We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Lodge
Ranked #1 of 33 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay. Modern uncluttered decor with excellent interior design. A lot of care and thought has been put into making the accommodation comfortable and stylish. We had a warm welcome and one of the best cooked breakfasts ever. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TJCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks so much for writing a review for us. Sorry my reply is late too; did do it earlier but somehow didn't post.

Best wishes,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
152
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

South Lodge is the best b and b I have ever stayed in.It is comfortable, spotlessly clean, has lovely decor and a very relaxing atmosphere.A lot of attention has been given to detail to make the stay pleasant.Home made biscuits, bread and preserves served at breakfast time for example.Julia Cox picked me up from the railway station and was most welcoming. The choice of breakfast was extensive and well cooked.In short I cannot fault South Lodge.
Tips for other travellers I only stayed for one night and had dinner at the Wavendon Arms which is within walking distance of South Lodge. The food and atmosphere were excellent and everywhere very clean.I then spent the rest of the evening at The Stables music venue a little further up the road and can also recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteWaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
That's a lovely review, thank you so much. We hope to see you again sometime.

Best wishes,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my Husband stayed here for our wedding night last year. We enjoyed it so much we stayed again for our anniversary. The room was Beautiful and very high quality. Clean and Comfortable with excellent food. Will defiantly be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarnya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks both for taking the trouble to do this. We look forward to seeing you in the future and wish you a great second year!

Julia & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Two nights at South Lodge along with my with my wife's sister and brother and spouses. A first rate place to stay. Clean and comfortable with a friendly welcome. Very high quality of rooms with excellent food. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

An out of this world, welcoming B&B run by a lovely couple!
We came down with friends to attend the Swedish House Mafia concert at the Milton Keynes bowl. We were fortunate enough to have stayed here for two nights... two great nights sleep and two gastronomical breakfasts were had by all! The sun even came out on our last morning and we had the pleasure of eating breakfast with the huge patio doors open and the sun streaming in on us. A MUST from the breakfast menu is Julia's homemade rhubarb compote- my boyfriend is still raving about it two weeks later! We stayed in room number two which was really cosy with an impressively tiled bathroom. The decor throughout the whole B&B is modern, tasteful and finished to the highest of standards. Very clean. Lots of nice art and pictures adorning the walls which really puts Julia and Colin's stamp on the property.
Julia and Colin were kind enough to run us to the concert and pick us up late on the saturday night, and Colin also gave us all a lift to the train station the next day. Again, thank you for your kindness and hospitality!

Room Tip: Room 2 is fantastic, nice and bright with a lovely en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at south lodge. Everyone who stayed the weekend was going to a concert. Julia and colin went out of their way and far beyond the call of duty to make sure everyone was catered for, including lift to and from the gig and the train station! The rooms were brilliant and the food was fantastic. Thanks for a great trip :-) If we are down your way again, I know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5p3nce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks! I'm so glad you had a good weekend - sorry about the weather!

best wishes,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Like others before us we stayed here for our wedding anniversary while visiting friends in the area.

Julia and Colin are a 'class act' and they have created a stylish and impressive B&B where attention to detail is evident everywhere. From the delectable home made coookies to go with the selection of teas and coffees available in your room. To the choice of fabrics and furnishings that make the place feel so luxurious.

The artwork and sculpture, both inside the house and out in the garden, make South Lodge a feast for the eye. Sitting in the garden after a delicious breakfast, to read the complimentary newspapers, all I wanted to do was sit and look around me!

We have already booked our next visit - with a lesser excuse than our wedding anniversary. But who needs excuses?!

Room Tip: Just check their website - the details are all there - and you cannot go wrong whichever room you ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndianaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_Cox, Owner at South Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks both for taking the trouble to write a lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you gain later in the year.

Best wishes,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
2.4 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel (soon Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
3.0 mi away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#8 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge

Property: South Lodge
Address: Cross End | Wavendon, Milton Keynes MK17 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever a house had the ‘Wow!’ factor, this is it. Stunning contemporary design and decor plus fanatical attention to every luxurious detail combine to promise an unforgettable experience. Comfort and practicality are not overlooked either; all the rooms are furnished with king size beds, walk-in showers and widescreen TVs. Each is light, airy and spacious. The biscuits or muffins in your room are home cooked as is the extensive and delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Milton Keynes
South Lodge Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing