We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great change from the impersonal chain hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
1 review
“A great change from the impersonal chain hotels”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was a really pleasant stay, the hotel had charm and character.
The reception was well managed with a genuine welcome and efficient check in. With the offer of a wake up call and a morning newspaper, this gave an excellent first impression.
Our twin room was clean and spacious and continued the feeling of a hotel with character. The bed was very comfortable and the surroundings very peaceful resulting in a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was great, with juice and cereals as a buffet but your breakfast cooked to order and good service. We were impressed with the breakfast choice and the quality of the food.
Check out was just as easy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helshfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcwinter, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it certainly our aim to offer something refreshingly different from standardised chain hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,



Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    264
    119
    60
    38
See reviews for
181
318
37
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is a modernized old building in a country village just outside Milton Keynes "proper". The room (#47 at back of hotel) was nicely appointed and the bathroom spacious and modern by UK standards, however our mattress was in need of replacement . Our room looked out onto grassy pastures. Public areas, such as corridors and staircases, looked tired and needed new carpeting and paint.
We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of dinner at the restaurant. The staff were friendly, and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
There is a charge for internet access.
On the downside; the hotel hosted events on each of the two nights of our stay. Although our room was far enough away that we didn't hear the partying, guests returning to their rooms were fairly noisy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcwinter, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Excellent location and a beautiful setting in the English countryside and very close to Central Milton Keynes. Room and bed were very comfortable and very quiet. Some of the communal areas were "tired looking" and would benefit from a new carpets and a paint job. Having said that, it is a very good value place to stay for easy access to M1 and Central Milton Keynes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcwinter, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Parkside in Milton Keynes... we certainly are very lucky to work in such a beautiful setting.

We are pleased to say that we are currently finalising our plans for a refurbishment of our public areas which is expected in the new year!

Kind regards,


Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Great location, very calm, vast room, excellent service, good breakfast, still I thought the bed was a bit too soft for me (personal preference.) But the main killer was the shower: no way a human being can either a shower in the room I stayed in. Either ice-cold or burning-hot under high flow, I chose instead to shower under a lukewarm misery of a trickle. Extremely unsatisfying, this ruined the entire stay for me.
I gave feedback to the person behind the counter, leaving my phone number for the manager to give me a call a discuss my experience. No news from him or her.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcwinter, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, October 6, 2010
First of all please accept my apologies for the delayed response to your tripadvisor review and it seems that I have not received your message after your stay with us.

I am pleased to see in the most part you have enjoyed your stay with us however this has of course been marred by a maintenance defect.

I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the parkside where I hope to meet you personally to discuss your review, if you would like to contact me directly in order to book your next stay please feel free.

Kind Regards,




Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at the Mercure for one night. Hotel in lovely grounds and situated in a village almost in the centre of Milton Keynes- very quiet and tranquil.
Hotel clean and tidy but needed some TLC. No hotel directories in rooms and we were not advised of meal times when checked in. Room was clean
Breakfast was hot and fresh but staff were a bit stretched and tables were not being turned round quick enough.
Overall though quite good value for £30 p p p n and a lovely pub witrh decent food situated at the end of the drive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure Parkside in Milton Keynes. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast service, which we are addressing.

Kind regards,


Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I just wanted to post a review on the parkside and to thank all the guys there for everything they done to make our wedding day so special, you guys really went above all the expectations we had and we can not thank you enough for everything you done.
All the people that attended our wedding have all commented on how wonderful the food was and everyone has commented on how wonderful the day was and a big part is all down to the team @ the parkside.
Barry was my knight in shining armour, he was everywhere and i can not put into words how much we appreciated him he really is a legend and we def owe him a beer.
All family/friends that stayed the night all had lovely rooms and if anybody was thinking of staying or having there wedding reception there i would def recommend. x

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your special day at Mercure Parkside in Milton Keynes, myself and the team really enjoyed sharing it with you both!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully your first anniversary celebrations!

Kind regards,


Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2010

A last minute booking for a business trip left us expecting a bed for our stay and not much more. 2 Newport Roads within minutes of each other in Milton Keynes posed a challenge using internet directions but a call to reception soon put us on the right road. What we found on arrival was a great hotel in a beautiful and peaceful location. The reception team were friendly, enthusiastic and offered complimentary extras, such as newspapers, without prompt. The rooms were comfortable with pleasant decor and well-maintained. An extra night added at check out and without the travel agency booking confirmation was handled quickly, efficiently and without fuss by the receptionist. Use of the local fitness centre/gym was a good bonus which we would have used if we'd known about it before we left. If I had cause to visit or recommend Milton Keynes in the future this is where I would stay - well done Parkside!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Parkside in Milton Keynes.

Kind regards,


Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
804 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)

Property: Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel (Was Mercure Parkside House) Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing