We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We chose the Parkside for our wedding reception on 11th April 2013 because of our previous experiences of the hotel and were not disappointed. The planning was excellent and the day ran like clockwork and we cannot praise Nicola and her team highly enough. Nicola was called away at the beginning of the afternoon for family reasons but her deputy was able to carry on the good work with aplomb. Great food, great atmosphere, excellent DJ who had music loud enough to encourage people to dance but not too loud to kill easy conversation. Bedroom was comfortable and spacious too. Altogether it was a lovely family occasion. All our guests enjoyed themselves and we had lots of favourable comments about the hotel, food and and the organisation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for comments, and the positive feedback on your wedding day, I am delighted that the team even in Nicola’s absence looked after you and your guests so well and made it such a memorable day.
Kind Regards
Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here on business, check in was good but the room very small and cold, the bathroom smaller than an ensuite. The hot water pipe was behind the head of the bed so knocked every 5 mins, not the bet nights sleep! The hotel food was excellent however, restaurant and bar clean and tidy with helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth4826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for comments and the positive feedback on your dining experience at the hotel. I however was disappointed to read your comment on the problems you had with your bedroom; these will be passed on to our maintenance team for investigation.
Kind Regards
Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to celebrate our wedding at the Parkside on 31st May 2013, and what a day it was! We initially chose the hotel for our wedding reception because of Nicola, the hotel's amazing wedding co-ordinator. From our very first meeting, she was enthusiastic and had all the information we needed and was flexible when it came to the finer details. It was great to see her welcome us to the hotel as we arrived on the day after our church service, and she really did organise a great reception.

The venue's staff were all fantastic during the wedding breakfast service, and the way they turned the room around between the breakfast and evening do was quick and efficient - a huge well done! The bridal suite that we stayed in for the night was perfect, and having spoken to the other guests who stayed, they all commented on how nice their rooms were. In summary, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Parkside for a wedding or any other event - great rooms, beautiful grounds, amazing food - we can't wait to return in the future!

A HUGE THANK YOU to all at the Parkside for making our wedding day so special!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments and the positive feedback on your wedding day experience here at the hotel. I was delighted to read how well you felt the team looked after you and your guests. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great weekend at Mercure hotel. The room was lovely, a little small but as described had a nice view. The bed was really comfortable- not too soft as can be the case at hotels. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was good to have internet access. The hotel is set in beautiful parkland. Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank maggiehewitt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Saturday 1st - our birthday group went to the above in the grounds of the hotel. The pig roast and a drink was within the price of the ticket, very good value. There was more food available to purchase. A fun evening, good music, good food and as always helpful friendly staff.
Did not stay at the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The moment we entered the driveway of the hotel, we knew we were in for a really good stay. With the old church next door, a top notch Jazz Band playing under the shade of an oak tree in the beautiful grounds and a very warm welcome from the staff, we were in holiday mode!

The rooms were spacious, bright, very clean with wonderful views onto green fields and cows.

The bathroom was roomy, bright and again very clean.

There were six in our party, with three double rooms and we were all ecstatic about the hotel, none more so than myself and I am most definitely very picky.

So whether you're on business or like ourselves, on a weekend break, I can heartily recommend this excellent hotel.

R.S. Ascot, Berkshire

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rooms were a good size and nicely decorated. Some cleanliness issues as we found something nasty on the hand rail in the bathroom. Service was average, friendly staff. The cost of wine was very expensive for the standard of hotel at £7 for the cheapest small glass of wine, breakfast was good although a bit hit and miss with choice as they clearly didn't have enough staff to cope with the amount of people. We were not offered any tea or coffee and it seemed some people were served pots of tea and coffee at table while we were expected to self serve, we only found this out from other guests. Staff also cross contaminated veg and meat at servery so be aware if your a vegetarian . But all that said we still had a fab time at our family wedding and a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: Book early if you need the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraverller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 35 in Milton Keynes
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $73 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing