more details about this as I would like to understand the overall situation you met. I am personally involved in running the dinner service at the moment and really wish to receive more feedback if possible. Please contact me on h3272-gm@accor.com to dicuss further. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at the Novotel Milton Keynes to fully enjoy our food and service quality. Kind regards, Sylvain Lagier, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,266 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
1.7 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
828 reviews
2.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Milton Keynes

Property: Novotel Milton Keynes
Address: Saxson STREET Leyburn Court, Milton Keynes MK13 7RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Milton Keynes 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Novotel
Novotel Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing