We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money summer weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Colnbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Value for money summer weekend break”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed this weekend for a wedding. Many guests used this city centre hotel.. Staff could not do enough. Real value for money..hotel slightly dated but as i said value for money-breakfast dear if not part of BB deal.
Bar will stay open so long as you wish to drink. I will stay again

Room Tip: Ask for suite if traveling as family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surinder R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rehal,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and it is always a pleasure to read that the team at the hotel delivered great customer service, and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    309
    174
    63
    26
See reviews for
134
255
47
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My second stay at the Holiday Inn Saxongate MK. Wow. Consistent with my first. Staff? Amazing. Room? Amazing and so so clean. Room service? Took about 20 minutes for our hot , delicicious Bourgignons to arrive. First Class.
I stayed in room 132 and enjoyed a mini bar , sadly not enough spirite :( my ONLY criticism. the Breakfast was EXCELLENT. Overall outstanding quality and service. Looking forward to my next stay. Tony Dyer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tony1104,

Thank you for your comments you posted, I am delighted to read that both your stays at the hotel have been great, the team at the hotel will be delighted to hear this at our daily meeting.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Several friends stayed here for the night and had a very nice stay. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable. All staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast included a great selection and having Starbucks on site was an extra bonus! Excellent value for money couldn't fault it all round! Thanks Holiday Inn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelledguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Welltravelledguest,

Thank you for your comments you posted on trip advisor, it is always a pleasure to read that our guests had a great stay and I will be sharing your comments with the wider hotel team at our daily meeting who will also be thrilled to hear this.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited as a part of a charity event put on by the Round Table. Room was clean and comfortable with great air conditioning in this heat which was not loud like you get in many hotels.
I always judge on 2 things. The shower in this case hot and powerfull so 5 out of 5 and the breakfast. A buffet breakfast which had a good selection but was not very hot. Did like the toast and jam which was not in the usual silly sachets. 4 out of 5
They did put on evening food as well which was pretty good and the restaurant was a good venue for the charity auction. I would stay again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Tim M
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and enjoyed your function with us,and I will be sharing your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent in Milton Keynes, a short walk to the Hub for dining, very close to Midsummer place shopping centre and not far from Milton Keynes Central for trains. A little further to the snow dome area but still ok to walk. Parking seems ok though I didn't have a car myself.

Unfortunately that's where it ends for me, I had many other issues during my stay. I stayed for over 2 weeks and was put into an inside facing room so unless you want to share everything with bar/breakfast patrons you have to keep the timber doors closed all the time so no natural light at all.

Room was small in size but ok for me though no actual closet, just a hanging area near the door. Large bathroom, heated towel rail didn't work. Minibar didn't seem to be working, always warm. Free water everyday and chocolate most days a nice touch. Air con wasn't the greatest. Room was serviced well every day. Wifi was included for my room type but did cut in and out quite a lot.

Terrible trouble with laundry service, lost one day, and took 3 days another. (Form should be clearer so you don't have to waste a day by having it returned to ask a question). Once used the laundry form it was never replaced, had to ask each time. Obviously this would only be if staying for a longer stay.

Room service menu was ok and meals were ok too, once was a little burnt and once was not cooked properly. Breakfast buffet doesn't really compare to many other hotels however the staff were generally quite friendly which was nice as front desk staff weren't as friendly. I was woken up in the middle of one night by the police banging on my door as they were looking for someone!! I asked the next morning and it didn't sound like everyone had had the pleasure, from the unapologetic front desk staff member.

One thing that I found annoying was the scent that seems to be pushed through the air con in the lift area and hallways of each floor, it was very strong (to me) and because my room was close to the lift it was always in my room too. I guess it was meant to be a nice perfume but to me it was just too overpowering.

Even though my overall experience was quite negative, I would stay again and give it another try as others have not had such experiences as me and I'm hoping a good portion of my issues were just bad luck!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyParkLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear SydneyParkLocal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
I was very disappointed to read that you stay was not a truly great guest experience that we aim to deliver to our guests.
please be assured we will increase our efforts to deliver our goal in our goal in providing great guest experiences and satisfaction, I pass all your comments onto the department Mangers of the hotel to ensure that some corrective training is carried out.

Once again please accept my apologies and if I can be of any further assistance please let me know.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our third year staying here for the weekend of the British Grand Prix. Very helpful staff, complete with guides and directions to get to the circuit - turn left out of the hotel, left again, and then join the A5 and you are there in about 20 mins.

The rooms are comfortable and there is a good selection at the bar.

Aside from all that, many of the F1 travelling fraternity seem to stay here, so there are some great conversations to overhear in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCraske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Petercraske,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us during the grand Prix weekend and you enjoyed your gifts, I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was here on business for a few days. It was £150+ a night which included no breakfast, no internet access and no parking. All of which I had to pay extra for. Now I wasn't paying for the room myself but even so this seems excessive. Plus of course you have to spend the time in Milton Keynes which is surely punishment enough?

I was also given a disabled room. No problem with having disabled rooms in hotels but I am not disabled. This means that the sink at knee level and the shower that only extended to my chest were not the most useful to me.

I stayed at the holiday inn express 5 mins away the other week, paid half the price and got free internet, breakfast and parking - wonder where I will go next time?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaseandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear jaseandlou,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor, I was disappointed to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your requirements.

With regards to the rate you paid for your stay with us to one of our other brands, this reflects the market we trade in and we a 4 star full service hotel where as the other brand offers different service levels

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,


Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
2.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Property: Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guests and members, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1's junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing