We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay booked via hotwire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overnight stay booked via hotwire”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this overnight stay using hotewire so the value for money was good. The hotel was clean and had good amenities and overall a good place for an overnight stay.

We did find the walls very thin so we heard everyone coming and going and the room next door seemed to have a late night drinking which made for a restless night. I also found the heating was either on or off, no in-between because there was no thermostat. These 2 things were the reason we did not give a 4 overall rating.

The staff were very helpful when we asked for advice on what to do for the day and at checkin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flattj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-want-to-know-why, Hotel Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Flattj

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a good value. I'm sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Simon Harman - Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    309
    173
    63
    26
See reviews for
134
255
47
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our second return visit to the Holiday Inn, Milton Keynes for a theatre weekend away. The hotel's central location to the main MK shopping centre is fantastic. The hotel is excellent, we stayed in an executive room as a family of 4 with the children sleeping in the sofa bed. The staff are really friendly. Breakfast on Sunday morning was absolutely fantastic (it had everything you could have wanted). We used the health club with a morning swim - which was fine although it is getting a little tried looking.

Only gripe is that our double bed was far too soft which did disturb our night's sleep and the cost of the WiFi access which I decided not too use when I put our room number in to access it when I saw the price. I then discovered the morning we were leaving (too late) that WiFi was included free of charge with executive rooms - pity we weren't told when we booked in!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-want-to-know-why, Hotel Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Paul C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Its always great to see reviews from our returning guests.

Please accept my apologies for the elements of your stay that were not to your satisfaction. It is certainly disappointing to read that we did not deliver on a truly great guest experience. I along with the hotel management team review all guest comments to ensure we can rectify any shortcoming that are experienced so please be assured we will increase our efforts to deliver our goal in our goal in providing great guest experiences and satisfaction.

Once again please accept my apologies and if I can be of any further assistance please let me know.


Regards

Simon Harman - Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stay here a lot as the company I work for has only 2 hotels in Milton Keynes on their approved list. Unfortunately this is the nearest to the customer`s office. I used to stay in Nottingham a lot and the Holiday Inn there was £55 with our company discount. The MK one ranges from £116 to £168 for a standard room with no breakfast!
I have had several rooms that smell of smoke. Apparently the smoke alarms are easy to disable! Very worrying!
Last week I was charged £50 for telling the hotel I was not staying my last night at 8am. I have never had to pay a penalty at any other hotel. I stayed at the Hilton in MK the week before and did exactly the same with no fee. Watch out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysitebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear holidaysitebuilder,

Thank you for posting a review on the TripAdvisor site.

I am interested to read your concerns and of course I am disappointed that your overall experience at the hotel was not to your satisfaction. Given the positive number of comments we receive I am confident this is an isolated experience. If you wish to discuss these further then please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Once again I appreciate your comments and I know you have many choices when it comes to hotels in the area and hope you will stay with us again on your future visits to Milton Keynes.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My partner & I have just spent a night at this hotel. We have stayed at a few Holiday Inns on business before, but this one is quite exceptional. The young lady on Reception gave a very warm welcome, the room was very spacious & spotless with a large, flat screen TV, there is a good sized swimming pool, the lounge & bar area are both pleasing & spacious & the Restaurant ambiance gave an Oriental feel. The food both at dinner & at breakfast was very good. We would certainly stay here again despite the bed being rather hard! This seems to be an issue with all Holiday Inns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear ElizabethE

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Absolutely nothing to grumble about with this stay! £50 for the night - we only needed a base as we were on a night out for someone's leaving do from work (taxi home would cost around £50!!!)

Perfect features, everything we needed and a brilliant nights sleep!

Will recommend and use again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Motherowl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that you had a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team who were equally pleased that you had such a good stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in, hopefully, the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - Generl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

stopped at the holiday inn Milton Keynes, in January 13, we booked this before Christmas to allow us to stop over whilst at a concert. Very good hotel excellent 4 star accommodation, our room was spacious, clean and above all warm. The hotel is close to the main shopping center and the Xscape activity center.
We had a few minor problems whilst we stopped, but I do mean minor and the staff sorted this within minutes. I did use some of the leisure facilities and again these were good, warm swimming pool and steam room.
You do pay for car parking on site about £6 and it is probably wise to pre book the buffet breakfast.
There was a party at the hotel on the night we stopped, we were advised of this as there may be some noise. We were on the 3rd floor and we didn't hear it, either in the corridor or the room, so no worries there.
The hotel is built with an inner courtyard, with seating, bar and large TV's, with the restaurant just off this.
Overall a good stay and would use again, for either shopping or theartre

Room Tip: I would recommend our room on the 3rd floor, but think any room here would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rscorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear rscorby,

Thank you for posting a review for the TripAdvisor community.

Overall it was pleasing to read that you had a great stay and would return to the hotel should you need to visit the area again in the future. I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team who were equally pleased.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Firstly, if your considering staying here, pay the upgrade for the executive room. These are the rooms which face inwards (yes, a balcony overlooking the bar inside) odd! The standard rooms are just not very nice, both by looks and smell. The exec room is nice, has a good bathroom, very large bed and lots of floor space. Hit and miss as to whether the mini bar is filled, and dont reply on your requested wake up call. Food is good and so is the service.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade - go executive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear JMD2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I have noted your comments and are disappointed that you feel our standard rooms are not to the high quality you expected this is not something that we receive comments on although I will keep a record of your concerns and review these with the relevant team to discuss any improvements that can be made.

I have also highlighted your comments regarding the mini bar to the relevant department as this is something that should be refilled and checked on a daily basis so will ensure this is done.

Once again thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel int he near future.

Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
2.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Property: Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guests and members, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1's junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing