We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh so poor”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Booked in and stayed in the 'lodge' awoken at 4.00am noise from the central heating pump. Gues its because I booked the cheapest room as we arrived at 10.00pm and were due out 8.00am the next morning didnt see the point in a more ecpensive stay. Complained the next morning that we were awoken even though they turned off the pump so that we could sleep. Resulted in cool water in the bathroom or should I say converted broom store. Sent email to complain , no one bothered to reply Oh so Poor

Room Tip: Refuse the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I'm really sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and even more sorry to read that you had sent an email to us and didn't receive a response. This certainly isn't our standard at the hotel!

If I could ask you to forward your letter to me directly at nicholas.bees@accor.com, I shall answer immediately.

In the meantime, thank you for your response and I hope to speak to you very soon.

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    257
    117
    60
    38
See reviews for
176
307
37
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked in to stop in this hotel as we were going to see a show in Milton Keynes. We paid for the privilege room and were anticipating it to be larger than the standard hotel room, however we were first given the key to room number one, upon entering we found it to be very small and it was generally not at all what we were expecting. We couldn't work out what privilege we had from being in this room as not only was it small it had a view of a car park and a grave yard. After speaking to a gentleman at reception we were moved to room 34, this was a lot bigger and a much nicer setting to spend the evening. We soon regretted this as in the morning there seemed to be very loud banging and pipe work going on below us.

We paid to have breakfast in the morning, this was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. However when walking back from breakfast we walked through our corridor which had trays with last nights food on from other guests across the floor, this had been there earlier but we had presumed it would have been quickly cleaned up, which it wasn't.

We felt that the hotel generally needed an update as everything seemed to be very dated however it was in a lovely location and if myself and my partner were there longer we would have enjoyed walking around the beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Ask what privilege you are getting for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your considered review. We really appreciate the feedback...

I'm sorry to see that we didn't meet your expectations during this stay, we really hope that we can welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations on a repeat visit. Please do let us know when you are returning and I'll make sure that your room is to your liking...

In the meantime I'll investigate your comments and we'll try to make improvements for future guests.

Kindest regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A pleasant country location, in a rural village setting. We stayed in the new annex at the rear of the hotel, which was comfortable, clean and quiet, with a great view out over the gardens. There was a large family party that night, but we didn't hear any late night noise. We didn't use the restaurant facilities as there is an excellent village pub just a few hundred yards walk, which had a good selection of local beers. The location was ideal for exploring Bletchley Park as well as the shopping centre and restaurants in Milton Keynes. Will use again as a base, and will book ahead for meals at the local pub.

Room Tip: Ask for the new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm delighted that you'll use us your base for visiting the area again in the future - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Having had this hotel booked for me for a business trip I was pleasantly surprised to find such a delightful hotel in the countryside very close to the centre of Milton Keynes.
Public rooms are a converted mansion whilst the bedrooms are in a modern extension and coach house.
The bedroom was a little tired but clean and a good size. The only downside being that there were no bedside lights and the shower was less than impressive.
The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant excellent.
I would definitely return for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim11052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks very much for your response. I'm delighted to see that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

We are working on the points that you've raised so thank you, once again, for your feedback.

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

After being seconded on business to work in Milton Keynes, I was fortunate enough to spend my 1st night at the Parkside. After several weeks of being booked in a number of other hotels in Milton Keynes, I requested to go back to the Parkside, and subsequently spent nigh on 6 months in residence.

Getting the negatives out of the way:

1. Room quality - Varies room to room and generally in somewhat need of an update.

2. Car Park - Poorly laid out ending up with residents poorly parked which can lead to access being restricted.

3. Coach house accommodation - Provides basic rooms but are quite restrictive and not in the best of order (N.B. This is based on feedback from colleagues, rather than personal experience)

Now to the positives

1. Staff - To a woman and man, from Reception to Restaurant and Bar they were simply fantastic and made my stay so much easier, and couldn't do enough to help.
It really was of great solace, after an extended period away from a young family at home, that I was made to feel like a member of the 'Parkside' family.

2. Location - Considering it is no more than 5 minutes from the centre of Milton Keynes, you would simply not know it, a very tranquil and pretty location.

3. Restaurant - Recognising it already has a Rosette, this is backed up by the superior nature of the menu and food compared to any other hotel restaurant's I ate at and infact a lot of Restaurants in Milton Keynes.
In addition, suffering with a wheat intolerance, the staff made sure everything was checked and where possible an alternative 'wheat free' option offered.

To Rob and his team, I extend my thanks and hope at some point to return to visit

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to get feedback from regular guests as you have more of an insight into the positives (and negatives) of the hotel.

I'm delighted to see that on the whole your comments are positive and I'll ensure that I pass your comments on to the whole team.

Many thanks again

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from a couple of nights away with Mum and Dad and have to say that this is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and welcoming. The lounge and bar areas are comfortable with a very nice décor and the bedrooms are of a high standard. We stayed in rooms on the ground floor of the main hotel building. The food in the restaurant is good quality and the breakfast was very good too. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet short break. The hotel is in a pretty location with lovely walks and cycle routes along the canal and through parkland.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor rooms in main hotel building to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas B, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your considered review. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay here, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely hotel, fabulous afternoon tea. Great service, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is good, freshly cooked. Bed was a little soft for me but of good quality.

We really enjoyed our stay and would go again. Realistically you need a car to get around. It looks like there is lots of local walking and the Grand Union canal is nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank KasayLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House), responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and over night stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)

Property: Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel (Was Mercure Parkside House) Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing