We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Basingstoke
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights when attending a conference at the Ark. The overall impression is that the staff don't care about the clients or the state of the hotel.
Checking in was fine, the room was on the 3rd floor - a very small double room with ok bathroom. The room and bathroom were not properly clean and colleagues had to ask for their rooms to be cleaned during the stay.
The room suffered from a lot of noise audible from both the corridor and adjacent rooms.
The evening food was the worst part. I ate their 3 nights as the food was included in the price. The first night was a buffett of chicken or a stir-fry. The food was cool (as in not warm) and tasteless. Since a lot of people stayed at the hotel the food ran out. This continued during the week with the food being not warm and poor quality. I complained to the restuarant manager who offered a bottle of wine but overall the impression I got was that the quality of food in the resturant was well known although only by the guests who generally ate somewhere else.

I used the gym which was quiet small (people were queueing to us the equipment) and had no air conditioning.
The staff were generally unaffected by any negative feedback, just nodding to comments but not offering any solutions.

This is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: October 2012
3  Thank Percombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

I have noted your comments and my apologies if we did not get it right this time. We always listen to our customer feed back and take all comments very seriously

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 924 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

comfortable beds, nice to be able to use the swimming pool, generally waited too long to get coffee at breakfast and needed to seek it out twice in four days, bar food better than evening 'help yourself' selection. Food lovely in al a carte restaurant but not especially welcoming or flexible on the evening we tried it so didn't go back. Very convenient hotel when using The (excellent) Ark Conference venue a short drive away.

Room Tip: rooms warm, switch towel rail off and open the window, on a busy roundabout so you will then hear ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family0fthree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

When I booked the Apollo for my mother (mother of the Bride) 14th & 15th September 2012, I asked for a family room and informed the hotel the number of adults and children staying. The very helpful reception lady told me this would not be a problem and that the hotel was able to cater for our needs.
On my return from my honeymoon - Thank fully at a very beatiful hotel elsewhere - My mother told me of her stay at the Apollo and I was horrified.
The room she stayed in should have catered for 2 children and 2 adults but to call what they stayed in a family room was laughable! Everyone staying in the room had to get into bed by climbing in at the bottom owing to the fact that they had wedged so many beds in that there was less than a 2 inch gap between them and the room itself was so small that the distance between the foot of the beds and the opposit wall couldnt have been more that 4 foot and there were desks there!!! The phone didnt work in the room and there were no extra pillows. Given the hotel knew my diabetic niece was staying I was just thank full that my parents had mobile phone so they could have called an ambulance for her if needed!!
Thr first morning of their stay, the hotel tried to charge for breakfast that was already included in the booking....this was the morning of the wedding when no more stress was needed, and on departure they were overcharged.
I contacted the hotel and after several emails I was told that they would refund the money they had over charged us by "as a gesture of good will". Anyone who thinks returning money that they had taken fraudulanty is a gesture of good will must have very low standards. Suffice to say, we were appalled at the overall standard of the hotel and the aftercare received when we raised these isses with the manager.
This hotel may be fine for the odd night for business travel but I certainly wouldnt recomend them for anything else - and given the experience we had I would steer clear of them for wedding related things too!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere other than the Apollo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radford1, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments. I refer to our exchange of E mails regarding this issue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The website makers have definitely done their job well. I was there on business for one night so not a big thing. The price included the use of the gym and pool which was a little seasoned, but that's my only negative comment. Staff were really friendly and professional, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, Job done.
I ate in the Vespa's restaurant, food was excellent but the Sancere was only just cold and over priced.
Ample free parking and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in an Executive double, if you do not want breakfast and a robe, go down a peg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosnikrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a strange place to put an hotel - well unless any of you have been to the Hilton just outside Southampton and that's on a roundabout as well. When you pull up it looks a bit like one of those old motels. Inside was OK and conference area was OK as well. Probably won't be back in Basingstoke in a hurry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for a last minute retreat - booked a studio which gives a separate lounge and 2 TVs - perfect for an evening when the football and X Factor was on! Good meal in the restaurant in the evening - stuffed mushrooms as starter were delicious and breakfast ok next morning. Bathroom - nice large shower. Bed comfortable. Make sure you book breakfast in with the overall price or £15 each. We used the pool for a couple of hours on arrival - good temperature and size. Powerful jacuzzi. Sauna and steam also available.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a studio for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for one night on a business trip.
Room was very good. King size bed. Clean and tidy.
Service was good. Everyone helpful.
I got a fantastic deal on laterooms.com. £90 for one night including breakfast and evening dinner. Dinner was excellent
Lovely pool, but didn't get a chance to use it.
Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basingstoke hotels
5.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
790 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
#8 of 13 in Basingstoke
42 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Basingstoke

Address: Aldermaston Road, Basingstoke RG24 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range: $65 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Basingstoke 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic Apollo Hotel is ideally positioned just 1 mile from Junction 6 off the M3. With many local attractions and the numerous Business Parks in the area the Apollo Hotel Basingstoke is the perfect location for business or leisure. The Hotel consists of 125 superb non smoking bedrooms which include luxury suites and executive rooms all equipped with Free WiFi high speed internet access, which combined with a large Conference Centre and Health Club makes the Apollo one of the best equipped hotels in Basingstoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Hotel Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basingstoke Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing