We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of wheatsheaf hotel

wheatsheaf hotel
Ranked #23 of 255 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: chef & brewer
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at the Premier Inn next door and had our evening meal here.We booked a table for the four of us.The menu has a wide choice on it and we had difficulty choosing as we all like several dishes.My 17year old son had a steak and said it was the best hes had.Plenty of meat,burgers and fish to choose from with around half dozen extras on the specials board.The puddings were delicious,we all just about found room for them.All staff were very friendly and helpful. Defiantly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornish-Mandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    91
    50
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poor service and not so good food”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked an early sunday lunch, but the service got slower and slower, and they forgot items and it took ages for the main course to turn up.

When it did turn up, the slow cooked lamb shoulder was dry and burnt, the roast potatoes were soggy, and the veggies weren't pleasant.

All in all, a disappointment and will not repeat taking our custom there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A good place to eat. It was busy, but the service was good. The Menu was about to change for the Spring/Summer so many of the main course options were not available. That said, we were all able to choose hot and tasty dishes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and self recently had lunch here. Tried one pork baguette and one beef baguette from their lunch menu, no accompanying chips or crisps, just some poor salad mixture. The baguette was slightly dry and unappetising, not at all crusty or fresh, the filling was poor quality. All in all at £6.50 each not good value.
Then tried a dessert from their lunch time dessert menu, unfortunately on paying the bill at the end we were charged the full price for the dessert instead of the £3 per item as stated on the menu. On querying the bill we were told we had to pay the full price as we had a baguette from their lunch time menu not a cooked meal as listed. This was annoying because if we had known this we would have tried something different to the limited desserts offered, plus at the time of ordering we did order from the lunch time menu and no mention was made to us of this restiction

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fordfucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good buffet”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked a buffet lunch to follow a funeral at the crematorium nearby. We were able to choose our own mix from a list given. The food was good, especially the chips, and everyone was satisfied. We thought the price was reasonable and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamw0rth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wheatsheaf hotel also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Upton Grey, Basingstoke
 
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to wheatsheaf hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing