We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Leisure Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Leisure Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We booked this break approx 3 wks prior direct with Hotel. Our kids are 10 and 12 so we were advised a family room would be allocated. On arrival we found our room only had a double bed - however once back at reception this was quickly and efficiently resolved. As all family rooms were occupied we were upgraded to an executive king with double sofa bed. Fantastic room - lovely huge bathroom with sep shower. We found all staff very friendly and helpful (special mention to Kerry in the restaurant who was brilliant at accomodating our kids who are fussy eaters !) As priority club members we were delivered newspaper of our choice both mornings and we were also given a 2-4-1 voucher for drinks at the hotel bar (also another couple for the confusion re room at check in - so they were very welcome, athough I felt bar prices reasonable for a hotel) Breakfast very nice - all fresh, and evening meals had good variety. Impressed that we could use our £20 per head value against bar meals/room service or put towards a la carte. Kids eat free and had choice of everything on all menus. Excellent location to shops, Xscape, were not charged for parking although on check in were advised it would be £5 per day. Enjoyed gym and pool. We paid £200 for the 2 nights for 4 of us (and our kids ate like adults!) OK - being given a nice upgrade is always welcome, but I felt it was fantastic value for money and we would certainly recommend this hotel - the best we have stayed in for a while - and will be going back.

  • Liked — Location, value for money, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Strange disinfectant smell in lobbies ????
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    305
    166
    58
    25
See reviews for
126
247
47
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN , IRELAND
Level Contributor
146 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

Check-in was simplicity itself. Priority Club members have their room keys ready in advance; all that is required is a signiature and the keys are in your hand within seconds.

There were a couple of maintenance issues with my room, and as it was a weekend, the receptionist wasn't sure whether there would be a maintenance man on duty, so she moved me to another (bigger and better) room. More importantly, this was done instantly and with very good grace.

The hotel is 20 years old, but is in excellent condition. Rooms are well prepared, and the breakfast is very good indeed. Bar food was also goov and reasonably priced by hotel standards.

Internet access was £7 for 90 minutes with a prepaid card which is not too bad.

The health club is very pleasant, and a great way to unwind after a long drive and flight.

Overall I was very impressed with this hotel. Any staff member I encountered was very friendly and this made my short stay very pleasant indeed. Well done to all concerned.

  • Liked — Directly opposite shopping centre
  • Disliked — Very little to criticise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PATJORDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Milton Keynes a while back, as my usual choice, the Express by Holiday Inn, was fully booked. The hotel itself is nice, the the rooms spacious if a little bland. Our room had mould around the window and smelt quite damp, however, we were only there for one night and it didn't bother us especially.

The thing that really ruined our stay for us was the customer service, especially of the night staff. We went out for a few drinks and returned to the hotel late, upon which the extremely officious hotel manager told us there had been a problem with one of my friend's rooms and that he was not allowed back into the hotel. He had left his cards in my room and they didn't allow him to go back and fetch them, so I had to pay for the room then and there. I appreciate that they have to make sure the rooms are paid for but it was exceptionally unprofessional to not allow him to pay for it himself or leave it until the morning.

While I was withdrawing cash from the bank (I did not want them to charge my card, so they could pay me back the cash in the morning) they locked all the door including the fire doors, and were extremely threatening to my girlfriend - four staff vs her - which left her shaking and almost in tears as they told her they would "decide" whether to let me back in as I had not taken my room key with me and they did not have to let in people without room keys.

To be fair on HI they did refund one of our rooms and promise to look into night customer service. Would I take the chance of being treated like a 12 year old again? No.

  • Liked — Public areas nice, beds comfortable
  • Disliked — Rooms so-so, customer service abysmal
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KitOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

We wanted a hotel that was convenient for the MKOne Centre, and this was perfect. Literally 2-3 minutes walk and you're there. Hotel was comfortable, nice rooms, pleasant staff. Parked right outside the hotel, but can imagine parking might be a problem at peak times, as it is limited, although there is public parking just outside the hotel boundary.

All in all, good value for money....

  • Liked — Great location in the centre of town
  • Disliked — Limited parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank premiertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

My boyfriend & i booked this hotel as we wanted to go away for the weekend. we got a very cheap deal so decided to go to this particular hotel.

Having travelled by coach which took 2 hours we were keen to get settled in the hotel. As we went to check in we were told we could not pay by Solo debit card which was a dissapointment. there was a cashpoint situated in the hotel which was extremely helpful. When paying for the hotel which was meant to be £181 the total came to £153 which saved us money.

overall the hotel room was cosy and clean however the room size was quite small. the location was ideal, it took us 2 mins to walk to the shopping centre, one centre leads to another so its really easy to get lost.

the facilities such as the gym and swimming pool were also very clean and not too busy. We would definitly reccomend this hotel and i'd like to add that we had no problem what so ever with the staff, infact they were very helpful.

  • Liked — gym and swimming pool
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella23-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2007

booked this hotel with hotel manager after my last stay at this hotel was a bit of a let down due to rude staff! (must be noted not all staff) was given a free upgrade to exsective room and free bottel of house wine wich was very plesent! the room was large and clen, air con didnr seem to be that good so dont no how comftale it would be in the hight of summer! apart from that was a good standard for holiday inn and would use this hotl again , as it is in a great location and ver all staff are usaly good! espesialy a young ladey called harriot on reseption!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kev1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

It's a ten minute walk in almost a straight line from the railway station to this hotel or £2.80 in a cab.

I found the reception staff to be friendly and efficient during check in even though no upgrade was offered as a Platinum Priority Club member ( this is nothing unusual in general at any ICHG hotel). This property is a kind of upscale Holiday Inn with a nice atrium style lounge/bar area. Executive rooms have a (kind of pointless) narrow balcony facing inwards.

I used "The Junction" restaurant once during my 3 night stay and found it to be quite pleasant for both breakfast and dinner. A 3 course set meal is available for £20 with specials board changing daily or choose from the A' la Carte menu. There are leisure facilities availble in the "Spirit" health club featuring a small pool, steam room, sauna and gym.

All in all I found this hotel to be very pleasant when compared with ones of a similar level and would use it again.

  • Liked — Location, staff.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.0 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
2.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Property: Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guests and members, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1's junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing