We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UNBELIEVABLE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linford Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linford Stables
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The warmest welcome was from the Ziggy the dog - certainly not the owner! We stayed recently and found the owner abrupt and bad tempered. Everything was an effort for her and the Tescos 'Butter Me Up' carton on the breakfast table could have been substituted for butter pats - it wouldn't have taken much. Even more than this my friends husband arrived early on the first morning and we asked if it would be possible for him to have breakfast - this caused a huge problem - resulting in a sausage being cut in half and shared! One slice of toast and then begrudgingly asked if we would like one more slice! Not the most accommodating! The little Shetland in the sand school was very cute and pleased to see us in the morning and as I say Ziggy the dog was very sweet and certainly more welcoming than his owner! Will be seeking accommodation elsewhere when returning to this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
7
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can't really agree with reviews which are poor/terrible, but it was basic & functional and met our needs as somewhere to change and get our heads down afterwards.

We stayed in the stable block. The room and bedding was fairly basic but clean, although there were a few cobwebs which should have been removed. The shower was fine once you'd worked out how it operated, but generally the room/bathroom was reaching the point where it probably needs renovation. A couple of pictures on the wall would have made it a bit more 'homely' perhaps.

The owner was polite and 'business-like' in a slighty 'detached' sort of way, which was fine by me, but that may not be to everyone's taste.

There was some traffic noise as it is on the A421, which some people might find off-putting, but that really wasn't a problem for us.

I couldn't get a mobile signal and there didn't seem to be Wi-Fi in the stable, but that didn't bother me for one night, but that may be important to some people, so best check with the owner what is available if that's important to you.

The only reason I wouldn't recommend it would be because I would normally look to book something with a greater level of comfort, but it was a late booking and there was little else available. Having said that, we were out at a function all evening Saturday and wanted a quick getaway on Sunday, so just needed somewhere to rest our heads, so £50 for a clean bed and a decent shower wasn't bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pivopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Despite what other reviews have stated we had a lovely stay at Linford Stables. The rooms where clean and the wifi connection was good. The horses, Shetland pony, cat & dogs only added to the relaxation of our stay after a hard days work. Having talked at length to the owner I found her to be a very pleasant and accommodating woman. We have already booked in for another stay.

Room Tip: If possible ask for one of the stable conversations near to the main house for the best wifi connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Anderson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Despite being in the countryside the location is right next to an extremely busy A-road between Milton Keynes and Buckingham, the traffic is very fast, very noisy and nonstop both day and night. Earplugs couldn't even dim the excessive noise. Plus there’s the fact that the walls are so thin you can hear every word spoken, every cough, every toilet visit and whatever your neighbour is watching on tv.

On first impressions the room didn't look too bad, but you soon notice the cobwebs, the mould on the windows and the filthy shower (photographs uploaded). The room was also badly furnished; having a huge 3 seater sofa which took up a lot of space, a desk instead of a drawer unit with drawers so small you would be hard pressed to even get socks in them and no wardrobe. The only space you could hang clothes was on a towel rail, which then means you've got nowhere to hang your towel.

We stayed for 5 days and the towels weren't changed at all. The room didn't get serviced at all during the 5 days apart from the bin being emptied, which makes you wonder if there is any change over cleaning done, the shower certainly didn't look like it! There's simply no excuse for mouldy showers these days. The shower also didn't work properly, neither was it a power shower as described on the website, it was either too hot or too cold, the pressure was almost none existent and the hose was broken so hardly any water came out making it impossible to rinse out shampoo and conditioner.

As well as the shower being broken, two lights were falling out of the ceiling (photo uploaded) which looked very tacky, the pedal bin was broken and the tv was so small you couldn't see it over the rail at the bottom of the bed. Also I noticed that none of the electrical appliances had been PAT tested. The owner describes the place as “superior”, it certainly is far, far from that.
There is no mobile signal here at all and the so called 'free wifi' has such a poor signal you'll be lucky if you can access it.

As we were staying for 5 days and because the weather forecast was for very high temperatures (over 30 degrees) and since the B&B is so remote we brought a cool box with us. However the owner unplugged it whilst we were out causing or food to go off and our drinks to go warm. She even rushed out to tell us on our return that we were not allowed to have it plugged in, we explained why we had it (plus the fact that the fridge in the room was full of mildew and had a broken drip tray which halved the shelf space), but she just shouted at us as though we were 5 year olds that we were not allowed to plug it in. Nice customer service! She really does not deserve your booking.

There's also the additional 3.5% you get charged for paying by credit or debit card, since she obviously prefers cash payment. And last but not least the car park was full of dog ****.

You have been warned................

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genuine_Reviews2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milton Keynes hotels

Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Despite being given directions by the owner on the phone, this place is hard to find . The owner blames the poor signage on the local council. Rooms (stables?) are ok , showers were only partially working. Breakfast is measly at £5 per person -Tesco orange juice, 1 small piece of bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg ,toast- no cereal. The acid test of any place is -would you go back? Answer -No .

Room Tip: There are better places
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencefoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived after having driven for 3 hours in our horse lorry (eventually finding the place as you can't see the house sign from the road approaching from Milton Keynes. The land lady freely admitted this, however, omits to tell you when she gives you directions!). We were shown to our stables which were clean and large enough. They are, however, only a matter of a few yards from the very busy A421. One of the stables backed right onto the road and my daughter's pony obviously had a very restless night. We booked him into on site accommodation at Addington the next night but the landlady still insisted we pay for the second night despite her more than misleading website! We were then left standing in the rain while she got her own horses in and eventually shown to our rather utilitarian room. We were promised milk in our fridge which never arrived. Our bathroom promised a rather wonderful power shower, which didn't work as such, just a conventional shower, although adequate. The road noise was unbelievable and coupled with the fact that the outside lights are on until 11.30 ish with inadequate curtains, sleep proved rather elusive. When I did eventually manage to get to sleep I was woken up by a strange man coming into my room! Another lost guest! Breakfast the next morning was also rather too much trouble for our land lady I had to leave early to get to Addington but my husband and daughter stayed for breakfast (cooked is charged extra!!!). They were told that there was not enough time to cook my daughter a sausage as the next sitting for breakfast would be coming in. That afternoon we had a conversation with the land lady re breakfast and asked for it to be at 7.30, we were told it would have to be 7.15 as she likes 1 hour between sittings so we agreed. The next morning we went in for breakfast to be greeted by darkness and no one to be seen. She eventually came out, after a lot of calling, saying that she had overslept! We left. Needless to say, never to return and I would suggest that anyone reading this steers very clear. The website is very misleading and it is an uncomfortable place to stay where everything is far to much trouble to the landlady who is clearly doing it because she has to!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We booked online and said we hoped to arrive at 4pm. When we arrived at 2.40pm (as it had rained we left our previous location early) there was no-one to let us in. When the lady did arrive, she seemed a little put out that we had arrived too early! Our rooms (2 in the stable block) were okay. My Mum stayed in one and my partner and I in the next one. Ours was okay and cosy, but lots of cobwebs and spiders, but Mum said her bed was damp! The towels have certainly seen better days too. We were told the latest breakfast was 9am and that if we paid for our trip by card that we would have to pay an additiional 3% !!! Good things are a big kettle, lots of coffee and tea, fresh milk, comfy bed (for us at least), good heating. Not a bad sleep but traffic quite noisy as it's by the main road. Also, it's pretty hard to find and gates are closed on arrival.
When we went to the house at 8.55am the following morning, the lady cooking breakfast made us feel that we had arrived too early and that breakfast would be ready at 9am on the dot. Not particularly welcoming. Breakfast was nice (2 rashers of bacon - tasty, 1 egg - tasty, 1 sausage - tasty, 2 pieces of toast and jam, orange juice and tea/coffee). Not much small talk from the host which felt slightly awkward. Overall not bad but would have appreciated a little warmer welcome from the host.

Room Tip: Make sure you arrive exactly on time!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Keynes
0.6 mi away
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfast
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfa...
#28 of 34 in Milton Keynes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South West (Furzton Lake) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#27 of 39 in Milton Keynes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linford Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linford Stables

Property: Linford Stables
Address: Buckingham Road, Milton Keynes MK7 0RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Milton Keynes
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Linford Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linford Stables Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing