We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great stay.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for activities at xscape, great shopping & for enjoying the bars, restaurants and clubs. The staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was fabulous and everywhere was really clean. Well done Holday Inn Saxon Gate and all the staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    308
    168
    59
    25
See reviews for
131
251
47
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a friends bday party (being held off site), had a standard double room which was spacious, bright and airy. Fridge in room was dirty, but when reported this was cleaned and they offered us a drink which was nice, made us want to stay in the bar for more drinks!

Special thanks to Lauren and the lady chef at breakfast as although it wasn't on the menu they made us some fried bread, eggs the way we want them and best of all pancakes!! I work in a hotel and I have to say, I don't think any of my team would do that so I was very impressed - well done and thank you!

This is my second time here and it won't be the last!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Buffybabe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have shared your comments with the entire hotel team who were thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, especially Lauren and Nula our breakfast chef were who were acknowledged by our internal recognition scheme.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Best wishes

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited this hotel a number of times in the past but this last stay was excellent. Room was very clean and well presented. The breakfast was one of the better buffet styles that I have experienced, had a fresh made omelete by the chef at the buffet counter and they are now showcasing a local jam producer (Strawberry and vanila was really good).
Staff were efficient and friendly couldn't really ask for much more.
If you find yourselves in Milton Keynes give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Holiday Inn in MK is great. There are three HI properties in the area - this is the best one. It is located near the center of town and several very good restaurants. It is across the street from a large shopping mall and close to other shopping options too. The MK Dons soccer stadium is close by as well. I arrived after an all night flight from the US and they were able to have a room ready for me to checkin early quickly. While I waited they provided me a complimentary breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Mike T,

Than you very much for taking the time to post your review. I and my team and delighted that you had such a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

my wife and I took the opportunity to visit friends in Milton Keynes . i booked into the Saxon gate west Holiday Inn for 2 nights. i only wished we could have stayed longer. Outstanding staff , outstandingly CLEAN Room. The food ? Exceptional Standard and Quality. We certainly WILL use Holiday inns again. The perfect weekend.

Room Tip: holiday Inns often offer "Special " rates. Well worth taking advantage of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Tony1104

Thanks you for your review and it is great when we have such positive feedback. I will share this with the rest of the hotel and I know the entire team will be thrilled that you had such a great experience

We look forward to welcoming you back tot he hotel again soon

Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel was very easy to access, having caught the train it was just a short walk from the station. Very easy to find too, and in a great area with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance.
We arrive 2 hours before we were due to check in, the staff were extremely helpful having our room ready for us early. The room was a nice size and felt very cosy. It did smell of cigarettes and there was ash on the window ledge, someone had been smoking out of the window not long before we arrived. As we were getting ready for a wedding and were pushed for time I didn't go down and say anything to the reception- however I am positive that if I had the staff would have dealt with it immediately.
Apart from what was mentioned previously the room was spotless. I particularly liked the option of the soft or firm pillows! A nice touch!
We came back to the hotel with the wedding party, who were also staying in the hotel. The bar continued serving for several hours. The night manager was rather unfriendly and a little rude when I spoke to reception about a misplaced room card. However it was late and he was concerned about the noise was affecting the other guests. I'm surprised that they keep the bar open if the noise is going to be an issue.
The breakfast was excellent, a great selection of full English items, including black pudding! Also lots of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts and pastries. Very impressive selection of good quality ingredients.
All in all I thought this was a great place to stay, really good value. I have stayed in budget hotels which have cost more than this and found this a much nicer place. Only regret is I didn't time to check out the pool!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWinter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear AmyWinter1

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted that you had a great and I have let the team know this at our meeting this morning.

In relation to the interaction with our night team this will also be shared so they can be aware of the impact they can have on our guests experience and can keep this in mind on future occasions.

Once again thank you and we hope you return to the hotel again soon

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here several times,although not recently.The passage of time does not make this venue or any other in this droll town any easier to find and upon arrival noticed that this hotel and apparently ever other car park charges to visit.Guess this is stimulated by the city fathers or by others unknown and my question to them is, if not in a car how on earth to you visit this gridded array of concrete boxes?One expects to pay for parking in London and proper sized cities,but Milton Keynes is not one of these so I cannot see past a money motivated urge to be unpopular as to the real reason.
The hotel has been up and running for ages now - originally a Crest and very good it was too until those chancers Granada got their hands on it.Now it appeals to a more median market and does it rather well.Spotless and clean in public areas as well as accommodation and gives one the feeling someone cares, usually I find this starts with the manager,so well done.All staff encountered were keen,knew their job and there was strong evidence of training if not great levels of empowerment.No matter a sincere smile goes a long way especially after a long M1 drive.
At last a room with A.C. that really works, good space and a bit more effort with the tea tray would have made it outstanding - but at the price only an old skinflint like me could carp.Dinner was what one would expect in such an establishment and while food of this style is geared to compete with all those other "High St" brands made so popular by cost accountants it only appeals to me as a function rather than a pleasure, admittedly make acceptable by the charming and hardworking staff on duty on our chosen Saturday.
Off before breakfast and the on set of even steeper parking fees and would have vacated the town sooner had the exits all been closed by the folk organising a "bike event' - perhaps the first rumblings of a Milton Keynes Spring and the overthrow of all parking charges!

Room Tip: Smile at the receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Yorkshireluddite,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

Overall I am pleased that your impression of the hotel was positive and thank you for the comments regarding the team which I have shared at my morning meeting.

Regarding the car parking charges this is something that I review regularly. Given our location and the local authority policy on commuting into Central Milton Keynes we do have to levy charges to ensure the facility is maintained and we are able to offer spaces, if limited, to hotel guests.

Thank you once again and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Hotel and Milton Keynes as the city does have a vibrant night life and social activities which my reception team would be more than happy to help you with information on on your next visit.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,103 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
2.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel (soon Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central

Property: Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guests and members, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1's junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing