We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food in town!”
Review of Taipan

Taipan
Ranked #36 of 630 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Taipan is a Chinese restaurant based in the heart of Milton Keynes' Theatre district. Our food combines high quality and fresh ingredients to create a very modern take on traditional Chinese dishes. And because we are independent, we can craft new dishes and create bespoke meals to cater for individual tastes.Our chefs have worked in some of the most high profile restaurants in East Asia including the 5 star Shanghai Hilton and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (Formally the Royal Jockey Club). Because of their experience, we are able to offer a wide selection of dishes of the highest quality dishes, with Seafood and Dim Sum being some of our most established and popular dishes. At Taipan, we don't do anything by half measures. Our ingredients are hand-picked by our chefs from the highest quality sources - even our seafood menu has more dishes than most specialist seafood restaurants. The quality of our food is supplemented by our drinks menu, which includes a variety of some of the finest wines and champagnes from around the world. We'll help you decide what drinks best complement your food, to ensure that not a single taste is wasted. If you would like to know more about what goes in our food, please get in touch via our contacts page or Twitter feed and we'll be more than happy to chat.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

We have tried many thai restaurants in MK but there is no place like here. Food is really nice!! Dumplings and dim-some are the best! Beef dish with ginger and honey is one of the best and lobster is great too! It's quite an expensive restaurant but what you get is what you pay for! Therefore no complaints!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 413 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

We went to have a meal here with the family after going to Gulliver's Land. In general, it is a great place to eat Chinese food. The Dim Sum is excellent, the service is extremely efficient. There are many foods on the menu which are traditional Chinese and taste excellent. For example, the steamed sea bass and the beef steak hot plate.

So why not 5 stars? Well, lots of small things really. The main thing that I wasn't happy with is that we ordered a 2 roast of char sui and roast duck - the duck was in a jumbled heap and most of the pieces were high on bone and low on meat. Most places cut a quarter or half etc, so you know you get some meaty bits with the bony bits.

We came as a party of 5 and there was a table to 4 and table for 2 (on a Sunday night) and rather than join them up, they just put an additional chair on one end - very inconvenient when having a Chinese meal where I, sitting there, can't reach the other end of the table. And this is a Sunday night when a good number of tables were empty.

After that, I would say that portion sizes are a tad on the small size.

The Chicken and Sweetcorn soup is a common item ordered (ordering it only for young children in Chinese families). Whilst most dishes are extremely well seasoned, the soup was very salty - even by adult standards (and adults that have lost their taste buds). And they know that its usually ordered for children. Why make it so salty?

The food is good, possibly the best in Milton Keynes, but whilst most dishes are great, they're at that 8/10 mark as opposed to 10/10.

So overall, its a great place to go, but I felt our experience was just hampered by lots of small bumps and whilst we like the food, there isn't any dish that feels it has the 'wow' factor.

But yes, a great place to go.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ShaoChan_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tai p, Manager at Taipan, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for writing a review on us. After reading it we realise we do not deserve the rating you have awarded us. Around the time of your meal the bigger tables were occupied and the one in the middle is in fact regularly used to sit SIX adults. We can assure you it was not a matter for convenience sake. As for the chicken and sweet corn soup if you had brought that to our attention we would be most happy and duty bound to prepare another one that suits your taste.

Also a quarter roast duck always create the thinking that the other quarter is the better portion. May be you would order half a roast duck in your next visit. Again we thank you for choosing to dine at Taipan and glad to note you enjoyed most of the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Have come here a few times over the years and always served good food , on this visit I went more adventurous than the lunch set menu and tried 4 dishes off the Dim sum menu , superbly cooked and presented , not your usual Chinese fast food , highly recommend .

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank rich069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited the Taipan yesterday evening for a company dinner. The service is absolutely top class, the atmosphere is very enjoyable. Most importantly, the food is absolutely incredible, some of the best Chinese food I’ve ever eaten! I’d definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ajb1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Went before a show - enticed by the thought of DimSum and some drinks prior. Unfortunately they had none! Although otherwise a lovely meal we were a tad disappointed.
Still would likely go back :-)

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tai p, General Manager at Taipan, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

DIM SUM FOR DINNER.
Thanks for coming into Taipan for a pre-theatre treat and labelling us as good food and atmosphere. Dim Sum is the traditional lunch dishes in southern China, yet we have a few selection specially designed for dinner like our din sum platter, our spicy deep fried prawn dumpling and our vegetarian dumpling.
In fact a lot of our starters are dim sum in disguise. Do ask for recommendations from our manager Bryan in your next visit. Just like no sandwich in the dinner menu in most restaurants, don't expect a wide variety of dim sum at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipan also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Taipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing