We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oohhh great”
Review of South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
doverdale
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oohhh great”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Found this gem via laterooms booked then checked tripadvisor and saw the fab reviews.... was not disappointed
excellent contemporary accomodation with a fabulous comfy bed
wonderful clean bathroom with a brilliant shower....could have stayed in for hours
excellent cooked breakfast
good location
shall definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r1yamahagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review - and photos!

See you again sometime,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
155
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts around the country I can safely say this is the best establishment I have stayed in. The contemporary rooms are furnished with good quality beds and furniture and are always impeccably clean. There is a pub five mins walk away for supper. Breakfasts are great, better than many five star hotels.
Julia and Colin are very welcoming. Julia runs the establishment with quiet efficiency.
Definitely the best place to stay in the Milton Keynes area.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here as a way to be close-ish to Heathrow for a flight the following day, and suffice to say we will be doing so again in future for sure. The location was perfect for our needs, just a few minutes off the M1 and an hour from Heathrow, but it was so much more than a convenience stop.

The room we stayed in was simply gorgeous. The furnishings and decor are modern, stylish and of the highest quality and you could tell no expense has been spared and no compromises made. Throughout the property there is a fantastic collection of modern art, and the effect is to elevate your stay into the 'a bit special' category!

We were informed beforehand by the owners that they would not be around, and it was a shame we didn't get to meet them this time, but the lady who looked after us was really nice and gave us a lovely breakfast the next morning. I had the corncakes with bacon and maple syrup, and it was absolutely yummy!

We dined at the Wavendon Arms close by, and had an equally impressive meal there, so all in all we definitely felt like we'd started our holiday a day early and in fine fashion.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review; I hope you had a great holiday and look forward to meeting you at another time!

Best wishes,

Julia & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral,United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I write this review with regret as South Lodge is the best kept secret in Milton Keynes and by writing this glowing review I am making it more difficult for me to book ! However I owe it to Julia and Colin as they do such a great job. I've been staying here on business on an almost weekly basis for the last 5 years. It is a real home from home, with the underfloor heating, designer furniture, fluffy towels, home made biscuits/muffins, great breakfasts, homemade jams/marmalade, homemade bread, quality tea and coffee, fresh milk in the in room fridge, free wifi, memory foam mattresses, etc etc . It's the attention to detail that makes it so special and the generosity
of the hosts. The lodge itself is in a secluded part of wavendon village, parking is directly outside the rooms which is important with heavy luggage. The landscaped gardens are beautiful and each room overlooks them, with the option to sit outside on the terrace. Julia and Colin are great sources of information as they are gastronomic and cultural gurus for the local area. All in all it's a fab place to stay, just do me a favour and keep it to yourself :0)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks very much for writing such a fulsome review! It inspires us to keep up the standard!

Best wishes,

Julia & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stay at South Lodge almost every week. It is a haven away from the city and very much better value in every degree than the hotels in the city. The decor and ambience is very relaxing, and reminds me very much of some of the up-market boutique hotels. Food is always of very high quality indeed,
Generosity is the key here: there is always a complementary newspaper, arrival snack and several bottles of sparkling mineral water!

Room Tip: Rooms at South Lodge are spacious and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanT186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks so much for your review; there's nothing as reassuring as a review from someone who stays here a lot!

Best wishes,

Julia & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I opted for the new room 4. It was very clean and was decorated very modern and looked lovely. It had its own balcony area but there was only one chair so we didnt really spend time outside. I personally did not like not having a carpet to walk on. This made the room feel cold and didn't give it that 'cosy' feel. The heating thermostat did not work and the room was too cold for comfort and my feet and nose were cold and I was not able to relax wearing a thick fleece jumper, but the staff handled this well by giving me an electric blow heater to warm the room up. Unfortunately this interrupted our romantic anniversary evening as we had to wait a while for this to be put in our room, plus we had to open the door to the staff member a few times to get access to the thermostat prior to this. There was no evening meal available that night as the owners were away! I was told this by email prior to staying but still decided to book the room. I now regret doing this as we decided to order take out and it was the worst Indian take out I have EVER had. I am still trying to sort out the refund with 'Just Eat'. Do not order with 'Gourmet Cuisine'. The breakfast was good and we had a good huge selection to choose from, but the sausages were hard and dry and over cooked. The staff were just lovely, they couldn't have been nicer. They even gave a sausage for my pet dog.
All in all we had a terrible 5th wedding anniversary and put it down to 'just one of those nights where everything went wrong'
But we did get discount for the cold room, thank you.

Room Tip: Room 4 is good is you are travelling with a pet dog as you are on your own and away from the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrainejanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am very sorry that your evening here was spoiled by the heating problem and your take away. We work hard to ensure everyone who comes here has a wonderful time, especially for a special occasion, and are sorry that you felt let down.

As you know I was away that weekend and after looking at your comments and speaking to my staff I dont believe that I could have done more had I been present. The heating problem meant that the temperature was stuck at 19 degrees and was not adjustable. It's the 1st time this has happened & it was fixed as soon as possible the next day. Hopefully the heater we gave you kept you warm for the rest of your evening.

I'm not familiar with the take away company you used. We can supply guests with menus to two good local Indian take aways.

We have several seating areas for two in the garden. However I have taken on board your feedback and added an extra chair to the patio area for that room.

Best wishes,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I travel extensively on business and as a result get pretty fed up of the normal hotel experience. South Lodge and Julia are a breath of fresh air. A superb room, great bed and linens, complimentary wifi, fresh cooked breakfast to order, wonderful bathrooms and power showers. All within 10 mins of both the M6 and MK central. After all that the little touches like Julia's fresh baked biscuits in the room, a kettle with fresh coffee, selection of teas and fresh milk in the fridge really do add up. All in at less per night than the dreadfully dreary Hilton just down the road and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

On a recent project I was at South Lodge 3-4 nights a week. It was a proper home from home.

Oh, it's pretty green / Eco friendly if your into that, it adds to the comfort though, unlike some Eco attempts!

Go, but just not when I want to be there!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank HighStandards24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks so much for placing your review; it's so useful for our potential customers to see that existing customers have had a good experience over an extended period.

Hope to see you again soon!

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
2.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,276 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.4 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge

Property: South Lodge
Address: Cross End | Wavendon, Milton Keynes MK17 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever a house had the ‘Wow!’ factor, this is it. Stunning contemporary design and decor plus fanatical attention to every luxurious detail combine to promise an unforgettable experience. Comfort and practicality are not overlooked either; all the rooms are furnished with king size beds, walk-in showers and widescreen TVs. Each is light, airy and spacious. The biscuits or muffins in your room are home cooked as is the extensive and delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Milton Keynes
South Lodge Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing