We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #8 of 35 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clean and tidy. Stayed three nights room cleaned every day. Tea coffee and bottled water refreshed every day.
Shower ok found it difficult to keep the water inside the curtain, perhaps screen would be better?
Ate evening meal two nights, good pub grub, which is exactly what it says on the tin.
Land lady googled and provided map for where we needed to be for business next day, very helpful as were the young waitresses and bar staff.
Lovely views over farmland, lots of birds and wildlife.
Stony Stratford easy to walk into some interesting buildings and shops.

Room Tip: room 3 does not face the pub car park. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekenderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

In Milton Keynes on business so looked for a reasonably priced place to stay which had good reviews on here. The SoM fitted the bill and I took the last room. It is quite a busy pub with rooms in a close-by building. The room was adequate and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and the food good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay at the shoulder, a lovely country pub in a very quiet setting. Excellent food reasonably priced served by friendly staff. Rooms good value and spotlessly clean. Good value thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BogratNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here on a Tuesday night. Booked 2 rooms for myself and a work colleague. Walked in to stoney Stratford and came back approx 9:45 to be told the pub was shut. When questioned the 11pm closure above the door the landlord/manager set about the 'it's my pub....' routine. Would avoid if you like to be talked to with respect..!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Business_12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would recommend this B&B me and my wife stopped here for the F1 weekend . The rooms are cosy and clean. The staff made our stay here really enjoyable ,the pub and restaurant was a welcoming and friendly place to eat and drink. All staff couldn't do enough for us for example they cooked our breakfast to order at the time we asked for it A++++++++++

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We found this pub purely by chance on a recent drive through Bucks and had to stop because we were both thirsty. And I'm glad we did. Clean and tidy inside, looked recently painted.

Friendly staff, smiling landlady and so we were more than to stay seated for a couple more drinks. :)

Plenty of people were eating and we could see that the meals looked delicious. So much so, we've already decided that we will be going back to SOM to sample the home-made food next time!

Room Tip: If it's sunny sit in the back garden. Great countryside views and you may become an attraction f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar_Jenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

we h have been more had not visited this pub since 1997 when we moved to Ireland. today my wife and i took an elderly friend for a lunch time meal, the landday coulds not helpful, she saw our freind had difficulty getting out of the car so she met us in the car park and advised us that there were no table available other than a very low table. a high chair was provided for our friend and a suitable table was found after a short while. our friend throughly enjoyed her steak pie and intends recommend the pub so that she can revisit. the staff were very helpful. the food was tradtional pub food.

Room Tip: we did not stay so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
4.9 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#1 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
400 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
8.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Little Brickhill
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 2 in Sherington
87 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: Calverton, Milton Keynes MK19 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shoulder of Mutton 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2013.Nestled in the picturesque Buckinghamshire countryside, the Shoulder of Mutton prides itself on it’s friendly atmosphere, fine selection of real ales, beers, wines and home cooked pub meals. Whether you’re dropping in for a quick bite, a drink, a relaxing meal, or staying with us for a little longer, you can be sure of a warm friendly welcome from Pauline, Irene, Dave and Paul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoulder Of Mutton Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing