We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Not bad. Not good either”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The hotel - and especially the rooms - could be described as 'charmingly English', or as 'somewhat outdated, needing a lick of paint' - depending on your preferences.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, but they could do with more staff at breakfast: the breakfast staff was working their a** off, but still I had to wait for over half an hour for my (good) breakfast.
The rooms could do with an upgrade. Especially with respect to isolation. I woke up each day when the person in the room opposite mine left his room at 6.30 (he was trying to be quiet), and I could follow the night time activities of the couple in the room next to mine in more detail than I wanted.
Since the rooms are beyond walking distance from the city centre - and public transport in MK is appalling - I was hoping for more 'entertainment' in the rooms. The telly only had 4 channels (even Five wasn't on it), and the wifi (expensive!) had too weak a signal in my room.
To finish off, some plusses: bed was comfy, room and bathroom were clean, staff friendly, breakfast of good quality, and the surrounding Ouzel valley park is stunning. Prices are acceptable.
Great hotel for a quiet, romantic weekend. Less suitable for business trips - although being at walking distance from the Open University is a major plus, if that's where you need to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctrip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure Parkside in Milton Keynes. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast, are addressing. We have now address technical issues with our TVs however plan a full roll out of new 32 inch plasma TVS and updated listing in September

Kind regards,


Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    268
    120
    60
    38
See reviews for
184
327
38
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thiviers
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I regularly stay at a number of hotels and B&Bs in Milton Keynes when on business trips relating to the Open University Students Association. When I had to plan my most recent trip I had a problem which Parkside was able to solve. My husband was unable to be left on his own at home as he was recovering from surgery and we have three cats and a dog, I asked if this so-called animal friendly hotel would be able to accommodate us. The response I got was so positive and since I knew the hotel from previous visits I had no hesitation in booking my stay. I did wonder how welcome we really would be when we turned up but I needn't have been concerned as the staff were all welcoming and helpful and we were able to have a quiet room, which was better for us all as we certainly didn't want to disturb our fellow guests with barking from our still young dog. The staff regularly asked if everything was OK and yet were not intrusive. And yes every effort was made to help my husband too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinThiviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Parkside in Milton Keynes and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,


Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Well, what can I say? 1st May 2010, after 18 months of great help and assistance from Barry Winter (manager) and his team, our wedding had been planned down to the last detail. We were welcomed into the hotel, by first name, each time we visited. Enjoyed complimentary drinks the day before, while delivering our wedding cake etc. Our day ran like clockwork, and Barry was with us every step of the way, not a single hiccup, everything was perfect. Barry was on hand all day. His team were very smartly dressed, the bar service was very efficient. Our meals we all served at once, and they were ALL hot!!! The food was to a high standard and to exact requirements. The room was swiftly converted from service, to breakfast, to reception. I cannot fault this hotel, or barry. Whatever we asked, him and his team delivered. Most of all, our wedding suite, simply beautiful, our wedding music playing as we entered, flapjacks, chocolates and champagne for our enjoyment, and a wedding card from all the hotel staff. A VERY generous sized room, simply perfect. Breakfast the follwing morning was full english and continental buffet style to which myself and my new husband both enjoyed, along with our guests who stayed over, we had most of the breakfast room allocated to ourselves. And finally, Barry was the last person we saw on our Wedding night, and he was the first person we saw on the morning after. I cannot rate the hotel and staff highly enough! I've been tpo alot of hotels around the world and this is definately one of the best. We'll be back for drinks and meals there from now on!!!
PS. plenty of guest parking, rooms, and very easy to find and well located in milton keynes. Stay here, get this hotel to MK's number 1!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagent1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, September 18, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2010

situated in a nice quiet area- not too far from the city center for any nights out or shopping. On arrival was met at reception by a cheery recptionist who was willing to help, bar had an array of drinks and the rooms themselves were fairly big with a comfy double bed- so no problem getting to sleep. would deffinately recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereforanightout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, September 18, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

this hotel is lovely, if a little old in decor, and the bed is super comfy. The staff are friendly and helpful, and it was a nice stay. The TV in the room was a little old, and there isn't much to see here if you don't have a car, but nonetheless it was fine.

The only difficulty I had was that Caesar Salad was listed (V) but when it came it had anchovies, which it did actually list on the menu. Anchovies are not vegetarian. This put me off a little.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, September 18, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

This is probably not such a bad hotel if one if looking for a weekend away. However, if travelling on business I woudl recommend finding something else closer to town. The location is quiet and was difficult to find, even with a SatNav. The internet connection was not wokring properly which caused me problems as I had specifically checked that a high-speed internet service was offered prior to booking the hotel. The staff was hit and miss, with a couple being helpful, but most disinterested or absolutely clueless. The reception area was often left unattended as staff chatted elsewhere down the hall. There are no lifts, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs if on the upper level. I would not stay here again if travelling on business.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, May 10, 2010
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback
with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter.

All guests are offered assistance with luggage on arrival, accept my apologies if this was not the case on this occassion. We have recently had a new wireless system offering high speed access to all areas of the hotel again accept my apologies if technical assistance was not forthcoming during your stay with us as should have been the case.

Please feel free to contact me personally on 01908 661919 to discuss this further if you require.

Kind regards,




Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We chose Mercure parkside for my mother's 90th birthday lunch and were delighted with everything.

When the original date had to be postponed at short notice, there we no problems and we were given every assistance in re-booking.

When we finally made it, we were very pleased with the quiet location, despite being so convenient for Milton Keynes. All our requests for organisation were met efficiently and the afternoon passed without a hitch.

The food was good value, very well prepared and presented and delicious. The service was friendly and efficient.

I could comment that the decor was a little tired and could do with a makeover, but everything was spotlessly clean.

We didn't use the rooms, but for a function, I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,



Barry Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
832 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)

Property: Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel (Was Mercure Parkside House) Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing