We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

In short, great priced hotel especially if on business. The welcome is first class and by far the best in Milton Keynes, even better than the holiday inn central..
Food was ok, but menu lacks any good choice
Bar service lets the place down unless you go find someone..
Overall great stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulvistshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and feedback.

I am glad to read that you feel your welcome to the hotel was "first class" and by far the "best in Milton Keynes".
Our team prides themselves on the customer service they deliver and ensure these levels are maintained.

All feedback is appreciated; especially that we can learn from, such as your comments regarding food and bar service.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 926 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is clean well presented and has all you need for a nights stay at MK. Does not have the niceties of a 4* hotel but is well priced and comfortable. Bed was a bit lumpy, with poor pillows but everything else is acceptable. Oh towels are a bit small!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arigriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and review. I am glad to see that you felt the hotel was comfortable and value for money.
Thank you once again for your feedback; it is always appreciated, especially if it is something we can learn from.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

First impressions are good. The reception team were friendly and the communal area bright and welcoming.

The room too was a decent size, and had a comfortable bed.

The annoyances for me were ; a cold low pressure shower, loud air conditioning, poor quality hot breakfast.

But, It's a budget hotel that saves my company plenty of money, and there are plenty of positives if the location works for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbrown63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I would like to thank you for your feedback in reference to your stay at the hotel and the positive points that you have highlighted such as the rooms, cleanliness and brightness of the hotel and the friendliness of the hotel staff.
I am disappointed to see that your stay with us was disrupted by the air-conditioning and low pressure from your shower. Our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams are continuously trying to ensure that all rooms and facilities are fault free and are to a high standard that our guests expect and deserve.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I always stay at this Holiday Inn Express when I travel to Milton Keynes, or when I have business meetings in London. It's convenient, clean and quiet. The beds are always nice and comfortable, the staff are always pleasant and the location makes it easy to get where you need to go if you are driving. If you don't drive, it's just a short bus or taxi ride to the main train station to get into London (45mins or so?). Even with the price of the ticket, it's still cheaper to stay here than in London and you're pretty much guaranteed a better hotel!

The hotel's breakfast bar is nicely done with lots of choices. They offer plenty of newspapers for people to read, and usually have the news or something current on the tv if you want to relax in the bar with a drink. There's a good restaurant across the parking lot that serves a tasty meal for a good price. Would recommend this hotel for families as well. Lots of space!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agkathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

The whole team always feel really encouraged when they receive positive reviews like this, so I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Milton Keynes.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

normal holiday inn express room ok clean and in good state of repair. Reception was very efficent but cold not warm and welcoming like all the other holiday inns i have stayed at. Next visit to Milton Keynes will try the Holiday Inn just over the motorway as heard good reports about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

I would like to thank you for your feedback in reference to your stay at the hotel and the positive points that you have highlighted such as the rooms, cleanliness of the hotel and the efficiency of the Reception team.
I am disappointed to read you felt your greeting at the hotel was cold and unwelcoming. Our team pride themselves on the customer service we deliver and this is often recognised by guests as can be seen in other guest reviews, I know the team will be disappointed with themselves for letting you down.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As above, I am here for 8 weeks, I was given the choice by work to book any hotel, upto £70 a night in Milton Keynes. I have read through reviews on tripadvisor and found this one looked better than most.
I stayed in a double room, but have opted for a King size next week to see whats different. My room has a good sized TV, 2 power sockets built into a desk, with some kind of modem point, but I dont really understand what this is for? Storage room is minimal but more than enough foe me, there are 6 hangers in an open wardrobe, which is built into a cabinet which has 2 large shelves and theres 3 more under the TV. Tea and Coffee, with what look like either really clean cups and kettles, or brand new. A plus for me is that I drink Decaff coffee and they put one of each in the tray. You get 4 towels, which are a little small, but i'm over 6 foot tall.
The desk in the room is perfectly sized for a laptop but most take their laptops into the lobby because its free wifi in there. I have opted to pay for 7 days wifi, as i'm a bit of a geek, Its a little expensive for me but I used it plenty. (£34ish). The rooms heating comes from air-con but I dont like heating so i just turn it off. The rooms have been very clean and well decorated, with the exception of a bad small ccoming from the drain when you run the water in the sink, think this may be a problem from the weather though? There is a phone in the room, but I didn't touh it. and plenty of reading lights everywhere. The shower is great, and warms up really quickly! The key cards for the doors are abit annoyig and can take several attempts to open.

I have used the bar in the evening and whilst a little expensive have found it to have everything I like and need. The staff have always had a smile on their faces and have been really helpful.There is a pool table and several large TVs which get turned up when the football is on, but this wasn't a problem as the lobby is really big and its nice to see the staff didn't mind people enjoying themselves. I have used local takeouts and supermarkets for dinner, but the bar do 12" pizzas for a tenner. I haven't tried an evening meal as they look expensive for what they are, but the Harvester pub which is right outside do a brilliant steak :)

Breakfast in the morning was great, an absolutley huge selection, Sausage, Scrambelled Egg, Toast, Bread, Tomatos, choice of hot drinks, juice, fruit, cerial, pastery, yoghurt, buns, theres more but I can't remember.

As I said earlier, every single employee has been really polite and friendly and always say good morning if you walk past. They real do make you feel liek they value your custom.

It took me minutes after getting off the M1 to find the hotel the first time, which makes the long drive down here a bit more bearable, knowing I dont have to drive around A roads looking for the place, plus as its in MK, it is on one of the best planned road networks in the country. I love this place, I haven't been stuck in traffic all week! Everywhere is connected with Dual Carraigeways! It seems to be designed around the american style blocks. It works really well!
There is also a great bike route and walk (both off and away from the roads) all arounf MK and behind the hotel is a really amazing large lake.

I have noticed also lots of adventure type things nearby and also stuff for fun days out.

As I will proberly be here for another 6 weeks, I will update this review should anything change, but will definatley recomend people to stay here and would stay here again.

Only thing missing was a pool or gym, but 'm sure the wife won't mind me putting some weight on :)

Room Tip: So far I've stayed in a double room, which also has a fold out sofa bed, but gives you loads of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MQNKEYBQY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write us a review and for giving your feedback on your last 2 stays with us. Our whole team prides themselves on their customer service levels and it is always rewarding to see our guests recognising this.
We hope you continue to enjoy your future stays with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again next week.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel seems tired and uninterested. My room was scruffy and the AC unit was noisy. I turned it off, but every 10 minutes it would roar into life, making a good night's sleep difficult.

The toilet area of the bathroom smelled of urine.

Prices at the bar are ridiculous; £2.80 for a cappuccino?

Disappointed and I won't be staying here on future business trips.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank MarkH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay with us. Our Maintenance team and Housekeeping are continuously trying to ensure that all rooms and facilities are fault free and are to a high standard that our guests expect and deserve.
I am disappointed to learn that you do not intend to return to this property and hope that your time with us has not detoured you from staying with other properties within the group.

Kind regards

John
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
1.4 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes

Address: Eastlake Park Tongwell Street, Milton Keynes MK15 0YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $59 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes hotel, set in a peaceful area one mile from the M1.Our contemporary hotel offers 178 air-conditioned guest rooms with flat-screen TVs and is located close to junction 14 of the M1 & 3.5 miles from Milton Keynes town centre. Feel free to leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and help yourself to hot and continental options at the breakfast buffet (always included in your room package), served daily in Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes' sociable Great Room. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and host training days for 12-65 people in our 8 contemporary meeting rooms. It's just a short stroll from Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes to Fox Milne and Northfield business parks. Hurtle downhill on real snow and test your nerve on the rock-climbing walls at Xscape indoor ski and leisure complex, 3 miles from the hotel. You can catch top international bands at the huge Milton Keynes Bowl and shop till you drop at thecentre:mk. Experience the thrill of race day at Silverstone, 12 miles away.A range of international dishes are on the dinner menu in the inviting great room at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes. Mingle over drinks in our laid-back 24-hour bar with complimentary wireless Internet. Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with a paying adult, making us a good-value choice for families. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing