We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, lousy service”
Review of Taipan

Taipan
Ranked #34 of 536 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taipan is a Chinese restaurant based in the heart of Milton Keynes' Theatre district. Our food combines high quality and fresh ingredients to create a very modern take on traditional Chinese dishes. And because we are independent, we can craft new dishes and create bespoke meals to cater for individual tastes.Our chefs have worked in some of the most high profile restaurants in East Asia including the 5 star Shanghai Hilton and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (Formally the Royal Jockey Club). Because of their experience, we are able to offer a wide selection of dishes of the highest quality dishes, with Seafood and Dim Sum being some of our most established and popular dishes. At Taipan, we don't do anything by half measures. Our ingredients are hand-picked by our chefs from the highest quality sources - even our seafood menu has more dishes than most specialist seafood restaurants. The quality of our food is supplemented by our drinks menu, which includes a variety of some of the finest wines and champagnes from around the world. We'll help you decide what drinks best complement your food, to ensure that not a single taste is wasted. If you would like to know more about what goes in our food, please get in touch via our contacts page or Twitter feed and we'll be more than happy to chat.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed the food when it eventually came, but the service was dreadful. Usually at a restaurant you can just forgive and forget casual rudeness and put it down to people being busy, but these people were ignorant, forgetful and disorganised. I won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    84
    30
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Handily placed for the MK theatre the pre-theatre 2 course menu is good value for money and served quickly as I had little time to eat. There was a good atmosphere and the food was of good quality and the portion were generous. The loos were clean too always a good sign!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxtrotFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Top food, but high prices”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

On the few occasions when we have been able to afford to dine at The Taipan, we have thoroughly enjoyed the Chinese food, but have found the prices far too high for us to consider eating there more than about once a year. It comes to something when a group of friends sit and, instead of engaging in conversation, try to calculate how much each mouthful (of, say, an abalone) has cost. The menu is very attractive, with unusual dishes seldom found in the run-of-the-mill Chinese restaurant, but I fear that we shall be sampling few of them. Service was adequate until the staff discovered that one of us spoke Mandarin, whereupon it became very friendly, but perhaps too attentive.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dim sum - best lunch in MK”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been going to Taipan for a good few years now the quality of the food and service has been consistently good.

Great dim sum at lunchtime on Saturday and Sunday and worth getting there early to avoid the queues that can form from about 1pm. If you do have to wait, they have some small sofas and it's worth if for the dim sum!

Very kid friendly, our 5 year old daughter specifically requests that we go there now! We have also been in the evening and the food and service were great then too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrowRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT EAT HERE!!!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had booked a table to eat here only to discover they serve the cruel SHARK FIN SOUP! For those not aware of this disgusting practise, it involves sharks (often endangered) being hauled out of the sea to have all their fins cut off for the soup before being thrown back in alive. They eventually die of starvation as they obviously can't hunt as well, if at all.

Was very dissapointed as I have been to china and it's my favourite cuisine. I informed the waiter that we were leaving because they serve shark fin soup, please do the same then maybe they will stop serving it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Blobeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipan also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Taipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing