We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good”
Review of The Mayflower

The Mayflower
Ranked #32 of 255 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hampshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good food and service at a fair price. Consistently delivers on flavours and colours of food. So popular that sometimes it is difficult to get a table. Recommend booking to avoid disappointment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robertspet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    77
    32
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“On the 'posh' end”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is no Chinese take-away! It is a discreet, nicely decorated restaurant in Basingstoke town centre. Car parks are available all around. There is a good variety of food and even fixed menus at good prices. The food is very well prepared, with recipes from different parts of China, and very tasty and flavoursome. It is not too heavy, too salty or too spicy either. Even the in-laws loved it! I've been there twice, and loved it both times. Lovely atmosphere as well. Mind you, it can get busy, so better to book a table. It is also reasonable priced for the eating experience it offers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hook
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mayflower Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My first visit to this restaurant last week. I went based on the Trip Adviser reports, and was not disappointed. The Mayflower is at the top of Basingstoke town and the Red Lion car-park is right outside. The restaurant looks quite small from the outside - much bigger inside though, and is well-decorated with a nice atmosphere. The food was excellent, but the glass of house-wine was very ordinary and thought that the food was a little bit pricey overall. We were served free prawn crackers on arrival with sweet chilli dip and the welcome and service were both excellent as well. It is advisable to book, by the way. Our bill came to £32 including a tip, for our four dishes and this price did not include the two glasses of wine, as these were free on presentation of our theatre tickets (check the web-site for details of this offer). I will definitely be returning to the Mayflower and have no hestitaion in recommending it as one of the best places to eat in the Basingstoke area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real treat for lovers of Chinese food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Superb service, excellent menu, reasonable prices, fresh, tasty food.
Never had better Chinese food anywhere.
I recommend for any occasion. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went there for Sunday lunch with the family

We had a great time - food was excellent
ordering could have been a bit easier - but i guess they were busy.

The waiters certainly tried and cared about our time there - so well done for that

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HantsJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayflower also viewed

 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing