We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Milton Keynes
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
Reviewed October 1, 2006

I booked this hotel as a treat as my friend and I were going to the Robbie Williams concert.

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful but I was dismayed to discover that you have to have a pre-authorisation on your credit card on check-in for extras. This is the first time I have encountered this.

The bar area was very disappointing. My friend and I sat at a table full of empties and cigarette butts - the staff just werent on top of the housekeeping in the bar.

Room service was also a bit of a joke. When I finally got through ordered two beers, chips and ice cream. Took fifty minutes to arrive and the ice cream was melted - I was nodding off by the time it arrived!

These are only small things but I expected more attention to detail in a four star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahappyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    441
    398
    208
    118
See reviews for
272
415
73
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2006

Me and my friend booked this hotel as a little treat, we were going out somewhere special so we decided to top the night off with a nights stay in what is said to be a lovely hotel.
Before arriving at the hotel I called and asked if we could have an early check in which I was told would not be possible as they were busy, but normal check in was at 1500.
We decided not to check in until after our event. We arrived at the hotel 0100 to find that our room was not ready! We were told that our room would be ready in 15 minutes and offered a complimentary drink which took half an hour to come. An hour later we were told that our room was finally ready, we were not told of any breakfast arrangements for the following morning and when we got into our room we discovered that it was a no smoking room.
The following morning we found a piece of paper had been pushed under the door telling us that we owed £136.00 even though I had already paid £110.00 for the room.
When checking out of the hotel I was given no explaination as to why I had been given this extra bill and was just told that it was sorted.
All in all I was dissapointed but more shocked at the service that I received from this hotel, I have stayed in better Holiday Inn's.
Hopefully this sort of service is not a regular thing.

  • Liked — Nice coffee
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milton Keynes hotels

chicago, illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in July during the heat wave.

It brought out all its worst points.

There is no airconditioning. Had to beg to get a fan.

Room was very plain, furniture pretty dirty and uncomfortable.

Internet service did not work in my room and had to get moved to another one causing bad looks and attitude from the staff.

Ate in the dining room and the food was pretty poor.

Checked out early because the place made me so angry at what poor value it was.

I am a diamond member with Hilton and have never had such a low quality experience in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank willfchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Blanca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

Lovely modern hotel with excellent facilities and with very attentive staff. Only drawback was the lack of air conditioning in the bedroom on a very very hot night!

Helpful?
1 Thank BarEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

I was on business in the area last week and stayed at the Hilton in Milton Keynes. First impression was very positive with friendly and joyful member of staff at check in. My room type and requirements initially booked were swiftly delivered.

Working in the lounge is handy with the wireless Internet acess and a Club Sandwich topped it.

Overall I would very much recommend this hotel to both the lonely and business traveller.

Helpful?
2 Thank UncleJersay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.5 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#8 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,306 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
867 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milton Keynes

Property: Hilton Milton Keynes
Address: Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from Luton Airport and the M1, Hilton Milton Keynes is the ideal base – just four miles from the town center and less than three miles from Stadium MK. From our relaxed and comfortable Lounge to keeping fit at our Fitness Room, you’ll find all the amenities and services you need to relax. In Milton Keynes for business? We offer meeting and event space for up to 300 guests. Plus, with inviting guest rooms and suites, you can count on us to provide the comfort you need on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Hilton International Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Hilton
Hilton Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing