We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Lodge - a hidden gem”
Review of South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bedford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“South Lodge - a hidden gem”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Date of stay 4th April 2014
A hidden gem, we have driven past so many times and didn't even realise it was there, we almost don't wan't anyone else to know about it.
Excellent location for MK, Paris House, Woburn, The Stables, The Bowl or just chilling out.
Absolutely nothing like a B&B, rooms are contemporary and enormous.
Fabulous accommodation, a great deal of thought has obviously gone into the decor, design & facilities, plus it was spotless throughout. Extremely friendly hosts, Julia & Colin, with a fulfilling breakfast to end the stay, so nice to get decent coffee.
We would definitely recommend this property to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your review, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
155
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

South Lodge is a wonderful oasis just outside Milton Keynes. The location, so close to MK and Woburn Sands is, for me, just perfect. The rooms (and I've stayed in different rooms on different occasions) are lovely with beautiful views of the gardens. Julia really goes beyond anything you might expect of a B&B, whether it's an evening meal to order, a quiet tea and biscuits in the general sitting area or a snack in your room. The breakfasts are, in my opinion, the best I've ever eaten in a hotel. Truly a lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a superb bed and breakfast. We stayed in room 3 which is enormous and very modern. Not only was there a very large bed but also a good sized table and chairs, a lovely big comfy sofa, two armchairs and a wide-screen TV and also a small kitchen area with a sink, microwave and fridge. Hot drink making facilities were provided along with fresh milk, orange juice, bottles of water and biscuits. Our breakfast was served in our room but we could have eaten in the dining room if we had wished. The food was delicious and beautifully cooked. The en-suite bathroom was amazing with a fabulous walk-in shower as well as a huge bath. Our room had sliding doors which opened onto a paved area outside with tables and chairs where it would be lovely to eat breakfast if you are there in the summer. The room also had another separate entrance out on to the car park where we were able to park our car right by the door to our room. The gardens are large and beautifully landscaped with two ponds and many interesting areas to walk around in. The owners are very helpful and friendly and the whole place is beautifully presented and full of really interesting art including sculptures in the garden. We thoroughly recommend this B & B
We stayed at South Lodge as we had come to the area to see our son perform at the Stables Theatre which is just a few minutes up the road. This is a really lovely theatre with an extensive and varied programme. Well worth a visit and it makes a lovely weekend away to visit the theatre and stay at South Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully presented, very modern and comfortable but if you want a huge room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review - your words are so descriptive I feel I couldn't have put it better myself!

Hope to see you again some time,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I found this after a search as my usual accommodation wasn't available, what a revelation, ultra modern, clean, quiet location, really friendly owners. Breakfast menu is extensive and all expertly cooked using local produce, top up for the day and skip lunch! This is now my preferred accommodation when I need to be in the area. Looking forward to sitting out in the gardens in the summer - if it ever arrives!

Wavenden Arms pub just a few minutes walk away provides excellent meals and atmosphere if you want to eat out.

Room Tip: The standard of all rooms is equally of a really high standard, I really don't think you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cycleman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for writing a review for us, and we look forward to seeing you again. We're putting the garden chairs and tables out today, though perhaps more in hope that in expectation!

Thanks again,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay at South Lodge... which is situated in a quiet lane of Wavendon village... almost impossible to believe that this 'rural' setting is actually just minutes away from all the shops you'll ever want to visit, & plenty of good restaurants too! Perfect location for us!

Our room (4) was great - Very contemporary, and squeaky clean throughout! The bed was divine, with a memory foam mattress, and with quality bedding -down pillows and quilt - we had a very good & cosy nights sleep!

Having our own mini kitchen was a bonus. We were provided with plenty of filter coffee, quality teas & the home made cookies were delicious! There was even milk, water & capri sun juice in the fridge... so much nicer than the awful 'plastic' UHT milk provided by most chain hotels!!

The attention to detail throughout is amazing... and extends to the outside of the property too!

Room 4 has its own private patio, overlooking the gardens. Even the iron work fences were quirky... fabulous place!!

I just LOVED the bathroom floor tiles... really pretty sparkly shades... the bathroom was beautiful!
Julia & Colin were very helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We truly enjoyed our stay here.

If you want peaceful, village surroundings, yet also want to be within easy reach of every type of imaginable shop, you have found the perfect place in South Lodge. Can't wait to go back :)

The only one thing that I can think of that could possibly make this already perfect place better is... a hot tub for guests!! (being cheeky now!!).

Tips for other travellers:
Just up the road is Woburn Sands, with several restaurants. We enjoyed a visit to the Woburn Fort Restaurant (Indian), which was both authentic & delicious. It's quite a small restaurant, and the staff are really nice. (We chose the Woburn Fort over the other Indian restaurant, as their menu was more extensive, & the reviews were excellent).

Room Tip: Room 4 was fantastic... but take a look on their website to choose... the other 3 rooms look fabulou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingMooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely facilities, the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, beautiful decor. Really liked the small details such as plenty of bottled water in our fridge and real milk, as well as a cafetiere in our room. Just the right amount of friendliness and giving us space.
Very easy to find from M1J14, not so easy to find from M1J13. But the Satnav found the road no problem. Lots of useful information about access on the website (better than any hotel I've come across) and when I rang up to discuss disability access, I had the kind of flexible response that I hope for but rarely get.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely (we had a look round the other 2 rooms). Room 3 has a microwave and sink if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we certainly hope to see you again!

We have a strong belief that disabled facilities don't have to be merely functional, as they so often are. We also charge only single rate for a room for disabled person and carer, to try to ensure the complete experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Being disabled t6 para and in a wheel chair is always a issue but the people couldn't make you feel more welcome or comfortable I stayed in room three, fantastic food and so so welcoming much better than any hotel in the U.K. I have stayed in so far !! Well done keep up this amazing standard it is brilliant, will certainly be using this place when I have to come to mk again !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,276 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.4 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge

Property: South Lodge
Address: Cross End | Wavendon, Milton Keynes MK17 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever a house had the ‘Wow!’ factor, this is it. Stunning contemporary design and decor plus fanatical attention to every luxurious detail combine to promise an unforgettable experience. Comfort and practicality are not overlooked either; all the rooms are furnished with king size beds, walk-in showers and widescreen TVs. Each is light, airy and spacious. The biscuits or muffins in your room are home cooked as is the extensive and delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Milton Keynes
South Lodge Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing