We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely hotel, looks as though it has recently been refurbished to a high standard. However, the room was absolutely freezing and took forever to heat up. Need some other form of blind or curtain on the bedroom windows as the room I stayed in looked onto rear carpark so there was no privacy unless the curtains were fully shut and then the room was so dark due to the fabulous blackout curtains. Loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom, no standing on freezing cold tiles. Lovely selection of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Alieen N,

Thank you for your review I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good start to your day with our quality breakfast buffet.

All our bedrooms are air-conditioned which should quickly and efficiently heat the guest room I will investigate why your room took longer to heat during your stay, thank you for reporting this back to us. The under floor heating comes as standard in all our bedrooms which also comes with heat patted mirrors and I was very happy to read that these extras made your stay even more enjoyable.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the curtains I will review this and see what could be done in future.

Again thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit to Milton Keynes,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    262
    112
    48
    11
See reviews for
151
294
22
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here this week on a Business Trip for one night and stayed in room 101.

Room spacious with lovely bathroom and huge shower. Comfy bed.... a little OTT with the amount of cushions on it, but it did look quite good as a first impression.

Free WiFi and great food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you found our free WIFI connectivity excellent, we offer free BT Infinity WIFI throughout the hotel even on our outdoor terrace.

Our restaurant serves fresh seasonal food with different menu choices every night and I highly recommend our special dining experience “Hot Rock” dining where food is served on 450 degree volcanic rocks.

Again thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in September 2013 with my husband. We had a suite overlooking the golf course which was superb! The lady that checked us in was very polite and professional. She asked if we would like wifi access and provided us with individual codes and even took us through to the stairs to show us exactly where to go. The rooms are finished to an extremely high quality and the bathroom was a fantastic huge room with heated mirrors, a brilliant shower, high quality towels and products plus the suite had a Jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious and there was plenty of room with a sofa and coffee table also in the room. There was a good selection of tea and coffee and even a coffee machine with a box of coffees to try. As we were celebrating we had taken a bottle of wine but had forgotten a cork screw so called down to reception and they delivered it within minutes. We dined in the on-site Moltens restaurant and opted for the 2 course dinner which was great value. The staff were very friendly and looked after us well. The food was delicious and presentation was lovely. We went for the steak “hot rock” option and it was a great experience and fantastic being able to cook your steak exactly how you like it. We finished our drinks in the bar area and I would definitely recommend the bar and restaurant – even to those who are not guests at the hotel – has a great relaxed boutique vibe. Breakfast was also great, plenty of choice (we had seconds!) and great service. The best thing for us was not having to rush around in the morning as we did not have to check out until 12pm. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is such great value for money and in my opinion of a much higher standard than others in Milton Keynes. The large free car parking is a huge bonus as this is not readily available at other hotels in the area. Cannot fault a thing and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Rachel M,

Thank you very much for your comments which were truly a pleasure to read and I am most pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Privilege Rooms are all refurbished to the highest standards offering all the luxury extras that you would expect and even unexpected extras such as heated floors and mirrors, when you combine all this with undisturbed views of Abbey Hill golf course it is truly the best rooms in Milton Keynes and beyond.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and found the Hot Rock concept fun and tasty, we offer a new menu daily to keep it fresh and seasonal.

Again thank you for your comments which will be an encouragement to the whole team, we all look forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms a good size, bed was massive, bathroom a little tight and no bath (big thumbs down for me) nice and clean throughout. Reception very helpful, restaurant staff mainly non English but helpful, food portions are small, but quality food.

I ask myself would I stay there again? Possibly would, would try the Hilton Doubletree first though!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Chris J,

Thank you very much for your review it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests especially when they are as constructive as yours.

Half our bedrooms are with bath and the other half are with showers to accommodate all guest preferences and should you wish to change your room type our reception team is always there to help. If you are after a bit more space in your bathroom why not try our Privilege Rooms with large spa baths (2 are with showers) comfy bathrobes, minibar, Nespresso maker and golf course views it is the best rooms in Milton Keynes and upgrades starts from just £20.

Again thank you for your feedback we all look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Milton Keynes,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Light and contemporary reception area,we were met by helpful and friendly staff. The function room had a very warm and welcoming feel,roomy and elegant. The staff had done all the preparation and were there to help before the function started. Throughout the evening they were on hand to assist, nothing was too much trouble. The bar area was well staffed with prompt service, with comfortable sofas and armchairs it was a welcome place to relax. The restaurant looked lovely, colleagues who ate there reported the food was wonderful. I am looking forward to trying it! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Val H,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the function you attended at our hotel. We have recently refurbished all our conference rooms and public areas in the contemporary and classy style that you describe in your review.

Moltens Restaurant and Lounge offers modern European cuisine with a twist and I do recommend that you try one of our signature Hot Rock dishes served on 450 degree hot volcanic rocks giving the meats and vegetables a fresh and delicious taste.

I am confident that your review will be a great encouragement to the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned home after a weekend visiting friends in Milton Keynes having stayed Friday and Saturday B&B at the Mercure Abbey Hill, Milton Keynes. Had left a message on the online booking facility to call me Friday during the day about an 11pm very late check-in Friday evening, but no call so had to call back myself - "nothing to worry about, 11pm would be fine" and they would make up the sofa bed for the little one (3). When we arrived and finally checked in (24 hour no problem), although we were a little tired, and i'm sure the night porter gave excellent directions, we felt the signage to rooms could be improved. Some signs to rooms were just computer print outs stuck on doors, so perhaps others had identified more was needed. As per my earlier telephone call, the sofa bed had been made up for my little one, but sadly it then blocked the wardrobe doors from opening fully but we laughed and made do. Very well presented room decor and facilities, tea/coffee, large TV etc..(made us laugh skipping through channels as seemed to have more porn than normal channels!). A few complimentary bottles of water in the room fridge and the usual sewing kit, shoe shine sponge and shower cap for those that might need them! My daughter liked the shower cap she said it made her look like a chef for some reason, so made us smile. Very quiet night, comfy bed but sadly awoke to cold water only for washing / shave. Perservered and took a shower which was hot but the soakaway was blocked so ended up having a shower / shallow bath combo (i should add that the bath although usual shape, not corner type, is (almost) a jacuzzi type - just more water required on the jets. I got dressed and went to ask for help (when I remembered my route to reception without the signage). Reception were great and couldn't do enough, they said if they couldn't fix the issue they would move us to another room - which was kind of my minimum expectation though tbh! A very nice lady came to the room, and apologised to my wife (still in bed) for the inconvenience. She said the hot water had been turned on now and would take a look at the bath. She proceeded to leaning over into the bath but forgot she had her mobile phone in her top pocket, poor love, and and it dropped into my bath (shower) water! She sorted the problem soon enough, and it gave us something to talk about for 5 mins as she left to dry her phone handset as we went for Breakfast.

Buffet style breakfast all you can think of and as much as you want - chef on hand to cook other specialities to order, or just a fried egg if you so preferred! So perfect 10/10 from us.

Didn't really see much else of the hotel, but then again I don't think there was anything else. The outside area with plastic weave furniture looked nice too and I imagine in summer time would be nice with the cushions on.

So in summary Mercure Abbey Hill...not quite excellent, but very good (and a lot higher than an average rating which would be unfair). (1) If you ask for guest instructions pre-booking read and act on them, (2) Please turn on in the hot water, even if only limited guests are in that remote part of the hotel, and (3) check bath plug operation as part of daily housekeeping ;-D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear TRZR,

Thank you very much for your review which was both very constructive and informative and gave us all a good insight into your recent stay with us.

I was very happy to read that you did have a good overall stay with us but must apologise for the small issues you experienced as well. I have shared your comments with the entire team and it has been very helpful to all of us.

We are in the final stage of an extensive refurbishment and some hallways and public areas have been effected causing us to create detours for guests getting to some of the bedrooms in the west wing of the hotel, please accept my sincere apology for these issues and I can assure you that the refurbishment will be finalised very shortly and all access routes to bedrooms will be back in good working order.

The cold water issues you reported have been investigated and rectified please accept our apologies and we can assure you that this will not be an issue in future.

I was very pleased to read your comments regarding your breakfast as we do pride ourselves of our restaurant and the quality of food that we serve, I have shared your comments with the chef and restaurant team who were very encouraged by your comments,

Again thank you for your feedback it has been most helpful in helping us to make guests stay with even better and we are all looking forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We picked this hotel following a recent stay in a double-tree by Hilton. We were looking for hotels with a similar level of price and luxury/appointment, and this seemed to be one of those. Our overall experience was a bit of a mixed bad though.

The receptionist on arrival, though polite and just about pleasant, seemed disinterested in our arrival and gave us the minimum of effort and information. I have come to expect a more jovial welcome from a hotel. I cannot fault this too much though...at no time was she unpleasant to us.

Our room was lovely, fantastic bed, nice telly and nice double shower etc, though disappointed to see the bedside lamps appeared not to work, and if they did, they were not easy to work out. I am also not a fan of the card in the door socket for the lights bit, it makes it awkward if one of the party wants to go to the car a few times to bring things in and the other has to keep getting up to let them in.

We went down for the meal. our leek and potato soup seemed more like hot water with green food colouring. After attempting to stomach it we decided to send it back. To his credit, our server was very apologetic, sorted it out for us, and he was actually a great asset to you. Not sure who he was, but if you can see who was the waiter on Saturday around 7, please pass on our congratulations on a great job. The rest of the meal was great, let down only by the fact that the fumes from the volcanic cooking our neighbours ordered is very overpowering,,,and as the placement of the tables is bordering on cramped it was a little much,

Our sleep was very good, great blackout curtains and no noise until 8.30 which is to be expected. At checkout though I had a complaint to make. There was a bizarre error with out bill where despite paying £16 each at time of booking for our meal, the receipt showed it as £13 paid. This resulted in an incorrect balance. We tried explaining this to the receptionist, but her attitude was poor. My explanation was very basic, made sense, but she kept coming back to me with some statement about the meal price being okay, which only served to highlight my point, and she still couldn't see it. Her manner was condescending and impatient throughout. Luckily the manager had been listening whilst working around the corner, had looked into the bill, and was unable to correct it for us. His explanation about how the system worked seemed odd to me, but at the end of the day he corrected it and I was grateful for his help with this.

As a further point, should they not put this themselves...another gentleman needed to complain after us, when he said to the lady (and he was not impolite, merely giving her a heads up to the annoyance to come) 'I need to complain', her response of 'What's the complaint?' was short, sharp and annoyed. I think the correct response is 'I'm sorry to hear that Sir, how can I help?'.His complaint was more disturbing though...somehow a pair of drunk guests had been given a key card for his room, and entered the room, where he was sleeping with his pregnant wife and child, at 1am. Her explanation had more a feeling of an excuse than anything else, and she was unapologetic. Nor did she even begin to offer any recompense, and it was clear she was hoping he would walk without any further fuss. VERY POOR. As I made my complaint and he made his, it was clear from the rolling eyes around the reception that no-one thought much of her service. It might also be prudent to teach her to speak proper English. 'They was there wasn't they?', and 'nuffink', and not words I've ever heard in a well-turned out hotel. It also doesn't add much credibility to her case when she argues with customers.

So on the whole, there were peaks and troughs. Sadly the latter experience left a bad taste in our mouths and we didn't really feel like we got the best value from our stay. This can be easily fixed though by retraining or re-appointment, and by checking the soup!

Room Tip: No tips needed, it seems all rooms are probably very good, though beware king beds are very high
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mads N, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rob W,

Thank you very much for your comments which I read with great interest as it gave us great constructive feedback relating to all aspects of the hotel.

I was very disappointed to read about your experience during check out as we strive to give all our guests a pleasant stay, however if issues do occur we also strive to solve them quickly and efficiently which I can see was not the case during your check out.

Please accept my sincere apology and rest assured that I have taken steps to ensure that this will not happen again, all our staff members are trained to deal with all situations that might arise during guest stays and we always have a manager on duty to assist guests with any issues they might have during their time with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your bedroom and did have a pleasant sleep while staying with us. Your feedback regarding the restaurant has been shared with the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager who found it most useful,

Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as this helps us improve our service,

I do hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future as we would like to give you a truly hassle free stay,

Kind Regards,
Mads Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
3.8 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.7 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#8 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,306 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#15 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill

Property: Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Address: Two Mile Ash The Approach, Monks Way, Milton Keynes MK8 8LY, England (Formerly Abbey Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at the Mercure Milton Keynes Hotel. Located close to Central Milton Keynes Train Station within easy access to the A5 and Luton airport via the M1. This stunning hotel provides a tranquil setting for wedding, meetings or events and has 92 newly refurbished bedrooms with a modern and contemporary design, each with free WIFI. The bar and restaurant offer fresh and varied meals, making us the ideal stop for guests enjoying Woburn Safari, the Shopping at Centre MK or Silverstone Racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing