We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Taipan

Taipan
Ranked #48 of 537 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Taipan is a Chinese restaurant based in the heart of Milton Keynes' Theatre district. Our food combines high quality and fresh ingredients to create a very modern take on traditional Chinese dishes. And because we are independent, we can craft new dishes and create bespoke meals to cater for individual tastes.Our chefs have worked in some of the most high profile restaurants in East Asia including the 5 star Shanghai Hilton and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (Formally the Royal Jockey Club). Because of their experience, we are able to offer a wide selection of dishes of the highest quality dishes, with Seafood and Dim Sum being some of our most established and popular dishes. At Taipan, we don't do anything by half measures. Our ingredients are hand-picked by our chefs from the highest quality sources - even our seafood menu has more dishes than most specialist seafood restaurants. The quality of our food is supplemented by our drinks menu, which includes a variety of some of the finest wines and champagnes from around the world. We'll help you decide what drinks best complement your food, to ensure that not a single taste is wasted. If you would like to know more about what goes in our food, please get in touch via our contacts page or Twitter feed and we'll be more than happy to chat.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent food and very fast service too. A nice little restaurant which offers pre theatre dinner deals too ! Great

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    88
    30
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice food, a little too fast!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really nice Chinese food, we had a range of well known dishes to share, including Crispy Chilli Beef, Aromatic Duck, Singapore Noodles, Pak Choi in Oyster sauce etc. We had the perfect amount for our occasion, after the theatre and before a night out. I would recommend for this purpose. Not much choice for desserts, so went to TGI Friday opposite for dessert. Great price too, including wine we only spent £13 per person. Only downfall was that it was all served so fast. We were in and out within the hour. other than that great Chinese in MK!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Food89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in MK”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is by far the best chinese in MK for a sit down a la carte meal...for a Chinese buffet go to the Zen Garden though.
The food is of an excellent quality and the price is fair. The staff are professional and very welcoming. This is the best restaurant in the Theatre District.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugbrooke Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxed evening with good food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was taken to this restaurant b a friend who has been there man times and I was really impressed. I was spoilt for choice but we chose a set menu with a couple of extra dishes. Well to say we were full at the end is an understatement as there was so much food we could not finish it all. The taste of the food was delicious and i will definitely return. The staff were very attentive and were willing to explain what some of the dishes were. If you like chinese food this is the restaurant to go to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keyes
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday party for 18 people”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Being a big party we asked the waiter to bring a selection of food. We had a wonderful selection of starters followed by a yummy selection of main dishes. All cooked to perfection and so much we couldn't finish it all. Cost was £20 per head and included wine/beer plus some hot beverage after. Only one in the party had room for pud.
Can't wait for an excuse to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simps0nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipan also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Taipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing