We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I booked a standard double well in advance as part of a birthday trip to treat my partner. I called a few days before to upgrade the room but an upgrade was not available because an MK Dons match was on and they were not allowed to let rooms overlooking the stadium, which is fair enough. When we arrived, I was very happy with the size, design and luxuriousness of the room for the price I had paid- it was very good value for money and had eveything you could have wished for.
One slight niggle was the fine layer of dust over the tea and coffee area including the kettle.
The bed was extremely comfortable, and the controllable air-conditioning was a real bonus.
However there was a very major drawback to this lovely room- there was a door which joined it to the room next door which, although locked, let through every tiny sound from its occupant. We could therefore hear carrier bags rustling, phone conversations, bath running, hairdyer going and so on, so as well as being woken up by this guest's alarm at 5.30 am. we were unable to get back to sleep afterwards! A total nightmare.
Additionally, we had ordered a room service breakfast at 8 as a treat the next morning and because we had to get going at 9am. By 8.30 it still hadn't arrived, so we concluded that were we to call reception they would tell us it was on its way and probably hold us up even longer, so we left. I complained about the noise from the next room and about the fact that breakfast had not arrived, and unfortunately the reception staff member did not seem to care less. He reluctantly asked me if I would like the Duty Manager to call me so that I could discuss the matter with him, but I did not receive a call, needless to say.
What a shame! A near perfect hotel, beautifully appointed and conveniently located, which I would love to stay in again- if only their customer service was up to scratch, and they sorted out the design flaws to the adjoining rooms.
I'm not especially snobby about hotels, but the one thing I hate is bad service and noise, so this really irritated me and spoilt what should have been a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not one of 2 adjoining rooms or you'll be kept awake all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teardropgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that our Duty Manager missed the opportunity to discuss your issues on the day, this isn’t normal practice.

I will look into all of the points raised. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback really does matter to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    553
    228
    98
    65
See reviews for
223
636
80
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

we travelled to this hotel on the way home to nowich from lincoln as Norwich were playing MK dons that night. the stadium is part of the ground and is very easy to find. Our check in was smooth and very efficient and our hot cookies were again lovely. My wife had a rest in the room whilst i explored and found the hotel a real treat. they were getting ready for the game but nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were treated like king and queen the whole time. We did not eat at the hotel but the food we saw was superb. we had a few drinks ibn the bar and were lucky to meet the MK Dons Chairman Pete Winkleman who was lovely and could not do enough for us.

After the gane we retired to the bar and then bed as we were tired but had a great nights sleep and left in the morning. We would def go back to this hotle as it is a great addition to the Doubletree family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay.

Best of luck for the season ahead, hopefully you can join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business, the hotel is smart, well looked after and clean. Check in was friendly and welcoming and the room very comfortable. The only thing for me that let the experience down slightly was the poor quality breakfast. Other than that, highly reccomended and would certainly visit again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NotRuthWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us but disappointed to hear that our DoubleTree breakfast didn't quite hit the mark, it would be good to get a little more information from you; if you get a moment can you call me on 01908 3641845.

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just stayed for 1 night in this hotel.
Excellent check-in - speedy and efficient and a lovely touch with the yummy cookie!!
Room was stunning - pitch facing very quiet.
Dined in the restaurant and was served by the lovely polite young man - Simon I think his name was. Very efficient and made our stay very pleasurable
Breakfast was very good too - great choice

Cant wait to return - hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Pitch facing - you will like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emzoz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are really proud of the level of service we offer and to receive great feedback is the icing on the cake.

Glad you enjoyed the warm DoubleTree cookie on arrival and the view!

We hope you come and stay with us again (Hartlepool play here on the 15th December if you have any football fans in the family).

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I booked an advance room with a view. The receptionist was helpful and welcoming, the whole facility was well signposted and clean. There was a cleaner in the reception area talking loudly on her mobile telephone which I thought should be done behind closed doors. Our room 321 was clean and fresh. You couldn't open the french doors onto the stadium which was disappointing but we understood why not. I am sure my husband would like to have streaked on the pitch! The bed was large and the bathroom a great size. Tea & Coffee facilities and a complimentary bottle of still water. Bed comfy and pillows lovely. Can't stand bowl sinks as the overflow looks yukky and the taps are not easy to turn off (to modern to be practical). The Bristan shower was marvellous and plenty of hot water. No noise from other guests but not sure if the hotel was empty or the sound proofing was good. Did not try the food or gym at all. It cost us less than the Jurys Inn or a Travel Lodge so I thought very good value for money.No realy faults except a lack of attention to detail on some of the room fittings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsincredible12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi,

Delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! Like you we think the pitch view really does create a wow factor, even if you are not into fooball (I just wish I could get by grass at home to the same standard!).

Disappointed to hear about our member of staff using a mobile phone (I will look into that) and your comment regarding room fittings but really pleased that you found us to be good value for money .

Finally, the bed and pillows are all down to the DoubleTree by Hilton Sweet Deams Sleep Experience, unique to all DoubleTree by Hiltons!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great room overlooking the pitch (different), unfortunately due to the pitch view you can't open the windows, so no fresh air - but air con is very efficient. Plenty of space in the room, nice large comfortable bed and very good sized bathroom. Cookie on arrival, and good idea to have the Costa coffee machine (not free) in reception. However, don't offer free wi-fi with a upgrade service - that you have to pay for. By virtue of the fact that there is this service it implies that the free wi-fi isn't good enough - which is true the 'free' service is rubbish. Come on - it's 2012, free wi-fi in a hotel chain of this size and calibre should work without having to pay for an upgrade.
Other than that we would return, great location and very quiet.

Room Tip: Room with a pitch view if you can get a good deal - we had Fri and Sat night, £84 total!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbubbles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your review and comments. Our pitch facing rooms do indeed have balcony doors, but these are locked for our guests own health and safety on a non match day, as mentioned our air conditioning provides a comfortable room temperature as an alternative.

Our free WiFi has been designed to offer a strong enough bandwidth for the basic requirements of checking and sending emails. After a lot of feedback from our guests who wanted a stronger bandwidth available, we invested into a better service. So far, the feedback we have received is very positive for those that require it. I appreciate the comments made and will of course bear these in mind when discussing rates annually.

Good to see that our new Costa Coffee machine is making a positive impact and once again our Cookie has had a special mention!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spot on. what can i say. Not the 1st time I have stayed in this Hotel, staff excellent in particular the Breakfast Staff. The bar is always manned, and the food is great, really tasty, and the waiters and waitresses genuinely care that your being looked after. The hotel has the best rooms and showers bar none in Milton keynes, and it really is worth every penny. I stayed here with my company, the only downside with the hot weather is there is no garden or anywhere to sit outside and drink.
All in all if your coming to MK, insist on the Doubletree, nothing else here even comes close. perhaps the You should offer the Nov*tel staff and management a discounted night to show them how its done?! well done DTree, a triumph.

Room Tip: ask for Pitchside!i hate football but even i was impressed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattb3781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiltonKeynes, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi

Great to read you had a fantastic stay with us. Milton Keynes is a very competitive city and we have a number of days that are dominated by the corporate market in the week, so its always positive to read that we have hit the nail on the head with our guests.

We will hopefully over the coming year have somewhere for our guests to sit outside, when the summer weather dares to make an appearance, so watch this space!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
4.0 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#14 of 34 in Milton Keynes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Address: Stadium M K Stadium Way West, Milton Keynes MK1 1ST, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#4 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel and conference venue is built into Stadium MK, home of MK Dons football Club and Arena MK. Modern,tasteful design has been applied throughout to create a relaxing, inspirational venue for work and pleasure.We currently offer 304 bedrooms, 17 conference and event spaces, two public bar areas plus, unique to Milton Keynes - pitchside restaurant which has views out to the stadium. We are also delighted to offer all of our guests complimentary car parking and WiFi. Our friendly yet professional team have been trained to anticipate your needs, it is our pleasure to ensure that your time with us is the best it possibly can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing