We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Linford Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linford Stables
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful Customer Service”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Didn't actually have the pleasure of staying here as the owner was so rude and unhelpful that we cancelled our stay. The hotel was advertised on laterooms with the rate listed as being for a double room. After receiving a confirmation that we had booked a single room, we rang to be told that we'd have to pay extra for a double. We were also told that breakfast was extra contrary to what was on the website. Upon calling, the owner was incredibly rude to us and refused to allow us a refund or to honour that we'd booked a double. After informing her we would be arriving quite late, she also told us we'd be locked out as they do not allow guests after 9pm. After much argument, the owner relented and late rooms provided a refund. Absolutely awful customer service; the owner was both rude and unhelpful. Would not recommend at all.

Room Tip: Lovely area, however would not recommend staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagged_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
7
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed here just the one night. When I made the booking the owner took my email address but never sent a confirmation - why bother?
When we arrived didn't seem to know what room we had booked (double or twin) .
Room clean, nice comfy bed, shower good (even though repair looked a little heath robinson), set on A421 so some road noise but not enough to disturb me.
Big kerfuffle about what time we wanted breakfast as owner can't seat all guests at the same time. We arrived at appointed time to be told we were early & breafast was not ready. Not impressed.
Free wifi - good.
Not too bad overall but probably would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananaramaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We arrived as arranged and after dark. The gate was closed and signage not very visible. On arrival, we were a little disappointed to be told we hadn't confirmed our arrival time so the heating wasn't on in our rooms. These were reasonably well appointed and comfortable but sparsely decorated. Things did change for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at Linford Stables last October and were very pleased so returned there this year. We were allocated a different room within the same block as last year and the room was filthy. However, the bedding I have to say was pristine. The room was in a state of disrepair as it appeared to have had some leaks which had been repaired but cosmetically had not been touched. The bathroom was disgusting and even had toothpaste and hair from the previous occupiers left in the sink. We did not attempt to open the shower cubicle as just having to use the bathroom was bad enough. The whole room including the bathroom was covered in cob webs and dust.

The stables are of a wooden construction and therefore, you can hear the occupants of the adjoining rooms and on both occasions that we have stayed there, we have been woken up by other guests.

We were so disappointed as last year the room we had was lovely although it could have been a bit cleaner it was nothing like this room. Needless to say, we will not be going back...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jegste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milton Keynes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milton Keynes hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfast
Newton Park Farm Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 34 in Milton Keynes
8 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South West (Furzton Lake) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
1.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#22 of 33 in Milton Keynes
21 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Swan Hotel
#21 of 33 in Milton Keynes
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linford Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linford Stables

Property: Linford Stables
Address: Buckingham Road, Milton Keynes MK7 0RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Linford Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linford Stables Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing