We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive room very small and ventilation (or lack of it an issue)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, quirky rooms overlooking 'court yard' bar area. The room was very small for an executive family room. Not much storage space. Major problem with the room was lack of ventilation - there is no opening window and air con was very dry.

Service was good we asked for extra pillows which arrived quickly. Reception were helpful and bar staff friendly.

Location was amazing - restaurants and massive shopping arcade just a 5 min walk away. We would stay here again but wouldn't want the same room.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiddyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Jiddyb
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I will share your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 901 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked a four night stay over Easter and our daughter stayed instead; we visited her to eat with her and stay indoors in the lounge-bar instead of going out in the cold. Got a good deal on Booking.com and was offered breakfast at voucher rates - about £5 off - but breakfast at c£14 is probably okay for business travellers who claim it back from their employers?

Check-in and check-out just fine. Room had a bath and all the usual trimmings. Internet daily rate extortionate.
Staffed gym, sauna and swimming pool we quite liked the look of. Locals can join, we were verbally quoted £79 per month on direct debit with a month free for a 12-month commitment: worked out dearer than our current local gym rate but was a lot smarter!
Car parking out the front is a sort of enclave surrounded by central Milton Keynes parking. You have to pay to park during the day in the surrounding car parks but the rates are very cheap compared with conventional town and city car parking charges.
In front of the hotel is the western end of the central shopping buildings. If you don't fancy the breakfast rates, plenty of places to eat in the shopping centre - provided you are not needing to be off that early. There is a wide range of eating places for lunch and dinner down the hill behind the hotel on the way to the station - in the blocks and plaza square between Jurys Inn and the Sainsburys. Like a lot of Milton Keynes, facilities are not that obvious.
Outside of building is exceedingly dull and looks like it needs a good wash. Does not do justice to the interior which is altogether more attractive.

Room Tip: Some rooms face into an internal space over the ground floor lounge-bar. The surrounding roads are...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear StephenJ
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I stay here allot as I have to be in Milton Keynes on business.

You know it's a sorry state of affairs when the best hotel is a holiday inn, however if you want a room inthe ccentre it's the best, certainly better than jury's inn. In actual fact it's not that bad, once you get over the extortionate internet charges.you can tether a phone if you get a room in the right spot in the hotel. if you are unlucky enough to be unable to tther your phone youll have to stump up the cash and bear with the super slow connection speed.

There is a pool which is good enough to do lengths in and the small gym is adequate. The rooms are pretty basic but are clean and the walls are thick enough so that you don't hear your neighbours TV. Breakfast is standard buffet fare and is good enough.

Its tough to get a room here though so make sure you book well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baddevotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear baddevotions
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to hear you had a enjoyable stay with us and I will be sharing your comments with the hotel team.
With regards to the internet over the last few years we've invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet.
Technically, what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth each hotel enjoys. So, unlike a basic broadband connection, we're able to guarantee excellent speed, not just for a few of our guests, but for hundreds.
In addition we offer 24/7 technical support should you require any assistance. To make all this possible we do need to apply a sensible charge for internet use.
We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet’.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and had a lovely time.

PROS

- 5 mins walking distance to Theatre District with restaurants and bars.

-Restaurant and bar - good quality food and reasonably priced

-Modern clean rooms with spacious bathrooms.

- Exceptionally friendly staff.

CONS

- £6 charge for car park as hard to find free parking in mk.

- no free wifi

- was woken up by housekeeping although late checkout was confirmed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear KellyjCook

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

With regards to the internet over the last few years we've invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet.
Technically, what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth each hotel enjoys. So, unlike a basic broadband connection, we're able to guarantee excellent speed, not just for a few of our guests, but for hundreds.
In addition we offer 24/7 technical support should you require any assistance. To make all this possible we do need to apply a sensible charge for internet use.
We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet’.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here recently for one night whilst catching up with family.On the whole it was a good stay,the room was clean warm and cormfortable,the bar area was good.
The only problems really were reception,the poor lad on duty when we checked in was obviously new and got a bit confused as I had booked 2 rooms on the same booking form,he also told us it was free parking for residents.When I queried the £ 6 charge on checking out ,which I was quite happy to pay ,the girl on then was downright rude,,they were busy at the time,but she maybe needs to look at her people skills.
I would stay here again,as the hotel is ideally placed for the shops etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spexMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear spexMiddlesbrough
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.
With regards to the issue you had with our reception team, I have spoken to the relevant Manager so they can act upon your comments and carry out some corrective training.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Here's our review of our stay, based on our 8B criteria:

* Bed - two twins this time, as it was a lads weekend. Very comfy.
* Bedroom - good size, and a bonus to have Walkers Shortbread! Although £28 for an internet and movie package seemed very expensive.
* Bathroom - average size, but had a bath (unused).
* Breakfast - we didn't have it here.
* Bar - it is well situated in a large square open plan area, not the place for discreet business discussions but, sad as it sounds, it was interesting to watch the glass-fronted lifts glide up and down at the other end of the atrium. Although this could have been because it was 2:30 in the morning.
* Bods - generally friendly service.
* Budget - the rack rate is very steep but good deals are available in advance.
* Back (i.e. would we return?) - Yes. This was a decent place to stay, and if I really needed to come back to the strange place that is MK, then I would like to stop here. There is also a swimming pool.

Room Tip: None of the rooms offer views of herds of wildebeest sweeping majestically across the plains
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear NickAndPaula
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

With regards to the internet over the last few years we've invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet.
Technically, what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth each hotel enjoys. So, unlike a basic broadband connection, we're able to guarantee excellent speed, not just for a few of our guests, but for hundreds.
In addition we offer 24/7 technical support should you require any assistance. To make all this possible we do need to apply a sensible charge for internet use.
We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet’.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having visited the Milton Keynes Holiday Inn 4 times in the past year (each a week long stay), I can safely say I have never had any complaints.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, breakfast is always hot and fulfilling, the rooms are always spotless and frequently cleaned, and gym, swimming pool and sauna are hygenic and user friendly.

As I am required to visit Milton Keynes often for work, I am glad that the standard of the hotel is so high. Due to this I have returned time and time again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jblogsweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Jins186338
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future


Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#15 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $73 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guests and members, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1's junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing