We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely HIE and fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely HIE and fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed here last weekend on our way up to see a friend further North. Therefore, we didnt really stay long enough to explore outside but felt the experience was 5stars. Checking in, there were 2 others in front of us, but staff were very quick and we were checked in quite quickly. Our room (155) was a bit of a walk but had a nice big entrance and the travel cot was set out as requested.

Breakfast wise there are plenty of tables to eat off.

Noise wise, we heard no noise

Staff; fantastic. I asked if they had soya milk, they didnt but the member of staff did double check with the duty manager in charge (Dorota). Furthermore, we quite liked the dining furniture and Dorota said she'd email us with the suppliers info so we could buy a set for our house. She did this for us.....which made me feel like she did all she could to ensure we had a pleasent experience at the HIE MK.

Book with confidence here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faiza333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that your review was moved accross to our Hotel as we wanted to Thank you for the great feedback about the Hotel and team.

We have passed your thanks and rewarded Dorota personally for your comments and she was extremely happy with your comments.

We hope you choose to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    254
    99
    21
    5
See reviews for
150
200
38
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Having spent time in many hotels for business trips I found the Milton Keynes Holiday Inn Express rather dated and corporate. Although not cheap I would compare this to a budget hotel. The rooms are clean and functional but so are most Travelodges at half the price. The Kingsize bed wasn't that comfortable and the quality of the furnishings were under par for the price of the room. The main disappoinment was the breakfast on the Bed and Breakfast room rate. Very little selection and not very good quality compared to other hotels of the same price range.
Having said that it was an OK hotel with easy access to the motorway for one night, but after 2 nights I was glad to be leaving for a comfortable bed and a good breakfast. The staff are pleasant, helpful and professional which goes a long way. Just my opinion!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifestylePlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for posting constructive comments, the King Sized beds are very new and the firmness of them is not to everyone’s preference. The breakfast we offer is complimentary to all our guests and as a company we are constantly striving to enhance our offerings in this department. Our location and staff are very important to us and I am pleased that excelling in these areas has helped to balance out your stay.

Sam Budgell
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Excellent hotel to stay in. I traveled back in 2007 but I still cherish every moment I stayed in this hotel. Back then the hotel was under renovation, the current reception was on the side where the dining room is now. We would be back from our office (Unisys) which was a stone throw's away and head to Harvesters which is worth a mention. Even at office, we a batch of 8 people, would always long to stay back in the room for its coziness and its location. The staff were always helpful, they would even store our food we bought from Tesco in their refrigerators for it to stay fresh. I really miss HI Express, MK. Never got a chance to write a review. Just happened to come across this site. If I am visiting UK again, I sure will stay here for a day at least.

Room Tip: Look out for rooms facing Harvester because you could be in for a surprise spell of snow during nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharanKariappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I am pleased that even during the challenging times refurbishment brings, we still created a positive and memorable experience for you, Tho we can not take credit for the weather. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your loyalty to our hotel. Let me assure you we are still here and ready to welcome you whenever you are next in town.

Sam Budgell
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stay here while at Head Office in MK. Found this Hotel a great place to stay with all you need.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments, We're glad you like Us, See you Again Soon

Sam Budgell
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Upon arrival the staff were more friendly and helpful than i have experienced in 5* hotels! Check in was easy, the room was clean and beds were confortable. Only down side was we were in a family room which was a little cramped for two adults and two teenagers. It had a double bed and a small double sofa bed it was a little squished but we all slept well and were pleasantly suprised with our complimentary buffet breakfast. To be honest, if i had booked the breakfast i wouldnt have been pleased at all! dried out scrambed eggs, cheap sausages and baked beans, a toaster that burnt everything and a coffee machine that spewed coffee out of the sides, but because it wasnt expected we just thought it was amusing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekycherry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, our team is certainly one of our biggest assets and to be compared to that of a hotel offering 5*s is great. It is important for us to receive feedback, please be assured your comments regarding breakfast have been taken onboard and we value the opportunity to make improvements.

Sam Budgell
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the weekend and I was greeted with a warm smile and courteously addressed. I arrived early and was allowed to check in earlier than originally advised so I was very hapy with this flexibility. We found our room very compfortable and relaxing as was the whole ambience of the hotel. We were offered complementary breakfast, which as one can imagine sat very favourably with us. I would not hesitate staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on you experience with us. It is motivating for the team to hear that their service is appreciated and we are glad that you would choose to stay with us again.

Sam Budgell
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a good showing for HI, with nice, spacious and spotless rooms, a quiet night and good food on site. The Harvester opposite is an excellent place to eat. The only tiny criticism is that the hotel is a little out of town but this always has its advantages. Staff and service was good, and the price was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
The whole team always feel really encouraged when they receive positive reviews like this, so I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

Sam Budgell
Senior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#2 of 35 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South West (Furzton Lake) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 35 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Address: Eastlake Park Tongwell Street, Milton Keynes MK15 0YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes hotel, set in a peaceful area one mile from the M1.Our contemporary hotel offers 178 air-conditioned guest rooms with flat-screen TVs and is located close to junction 14 of the M1 & 3.5 miles from Milton Keynes town centre. Feel free to leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and help yourself to hot and continental options at the complimentary breakfast buffet, served daily in Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes' sociable Great Room. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and host training days for 12-65 people in our 8 contemporary meeting rooms. It's just a short stroll from Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes to Fox Milne and Northfield business parks. Hurtle downhill on real snow and test your nerve on the rock-climbing walls at Xscape indoor ski and leisure complex, 3 miles from the hotel. You can catch top international bands at the huge Milton Keynes Bowl and shop till you drop at thecentre:mk. Experience the thrill of race day at Silverstone, 12 miles away.A range of international dishes are on the dinner menu in the inviting great room at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes. Mingle over drinks in our laid-back 24-hour bar with complimentary wireless Internet. Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with a paying adult, making us a good-value choice for families. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing