We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Situated in Saxon Gate West, the Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is central and is situated between Midsummer Place Shopping Centre and The Hub. The hotel is of internal atrium design and is decorated to a high standard. Stayed a few times before at the hotel; this particular stay was for one night in an Executive room.

The room was spacious and well equipped with a large comfortable bed and sofa bed, tea and coffee facilities, safe, plenty of storage space and an extremely large flat screen TV with a huge range of TV and Radio channels. There were complimentary chocolate bars and bottles of still and sparkling water.

We used the bar in the evening which was spacious and very comfortable and very quiet for a Saturday night. I used the pool and also the steam room and the staff were very courteous.

A very enjoyable stay and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 932 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have stayed in several other hotels in the area over the years and always been very happy however know feel that i have missed out as this was the best stay yet! Room excellent staff even better cant wait till my next visit!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Craig M

Thank you for your review and positive comments. it is always a pleasure to read and acknowledge these on behalf of the hotel when the team have been recognised for their efforts and I know they will be thrilled to read your review.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I have returned from a gathering of ex apprentices from the Ministry of Defence from over 50 years ago.

We were very fortunate that our organiser chose the Holiday Inn in Milton Keynes.

The staff in the hotel could not been faulted in the service they gave to us and the facilities of the hotel are excellent for a not very expensive, particularly at the group rate, establishment.

WELL DONE TO ALL CONCERNED

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear nasraf,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the TripAdvisor community.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I have shared your comments with the entire hotel team who were equally pleased to have been recognised in your review for delivering great guest service.

Thanks you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes

Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here being both holiday inn employees using his anniversary voucher for the weekend and we were pleasantly suprised. We knew what to expect service and food wise as the standard is the same everywhere.The hotel is of a very high standard especially the reception/bar area all very modern and clean. We were so happy that we had been given an executive room, it was so big with a seperate living space to the bedroom and the bathroom was lovely so was very happy! Also a little note from the manager of the hotel was a nice touch. Reception were very helpful and really attentive. Only criticism would be the health club, the changing rooms are really big and the pool is lovely but no jacuzzi and the staff didnt seem very intrested that we were there. Overall the hotel is great and is in such a great location, shopping center 1 minute across the road and another entertainment center with shops, cinema, ect another 10 minute walk away. Definately both will come back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review

We are always pleased to welcome one of our Holiday Inn colleagues to the hotel and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you

Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived with no booking and managed to do a deal for two nights including breakfast, receptionist was very pleasant and accomodating. Room was decent size & bed very comfortable, bathroom also well presented. Ate at the hotel reasturant and very quiet & pleasant, food was plentiful and good selection. Would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our second time here and even better than the last. We were promised an upgrade last time after whinging about the Best Price guarantee thing, and sure enough the upgrade was forthcoming even though the manager that promised it has left.

The facilities here don't deserve 5 stars - some of the rooms are a little dated, the pool is showing its age and the plumbing is awful (no cold water!). But the staff are absolutely awesome, they simply cannot do enough to help you which makes up for any faults with the rooms. We had several little gripes - bathroom door wouldn't lock, the room was stuffy and had no window that could open etc - but they were seen to immediately in a friendly and efficient way. When My husband mentioned he had work to do but the room was too hot, he was given the key to a conference room to use.

The bar area and atrium are lovely and breakfast is the usual well-cooked gorgefest. Beds are very comfy and the power showers are marvellous (if you have cold water!). But the real stars are the staff; from the waiting staff, bar staff, receptionists etc to the cleaning and maintenance staff the are invariably smiley and helpful and make staying here a pleasure. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try not to get one of the internal rooms on the east side of the atrium - you can't open a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJANDRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We ran a conference in this hotel on the 28th September 2012. We used their conference facilities as well as staying the night before.

The summary is that they really went out of their way to help and accomodate us. This was a really great experience of how individuals can make the difference between a good review and a bad one. I want to mention a couple of their staff who really excelled and went out of their way to make our meeting and stay even more enjoyable. Firstly Dan, Dan was pleasant, positive and really helpful on the evening. We had a load of equipment to bring into the hotel and set-up, Dan made this really easy by taking us to where the best unloading spot was and even helped us carry some of our kit in, he then sorted some food for us and helped us to make the room up for the next day. The point I wanted to make more than any other is that his attitude was superb! it was such a pleasure to talk to him and he really stood out as a fantastic member of their team, thanks for all your help Dan! it was really appreciated.

Barry (the night manager) also really excelled himself and looked after us through check-in and getting a room sorted for the night. Again, he went out of his way to look after us and he left a great impression which will guarantee a loyal return. Thanks for all your help Barry.

The Hotel itself is great, not the most modern but clean, tidy and well maintained. the only fault I could find is that they don't offer smoking rooms, which I feel is not welcoming for us smokers!

overall a great experience and well worth the visit, as said, I would return again and again.

Thanks to the Holiday Inn Milton Keynes. I wish some other hotels would learn from their great example.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grapesmugglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Grapesmugglers,

Thanks you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

I shared your comments with the entire hotel team who i know were thrilled that they played a part in making your visit so memorable, especially Barry and Dan who received a special mention for delivering a great guest experience.

Thank you and we all look forward to, hopefully, welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes at The Hub
2.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $65 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guests and members, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1's junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing