We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frankly lovely - and good access for disabled people”
Review of South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely facilities, the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, beautiful decor. Really liked the small details such as plenty of bottled water in our fridge and real milk, as well as a cafetiere in our room. Just the right amount of friendliness and giving us space.
Very easy to find from M1J14, not so easy to find from M1J13. But the Satnav found the road no problem. Lots of useful information about access on the website (better than any hotel I've come across) and when I rang up to discuss disability access, I had the kind of flexible response that I hope for but rarely get.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely (we had a look round the other 2 rooms). Room 3 has a microwave and sink if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we certainly hope to see you again!

We have a strong belief that disabled facilities don't have to be merely functional, as they so often are. We also charge only single rate for a room for disabled person and carer, to try to ensure the complete experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 318 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Being disabled t6 para and in a wheel chair is always a issue but the people couldn't make you feel more welcome or comfortable I stayed in room three, fantastic food and so so welcoming much better than any hotel in the U.K. I have stayed in so far !! Well done keep up this amazing standard it is brilliant, will certainly be using this place when I have to come to mk again !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you want a little bit of luxury and design then this is the place for you. I always struggled to get hotels in Milton Keynes near our offices until I spotted this little gem. This is not your normal B&B. Far from it in fact, the rooms are fantastic, beautifully designed, parking is safe and plentiful and the breakfast is far and away the best I've had for a while, had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs last time which was delicious. The variety of home made jam is also a very nice touch along with the biscuits.

Julia and Colin are very accommodating hosts, very friendly and on occasions when I have arrived late there has been no issue, just a nice welcome.

Would recommend to anyone for a luxury short break or a longer stay rather than booking into one of the chains nearby. No comparison. The description of South Lodge is spot on, definitely boutique and definitely 5*!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Guests who come back again are so important to us!

Best wishes,

Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a truly delightful 5 star B&B. Mine hosts are Julia and Colin, both very friendly and helpful. Each room ( we asked to look at the others) are modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped and very comfortable. Very good tea and coffee making facilities in each room ( including a cafetiere ) and home made biscuits each day. Excellent choice of breakfast, including delicious home made Seville orange and ginger marmalade and home made bread. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Tips for other travellers We stayed for two nights and on the second night went to the Swan restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Service with a smile, welcoming and friendly, nothing is a problem attitude, lovely place to stay. It has a modern but homely feel with access to local attractions and main roads such as the A421 and M1 motorway close by, so getting to the slightly further afield locations such as Milton Keynes is a doddle. Well worth a look into for a couples night or two away.
Tips for other travellers
Highly recommend the flying fox, but this is about a 15 minute drive from South Lodge. Although you will be provided with restaurant information in a booklet along with many local attractions by the owners.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank timetoreveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for placing such a great review! It's always important that our guests have a great time, but of course Valentine's Day is extra special!

We hope to see you again sometime,

Julia and colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

From a last minute panick for valentines day, we were extremely pleased with South Lodge! We needed clues location as we had to work the next day and South Lodge was perfect! We were only 20 minutes from home, but South Lodge felt like a million miles away, thanks to its unique property!
Our room was very stylish and modern, with great decor and technological features for ease and comfort. We had a platter for two brought to our room which was delicious and a fantastic change to going out for dinner! The staff were wonderful, very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a delicious cooked breakfast in the morning in the main house which was beautifully adorned with art. The grounds are decorated with sculptures and makes for an interesting scene.
I would highly recommend staying at South Lodge, we will hopefully be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devongirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for about 8 weeks (2-3 nights each week) before Xmas. Julia and Colin looked after me and it became an oasis of calm after work each day. I think I managed to stay in all of the rooms over the period - they are all wonderfully appointed, modern with heated tiled floors, crisp bed linen, big comfy beds. The bathrooms are huge with a great walk in shower and huge tub if you want a good soak.
I liked the home made biscuits, mineral water and coffees in the rooms. The Capri-sun juices were a nice touch too.
The facilities are as good as any 5* hotel i've stayed in London for the money you would be made to stay in a hotel in Milton Keynes for the sake of an extra £8 in a taxi to this place.
The breakfast was lovely every morning....I tended to go for cornflakes and then poached eggs and sausage and homemade toast - couldn't beat it.
My favourite room was Room 3 - which is the large suite - it had a huge plasma tv with Smart TV built in - so I could watch Netflix etc and catch up TV. The bathroom was huge and the underfloor heating was lovely on cold November mornings.
Julia and Colin have the corporate market sussed - all of the rooms have complimentary BT infinity WIFI - perfect for streaming TV, movies and calling home on Facetime/Skype.
Lovely place - nicest B&B i've stayed in and would go back there over a hotel in a heartbeat - a hidden gem in Milton Keynes
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neale1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed you staying here! It's good to know how important the right accommodation is for those condemned to travel from home for work.

I hope all your other travels go well,

Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
954 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge

Address: Cross End | Wavendon, Milton Keynes MK17 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range: $168 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever a house had the ‘Wow!’ factor, this is it. Stunning contemporary design and decor plus fanatical attention to every luxurious detail combine to promise an unforgettable experience. Comfort and practicality are not overlooked either; all the rooms are furnished with memory mattress king size beds or larger, Smart TVs, walk-in showers - some have large deep baths too . Each is light, airy and spacious. The biscuits or muffins in your room are home cooked as is the extensive and delicious breakfast. Business quality wi-fi, private parking and electric vehicle charging are all included, as is the option of breakfast in your room. For business people there are work desks - for everyone there is space to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Milton Keynes
South Lodge Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing