We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of wheatsheaf hotel

wheatsheaf hotel
Ranked #21 of 253 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: chef & brewer
sillyhilly77
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Sadly our experience was let down by terrible service. I must say though that the food wasn't half bad for basic pub grub and was pretty well cooked. However....
We were in a party of 14 and were ordering off the early bird menu. We arrived at 4 and the waitress said as long as we ordered before 5 we could benefit from the lower cost of this menu. We ordered our food and waited for it to arrive. It took ages even though the pub was pretty much empty. I didn't mind this too much as we were a large party so realise catering for a large group can be hard. We mainly had burgers or fish and chips which were pretty good. Once again it was ages before the food was cleared and it had now gone 5pm. We mentioned to the manager who was serving us that we'd like the desserts from the early bird menu. She told us it was too late despite the waitress telling us it was fine!!!! She was rude and just kept telling the the computer would not let her input desserts after 5pm. We'd spent a large amount on wine and beer and surely discounting a few puddings would have been decent customer service - instead she seemed glad to see the back of us even though she admitted they were in the wrong. All very strange. This pub could be so much better but needs to work on people skills and atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sillyhilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    83
    47
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“How to ruin a good pub...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Have been to this pub a few times before, but not admittedly for a little while now, and it has always had a warm atmosphere with an old country pub feel, real fire etc. It has always been particularly good at Xmas. I have really had a bad meal at a Chef and Brewer pub, so made the trip out from Winchester for lunch yeaterday.
Unfortunately, the pub has been revamped and it's now lost its welcoming feeling. It now seems cold and not just because the fires have all been filled in. Didnt like the new carpet, in fact the whole decoration actually. Who on earth designed this new look? The waitress said that they had a new policy whereby they had to accompany visitors to their seats. Not exactly a pub, more a restaurant then? On being escorted to our seats, the area seemed cold and stark. The real fire next to us was no longer being used as it has on previous visits. I got up to have a quick look around and was not impressed. The real fires at the lower end of the pub are also no longer being used. By the time I returned to my seat, I'd seen enough and we decided to leave and go elsewhere.
A real pity. If Carlberg designed pubs, the Wheatsheaf wouldn't be one of them unfortunately. A real disappointment, and I hope, when trade is down, management decide the pub to its former self.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bond007Winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“sorry, can't recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We live just a few minutes away and called in on our way back from Devon at 4.30pm, The place was empty and our fish and chips arrived promptly. Oh dear! One meal was average and the other had to be sent back because the fish was not cooked. The duty manager was apologetic and another freshly cooked meal arrived 10 minutes later.
Sorry, can;t recommend and certainly will not be returning. Not surprised the place was empty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunchtime at the Wheatsheaf”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited this establishment on 31 st July with our grandson.
It was a pleasant experience, the lunch was adequate but not outstanding.
Quite busy in the half of the restaurant that was open, the other half had been reserved.
There didn't seem to be many staff on duty.
My grandson who is 10 wanted a cheeseburger from the main menu but as it was priced @ £9.99 I persuaded him to have the child's portion which came with chips and beans. Quite a small portion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal on Fathers day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We made a phone booking early morning on Fathers day, we arrived early and were seated straight away the children were given activity sheets and crayons. Service was friendly and sharp and we were pleased with the quality of food.
We will go back and would recommend the pub/restaurant to our friends and family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rev029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wheatsheaf hotel also viewed

Upton Grey, Basingstoke
Ellisfield, Basingstoke
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to wheatsheaf hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing