We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Strangely but quaintly situated in the "countryside bit" of a housing estate,surrounded by lovely landscape & close to a popular pub. An efficient and delightful young Spanish receptionist ,fortunate to be allocated a "prestige room" which was cozy but perfect for one ,might have been a little tight for 2.
Fabulous to have a nespresso coffee machine ,a touch of class and very appreciated as a fussy caffeine junky.Small minibar which they will stock on request.Room clean and fresh.Wi Fi available in the lounge area.
Parts of the hotel do look a little worn but still charming ,I am told by colleagues that some rooms are nicer and quieter than others. I had no problems with water pressure but colleagues did , there is plenty of hot water.
Food in the restaurant is generous and good, the lady in charge of the restaurant was very charming and professional.
F&B manager really needs to expand his wine list a little and ensure that he keeps his stock levels adequate as unacceptable when you have such a limited list to run out of wines!
Breakfast really good and cooked to order, fire needs to be lit earlier in the evenings in cold weather as adds to ambience.
Overall would be happy to stay there again as was made very welcome.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just spent a wonderful time having afternoon tea. Fabulous sandwiches, cakes and scones with a glass of champagne and choice of teas which come in individual artisan tea pots. The waitress was attentive without being over powering. There's no mention on the website that the hotel serve afternoon tea, only picked up on this because of another trip advisor review. Really impressed and will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tripadvice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woughton, General Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for one night whilst on business in Milton Keynes. The hotel is tucked away in a lovely quiet location with more than adequate parking faclities. The staff in all areas of the hotel are very polite and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them and they all go about their work with smiles on their faces. My room was in the main house, warm comfortable, spacious and very quiet - no noise from outside or late night people slamming doors, Bliss!!!! The food was excellent both at dinner and in the morning, i was actually served a l lovely hot breakfast, tea with extra water and toast all made for you with a choice of cold buffet to start.

The hotel looks a little dated in places but is excellent value for money and one of the most friendly places I have actually stayed in. I will definately book again - I had a lovely comfortable nights sleep, excellent food and a home from home experience with their friendly staff. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unlike other reviews seen service was fine, girls friendly and helpful.

Sadly, not matched by setting. Cold snowy day and no fires or cheer as hoped for, invited to sit in a standard, but colourless restaurant area.. Hotel, had 'tired' look and decoration was drab and ill lit.

Sandwiches dry and had clearly been prepared earlier but not covered for some time. Cakes fine and scones excellent, presented warmed.

We asked to take residue cakes away for family later, expecting they might be boxed attractively. They were presented bundled in cling wrap.

I asked my wife would she recommend the experience to friends, A definite NO. (Already conveyed to friends locally.)

Clearly, a complete lack of appreciation of what constituted a luxury setting, or even a welcoming simple ambience.

Very disappointing!

Room Tip: No experience of accommodation,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has character but it needs some love. We arrived at the hotel to a very crowded reception but no staff. Things did seem a little chaotic with staff rushing around and items from room service left out in corridors. Our bedroom at the rear of the hotel was spacious and comfortable. It was nice to have a fridge in the room and also iron and board. The room would benefit from a bright lamp in front of the mirror for when applying makeup. The ensuite has both a bath and shower. It was difficult to control the temperature of the shower and the general appearance of the ensuite was a bit tired, but could easily be spruced up. The guttering outside the window appeared to be broken and therefore when it rained in the night there was noise of constant running/splasing water from the gutters. Although the hotel has Wifi Its necessary to pay, which we thought should be free. There was a great choice of breakfast but the hot plates did not keep the food hot. With a few improvements this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesanexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday wedding anniversary dinner, which coincided with a wedding reception. The staff did a good job of separating the two functions, but inevitably there was some crowding both in the evening and the following morning at breakfast. There was some evidence of staff overstretch (uncollected items in the corridor; a buffet cover dropped on the floor) but this was eventually rectified. Our room was well sized, with a park view, and well appointed, though bathroom lighting could have been improved. The dinner and buffet breakfast were excellent with good service. Overall, easily accessible from the motorway, this is an excellent location both for business visitors and weekend leisure tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the main building are quiet, well insulated from events (e.g. discothques!) at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Needs redecorating. stairs are carpted shoddily, however the bannister has been re-securred since our last visit. If a vegetarian do check that there is no cross contamination as i witnessed the chef bringing in a platter of sausages and tomotoes to the breakfast buffet

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 926Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariusParkside, Guest Relations Manager at Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted previously. I am very sorry that no one has responded to you and thought that I would take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to post a review and that your comments are very valuable to us, please don't hesitate to contact us on H6627@Accor.com to give us further feedback regarding your stay.

Since you previous stay the hotel has changed ownership and has undergone a complete refurbishment and now stands as one of the top 4 star properties in Milton Keynes. We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Milton Keynes to experience the refurbished property,

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#9 of 35 in Milton Keynes
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Newport Road | Woughton on The Green, Milton Keynes MK6 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#1 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $75 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel, an indulging experience in a tranquil setting unique to Milton Keynes. Woughton House (formerly the Mercure Parkside House) has joined the MGallery hotel portfolio which is a collection of boutique hotels offering bespoke design and a rich heritage. Woughton House offers 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms from delightful small double rooms to classic superior rooms and beautifully appointed privilege rooms to the stunningly designed junior suites. The award winning Seasons Restaurant classic British dishes a modern twist with much of the ingredients sourced from the local area. Afternoon tea is served daily between 12noon and 4pm with the scones, cakes and sweet treats all homebaked and created by the team of talented chefs. Set in acres of gardens and overlooking the pastures of the Ouzel Valley Park, Woughton House is a modern country house hotel just minutes from central Milton Keynes. The hotel offers free wifi and free car parking to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Parkside Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Mercure Milton Keynes
Accor Milton Keynes
Woughton House - MGallery By Sofitel Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing