We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Not knowing MIlton Keynes at all,trawled the net and chose the Abbey hill because of its newness. I know from past experiences how difficult it can be offering good service while building work is still going on(having stayed previously in other chain hotels undergoing refurbs ) the staff I was in contact at the abbey hill were all very friendly and helpful especially when giving advice on Milton Keynes. My room was well decorated and warm and breakfast was excellent on my day of departure, should I need to return to MK again this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomi1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon K, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor community, naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we appear to have met your expectations.

It is especially pleasing to see that you scored your stay highly across all aspects of your stay with us; your comments will prove useful in motivating the team to aim for even higher levels of guest service.

We certainly hope to have the opporttunity of welcoming you on a return visit should you have reason to return to Milton Keynes, it is nice to think that you would make us your first choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 937 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arrived for a mid week conference in Milton Keynes, the hotel in under refurbishment. All the staff are very helpfull, free wifi is available but although worked in teh room couldn't get it to work in the lobby.

Intially given room number 160 which was not only cold (the staff turn the heating off in the rooms not occupied) and the room smelt of smoke. The reception was happy to offer me an alternative room and I moved into room 156 which was a massive improvement. Although the decor was similar the room was 25% bigger (and was warm and didn't smell of smoke)

The room in neutral colours was 4* standard - has large wall mounted flat screen tv with the majority of the free view channels, large bed, sofa and the bathroom was large and recently refurbed.

The evening menu is the same every night (having spent three nights here, it was getting a little repetitive with a total of 4 choices on the menu)

Lots of business travellers here, (lonely blokes sitting on their own having dinner reading their iPads / books)

Although the room was 4* the restaurant was basic despite the best efforts of the front of house restaurant team to please.

However the hotel was good value considering the price included breakfast & dinner. If I was unlucky enough to have to visit Milton Keynes again on buisness I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilidelphiaStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon K, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, the thoughtful and detailed comments are very useful to us. It is pleasing to see that you found the hotel team members encountered to be helpful and that you scored the hotel highly in all aspects of your stay.

I am sorry that your initial room smelled of smoke, clearly is unlawful to smoke in any of our guest rooms but this does not stop some guests from still doing so despite our very best efforts. This happens rarely but rooms are fully refreshed prior to re-occupation so there should only have been the faintest odour if at all.

We are making improvements to the food service aspect of the hotel at present with a complete new menu and dining concept due to launch imminently, in fact the menu ghas already expanded since your visit - I am confident that these changes will reflect positively in your future experiences should you choose to stay again.

One thing that was very good to read was your review of the bedroom product, we have tried to create a very high standard of 4 star accommodation and so far the reviews have been excellent.

We do hope that you will stay with us again when next you have business in Milton Keynes, we would welcome the opportunity to look after your accommodation needs in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW15123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon K, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotels in Milton Keynes are generally overpriced and not that great. This is a welcome new addition to the Mercure brand having previously been an inde. It's well located, but away from the town centre and unless you want to drive you are stuck with the facilities on site. The rooms have just been refurbished (you could smell the paint!) and are generally very good. The bathrooms have underfloor heating and a slightly heated mirror (just a square in the middle for some reason), but lighting in the bathroom is very poor. Bar and restaurant are rather cold and miserable - there was snow outside the huge windows which didn't help, I guess. Maybe OK in summer? For reasons beyond me they have chosen to go for a menu based around a 'hot brick' - most things you order come on a dish with this hot brick. So you start with a rare steak which becomes well-done by the time you finish since there is nowhere to move it away from the heat. More gimmick than gourmet. The restaurant didn't have any salad dressing - I asked them to mix some oil, vinegar and mustard but this was a disaster. I'm not sure how the French bosses of Accor would react to one of their houses unable to make basic French dressing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManInSeat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon K, General Manager at Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your views with us, I am very pleased to note that you feel the hotel is a welcome new addition to the Mercure brand. The hotel is in the latter stages of a total refurbishment and renovation program which has lifted all facilities to a 4 star standard, the majority of the works are now only concentrating on unused bedroom corridors away from guest areas in use.

The beautifully redesigned and refurbished restaurant and bar areas have been recently finished and improvements are being made to the quality of food offering and service standards to bring this in line with the high standard of the facilities.

We currently just 2 items in the volcanic rock cooking style which has proved to be of interest and very popular with many diners; steaks can be moved from the direct heat if a rare state is preferred and guests chat and interact while their food cooks in front of them creating wonderful aromas and tastes. As there are no oils used, the meat is seared with all flavours intact and a truly flavoursome and healthy meal is served. I can only apologize that there was no dressing available at the time and was prepared freshly, a standard item that is usually on hand ready prepared.

It is good to see that despite these minor issues you still appear to have generally enjoyed your stay with us scoring the guest rooms, cleanliness and sleep quality highly.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon and will notice improvements as we gradually move all standards upwards to give even higher levels of guest comfort and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank noah71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank vhennique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.8 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,434 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill

Address: Two Mile Ash The Approach, Monks Way, Milton Keynes MK8 8LY, England (Formerly Abbey Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $66 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at the Mercure Milton Keynes Hotel. Located close to Central Milton Keynes Train Station within easy access to the A5 and Luton airport via the M1. This stunning hotel provides a tranquil setting for wedding, meetings or events and has 92 newly refurbished bedrooms with a modern and contemporary design, each with free WIFI. The bar and restaurant offer fresh and varied meals, making us the ideal stop for guests enjoying Woburn Safari, the Shopping at Centre MK or Silverstone Racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing